Latest News

Wednesday, 18th November 2015
In Japan Entertainment News,

Murakami wins top literature prize

One of the best-loved authors from Japan has won a top literature prize that has previously been given to the likes of Salman Rushdie and J K Rowling.

Haruki Murakami has been awarded the Hans Christian Anderson Literature Award, which is named after the famous Danish fairytale writer.

As well as the honour of being recognised, Murakami will be presented with a cheque for 500,000 kroner (£47,000).

In choosing the Japanese author for the prestigious award, the jury praised his “bold mix of classic narrative, pop culture, Japanese tradition, dreamlike realism and philosophical debate.”

Murakami is now in his 60s and has a cult following for his books, which include Norwegian Wood and Kafka on the Shore.

Themes such as the absurdity and loneliness of modern life have resonated with readers across the globe.

The Hans Christian Anderson Prize is not the first high-profile literary award Murakami has won, as he has quite a collection, including the 2006 Franz Kafka Award.

Many believe he deserves a Nobel Prize for Literature, but so far this has alluded him and only time will tell if he is to become a Nobel laureate.

Murakami will travel to the hometown of Hans Christian Anderson, Odense in Denmark, in October 2016 to receive the award in person.

Previous winners of the prize include Paolo Coelho in 2007, J K Rowling in 2010, Isabel Allende in 2012 and Salman Rushdie in 2014.

Murakami was born in Kyoto and includes Fyodor Dostoyevsky and Stephen King among his influencers.

His novels have become best sellers in Japan and have been translated into more than 50 languages worldwide.

Related news stories:
Japanese Murakami fans poised for February release of new novel (1st December 2016)