contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 549 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2718
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Jacquelyn Landos - Japan Enchantment, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
everthing ran very smoothly
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Fujishige - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was knowledgeable and friendly. He was flexible to allow different views and wants. An excellent guide
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
great to travel on local transport, easier and cheaper too. Bullet train terrific
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
the formal meals were superb. Meals at the Ryokan in Nikko extremely good and catered to dietary problems very well
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
the included meals were of an excellent standard. The last night was a little substandard but perhaps that reflected the busyness of the restaurant
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
enjoyed the group size and local travel. Would look for Mark Fujishige again.
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Tannia Paramita - Independent Travel, Nov 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
All information were written in details. We had almost no question.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire is an expert consultant. She gave many choices and better solutions.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Richmond Hotel in Asakusa was the best. Staffs speak English fluently. Facilities are great. We are so happy about the laundry machine. Ichinoyu Honkan was good, however the private hot math in the room was too exposed to outdoor. I think it is better to put a simple curtain in private hot bath, just in case the guest not too comfortable in using outdoor private bath. Karasuma Kyoto Hotel were met our expectations. However the staffs were not so fluent in English, we also found no laundry machine. But all hotels are in best locations.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All transport were great.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All guides were great. On top of that, we love Ms Kazuko from Kyoto. She was very informative and helpful. We also like private guide in Gion Kyoto (sorry, we forgot her name). Ms Hiroko in Tokyo was also very good.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food were great. Our special request related to the food were served very well.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
the info was extremely helpful. The travel consultant was great.
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Nigel Smith - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Terrific assistance from Nate & InsideJapan, detailed travel instructions really assisted and made it easy. Both the guides in Tokyo & Kyoto were fantastic
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Generally very good, some stand out Japanese inns were the highlight
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides, one in Tokyo, one in Kyoto were excellent and a real highlight
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Now we have visited japan, unlikely to do so again, many other countries to visit!
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephen Davis - Independent Travel, Nov 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Poor
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Poor Customer Rating
I dont think you understood my brief fully. At the ordinal contact I explained we wanted really top end arrangements, but you missed on several counts.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Average
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Did not meet my expectations
See above
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
See above
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Mostly good
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No
Too many unnecessary changes on the trains.
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Michiko Tsukishima - Hidden Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
The tour more than met our expectations -good mix of an organized tour but with flexibility to go out on our own when we wanted.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
William is very personable and was able to make a good connection with everyone on the tour.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All hotels were very well situated. The Kotohira ryokan in particular was very nice. I enjoyed the mix of Western hotels and Japanese style inns.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Overall the food was great. The kaiseki dinners were amazing. The okonomiyaki was a lot of fun.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Many highlights, including Kyoto, Miyajima and Koya-san (and the Okunoin cemetery). However the trip to the Iya Valley was disappointing. Although lunch was included, we stopped for lunch early, when we were not very hungry. There was no option to go for a walk or enjoy other sights while the others were eating. The boat ride was underwhelming.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Megan Muoio - Independent Travel, Nov 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Wonderful personalized trip and information. I had a very secure trip traveling alone abroad for the first time knowing that all of the details had been handled by Mat.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mat was very helpful in deciding the itinerary, suggesting places to stay and keeping me updated throughout the planning process. He was always available to answer questions.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Stays in the ryokans in Hakone and Miyajima and the temple in Koyasan were especially wonderful. The dinners provided at each were delicious and very special. Hotels in Tokyo and Kyoto were lovely with very good breakfasts provided. Benesse House in Naoshima was exquisite and well worth the splurge.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Ground transportation to and from the airport was seamless. All other transportation was by train and was very easy to navigate.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Individual tour guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were terrific! Both knew such great historical and cultural detail and planned a wonderful day in each city.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Everything was a positive! The ryokan in Miyajima (Mizuhaus) was especially great. I ended up staying there because the first choice of my accommodation was already booked but I think Mizuhaus should be the first choice for your customers in the future. The chef there should be famous - the food was wonderful. I had such a great trip and I miss Japan (the food, the people, the culture) terribly. I will be back!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
It was very easy to travel to Japan knowing that all of the details of my accommodation and transportation were taken care of and that I had the IJT office to contact if there were any issues. IJT made my independent travel very comfortable.
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Peter Bowey - Hidden Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Service from Pepijn was fine. Service from William was average. He told us we would be going to a restaurant on our final night and we would walk, Then he told us it would be by taxi, when we were on the footpath to go he said we would be going by bus. Many of us didnt have the right money and protested, so he said he would pay. Not a good way to end the trip.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - A Little Disappointed Customer Rating
Too quick to text friends, not enough time spent looking after us. He was about to drive off leaving 2 of us with no transport. We had to insist he got another taxi, then he left without telling us what he had done. It was very alarming for us.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Dawn Cooper - Golden Route, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
From the initial enquiry to the arrive early - youll get great photos of the bullet train hurtling through the station at Odawara and make sure you sit on the left side of the train on the trip back to Tokyo to see Mt Fuji advice the service was faultless and nothing was too much trouble. We travelled independently to what could have been a daunting destination but, with everything pre-planned so perfectly by Inside Japan Tours, it was like having our own invisible tour guide with us at all times making us feel more like travellers than tourists. A wonderful trip. Well done Matthew and thank you.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matthew and his colleagues were great. Nothing was too much trouble and our trip went without a hitch.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Rooms were larger than expected and in very good locations.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
How could you fault Japanese travel systems.....
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
n/a
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Seeing the northern lights from the plane was a bonus. The food - hmmm - varied, unusual and interesting but some things Im still trying to forget! Great sushi at the fish market. Have to confess that we did resort to Macdonalds once.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Absolutely would use your company again. Always travelled with Kuoni before but I much prefer the aided independent travel model.
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Doug Houston - Hidden Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We were extremely pleased.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William Mukai was a great leader for the group, reading us well and makingdaily activities relevant to everyones interests. He was solicitous of everyones thoughts and concerned about everyones welfare. Knowledgable, pleasant and effortlessly courteous. Good communicator. Always on point with advice and assistance. Good sense of humor! We liked him a lot.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Advice was on point and accurate. Questions were answered in a straightforward and helpful manner. No surprises!
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Frances Flaxington - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Chose you because of your focus on Japan. very satisfied with the service you provided.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Marks knowledge of Japan was very helpful. He planned a varied itinerary that took account of all of our requests and adding ideas of his own.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Loved the mix of accommodation. Mume in Kyoto a highlight
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Again enjoyed the mix -travelling by train and tube and driving was easier with the sat nav than expected
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guide in Tokyo was nervous and her English was not very good. Kyoto guide was great!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Loved the BBQ at table meals. Food in Ryokan was an experience - looked so lovely ( even though we did not like everything - raw horse meat!) The bean pillow in the Ryokan was a surprise -but futons comfortable
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Very good service
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009