contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 449 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2305
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Fiona Sutcliffe - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Our experience right from initial contact until return to uk was excellent. The itinerary, given our limited time, was good and gave us a really good introduction to Japan. The trip was for my mother's 80 th birthday and she (and I) had a great time. I was really glad we'd chosen Inside Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matthew was very helpful and quick to respond.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Apart from he hotel on our last night, the accommodation was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the experience of Gora Kansuiro and also the Royal Park hotel in Kyoto was good- excellent staff and really centrally located.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
There was a good mix of transport. It was good to be met at the airport on our arrival. We really enjoyed he bullet plane and the convenience of the various passes we were issued with.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guide in Kyoto ( Kimoko) was fantastic. She took us to some places we otherwise wouldn't have visited, was very knowledgeable about all the sites, took into account what my mother could manage and took us to some great places for lunch and afternoon tea. She also spoke excellent English. I couldn't recommend her highly enough.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
We really enjoyed the whole experience of Japan and the contrast of the neon lights of Tokyo with some of the beautiful countryside round Hakone. It was a real experience travelling in cherry blossom season which was an added bonus. We also loved the Japanese food. sometimes the language barrier could be a bit frustrating but this didn't spoil the holiday. I was also pleasantly surprised by how affordable Japan is.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would love to see more of Japan. I would definitely consider using Inside Japan again but would also feel more confident now about independent travel.
Review submitted: 20th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Alice Sozzi - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was perfect and everything was like expected. The solution we used aloowed us to save a lot of time in travelling.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Jocelyn was very friendly and helpful. She called us also during the vacation to check if everything was ok.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The driver who picked us up on the first night in Tokyo got lost and it took us long time before to get to the airport.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had a lady first day in Tokyo was extremly nice.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Traveling in Japan it's amazing and the detailed description that you provide us with makes the trip even more pleasant and great.
Review submitted: 20th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lukas Pfenninger - Golden Route, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
great
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
very helpful, very knowledgeable about Japan
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 20th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kathryn Loeffler - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matthew was great to work with, very responsive and happy to answer questions. Easily dealt with our somewhat complicated group (arriving from different locations, with different travel dates and hotels).
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Our hotels were in great locations, with great staff. The ryokan in Takayama was a particular favorite - the service was wonderful, the location was great, the food was amazing, and on top of it all it felt like a truly "Japanese" experience.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was easy to use and customize to our travel plans. We were able to arrange tickets and times to suit us, and the instructions included in our travel pack were so clear that there were no difficulties at all.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We really really enjoyed our guide in Kyoto, she added a lot to our day. WE had a pretty firm idea of what we wanted to do, and she made it happen the easiest way possible, and added the fun facts, and smaller side attractions to really make for a memorable day. Our guide in Tokyo was ok, he was helpful in getting us situated on our first full day in Tokyo, but had a much firmer idea of what he thought we should be doing that day. IT was great to have someone to help get oriented that first day, but we all wished he had been more responsive to what we wanted to see that day.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our trip, and I think the ease of it really helped. THe hotels we well situated and we had at least breakfast included at all of them. I have never eaten so well on vacation! Hotel breakfasts were great, including western or japanese style options. anywhere dinner was included it was a feast! My only regret is that i wasn't more hungry for snack through out the day, since i was so well fed by hotels and ryokans.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We loved Japan and our only complaint was we didn't have more time everywhere we visited. I'd love to go back and see more! IJT made the trip easy and really helped us get the most out of our budget and our travel days. We'd be happy to book with IJT again for future travel.
Review submitted: 19th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ronald Hooberman - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Generally very good. However, the hotel room at the Niwa in Tokyo was too small for a 5 night stay and, had we not been able to obtain an upgrade, would have been rather uncomfortable (otherwise an excellent hotel). We have already been in touch about the arrangements at Uno/Naoshima. As we have pointed out, the Tsukiji tour was oversold.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Problem at Uno station as advised, and had expected more feedback on that. Also, we had to chase the refund for the Tsukiji tour. Otherwise very good.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 19th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Bruno Ferreira - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was excellent. We were not expecting to have everything so well organize. It would have beem a nightmare to go to Japan without the Inside Japan Tours advices.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
She had patience and was always very helpfull with us. We think she's done a great job and organize everything very well and with carefull with small details.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 19th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kayleigh Causton - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great service from start to finish!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matthew was incredibly knowledgable and really friendly and ensured that all our questions were answered and accommodated for all the things we wanted to add to the trip!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
We had 4 hotels, the 2nd and 3rd ones were brilliant but the 1st and 4th ones were not as great, though I reckon this is down to how last minute my request for the trip was!
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Great! The IC card was brilliant and easy to use and the Shinkansen was great too!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Tyler was an excellent guide, he showed us so many locations in one day, all of them were amazing! He also gave us some great advice on places to go around Tokyo while we were there which was really lovely. In Kyoto although our booklet said we would have someone else, Mr Tanaka turned up and he was incredibly knowledgeable and very friendly, again going to extra mile to make sure we knew where we going during our time in Kyoto and giving us great advice on places to go!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Everything was great, well planned and we had an absolutely incredible time in Japan! Matthew was so helpful and friendly and shared our excitement that this was our first trip to Japan, so we want to say a special thank you to him! Hotels were great, as were most of the things we booked in to do in Japan whilst there. Only a few small things to bring up: 1. Getting to the Studio Park in Kyoto was a bit difficult, even with the map! 2. There was a part in our itinerary where a station or line was written in Japanese so we couldn't read where we had to go, but we figured it out! Other then those small things, the holiday was awesome, thank you!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would definitely use you again if I was planning to go to new locations within Japan, however if I was re-visiting the same places then I would go on my own accord.
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stuart Wilson - Best of the West, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Could not fault the service we received from Inside Japan. The holiday was beyond our expectations. A lot easier to get around than we anticipated! The info packs were really good and made our travel in Japan quite straightforward.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Ruth was great.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Excellent apart from Terazuya Ryokan in Matsue. The couple who run the place are delightful but the accommodation was poor. (dirty, no way to lock our door and food not up to the standard we got at other places.) I have some photos of the place if you want to see how bad it was.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Wonderful. We enjoyed every minute. Network Rail could learn a thing or two from Japan Rail on how to run a railway.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Shihoko Hirooka was lovely and very helpful. We had a great day out in Kyoto and we like to think she enjoyed the day as much as we did. The guidance she gave for the following day (when we were on our own) was excellent.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Food - by and large it was OK but we did try to get a western style breakfast at every opportunity. Very healthy diet - we both lost a few pounds (a rarity on holiday!). It was great experience to try the Japanese food, however. The time taken to travel to Hagi and Matsue was not worth it. These locations are not that exciting to justify the detour. We were struggling a bit to fill our time. As I said elsewhere a better alternative would be to go to Kyushu. Also, we felt going to Kobe was a waste of time. We arrived at 1530, had 2 hours sightseeing and made an early start the next day to Hakone. With hindsight, and better knowledge of Japan, we would have preferred 4 days travelling in Kyushu and miss out Hagi, Matsue and Kobe. We found Japan to be incredibly cheap and brought quite a bit of cash back with us. Perhaps some indication on how much cash would be needed should be given. On average we spent only about £15 per head on an evening meal. With travel and many other meals included there was little for me to spend my cash on!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lynn Baddock - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Fabulous holiday - our second trip to Japan this time visiting independently.Japan has everything - a fascinating country with a unique history but its so easy to get around and standards of food and service are so high. We wish we understood more about how the country works - similarities and differences with the UK are fascinating.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was extremely helpful and informative . The itinerary and the notes he prepared for our tour were really comprehensive. It was also very reassuring that he took the trouble to phone us twice whilst we were actually in Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All the accommodation was great with the exception of the hotel in Nagasaki which we have already discussed with Mark.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Superb throughout - we love Japanese trains and the stations with their array of souvenir shops and stalls selling bento boxes.The buses and ferries we caught were also very good. We would recommend reserving train seats as far as possible.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guide in Nagasaki was fine and very friendly - we saw more because we were with her.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We are fortunate in that we like Japanese food ( including the breakfasts ). This being our second visit we were a bit more adventurous ! we loved everything we tried especially the tonkatsu though the yakitori of chicken cartilage tested our resolve !
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The service from Inside Japan has been superb on both our trips.Its also great being able to put together an itinerary which reflects our personal interests and time scales - for example we prefer to stay three nights in a city if at all possible .
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Robert Loughman - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Picked the company randomly off a google search. I emailed several different companies but like Matt and the self guided option so went with Inside Japan Travel. Our guide in Kyoto was fantastic and also helped us with a glitch at the hotel.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I started working with Matt and then John. Both of them were easy to work with, prompt answering emails and answered all my questions. John also helped me out by getting tickets to a Geisha dance that I was unable to do over the internet. He also helped with train schedules etc for our day trip from Kyoto to Hiroshima. This trip is totally doable in a day from Kyoto. We didn't feel rushed at all. I would highly recommend both consultants to friends and family.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
I think one night in a traditional Ryokan would have been enough. Odd that our Kyoto hotel only had internet in the lobby.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent drivers and vehicle
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guide in Tokyo was fine but we liked the approach of our Kyoto guide much better. She gave us a list of 12 places and asked us to choose 3 or 4 then planned our day. In Tokyo she pretty much asked where we would like to go.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We went to see the Miyako Odori show and loved it. Strongly recommend for anyone going to Kyoto in April.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi there Robert, thank you very much for your comments and feedback. I am very pleased that after your random search you chose to go with IJT! The dances in Kyoto really are spectacular aren't they! I hope you enjoy the many happy memories you must have from your trip.
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009