Latest News

Thursday, 21st March 2013
In General Japan News,

Toyo Ito given Pritzker Prize

Toyo Ito, the Japanese architect, has been named as this year's winner of the Pritzker Prize.

The 71-year-old, who helped to create the main stadium for The World Games in 2009 in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, will be presented with his award in Boston in May.

He will pick up a cheque for £62,000 and joins the likes of Frank Gehry, Tadao Ando and Renzo Piano in winning the accolade. Chinese architect Wang Shu was last year's victor after becoming the first person from his country to be recognised with the Pritzker Prize.

In a statement, Ito said that he becomes painfully aware of his own inadequacy when he completes a design, which turns into energy to challenge the next project.

"Therefore, I will never fix my architectural style and never be satisfied with my works."

Ito's buildings, which include the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion in London, have often been praised for their fluid beauty which incorporates both the physical and natural world.

Written by Susan Ballion