contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 460 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 805
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Eric Fukuchi - Japan Unmasked, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very pleased with the level of service. For example, our daughter's flight to Narita was cancelled and she arrive 6 hours later on a different flight. Working with the Tour Leader, InsideJapan Tours arranged for a special taxi and even paid the $200 cab fare (since my daughter did not have $200 in yen). I requested an invoice for the cab fare but InsideJapan Tours decided to not send an invoice. Thank you!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Masa Hattori - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Masa was the greatest! He was an outstanding navigator via JR train, subway, bus, taxi, bus, or walking. He was knowledgeable about all the sites we visited and has committed himself to learning more. He was very personable, interacting with all members of the group on a one-to-one basis. He had great stamina from morning to night. He covered the itinerary and was flexible to change upon request. He was very resourceful . For example, when none of the taxi drivers knew how to get to the Otagi Temple in Arashiyama, Masa research the GPS coordinates and provided to the taxi drivers. Since there were no taxis at the Otagi Temple, he studied the bus schedule and timed the visit for the group to be at the bus stop when the bus arrived to return to the downtown.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was very responsive and helpful. She provided lots of information and recommendations and customized our tour exactly to our specifications. All members of our group could not have been more pleased with the trip.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Please provide options to upgrade the accommodations. Our best accommodation was an upgrade that we requested -- Tanabe Ryokan.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The hardest part of the trip was traveling with large luggage on the trains. Luggage should be limited to 22 inches or less along with a backpack.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The Tour Leader should provide dining options to the group and let the group decide.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Please advise travelers about student groups and when they travel.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We have traveled on many group tours. We enjoy small groups the best. The ultimate best is a private tour traveling with family and friends.
Review submitted: 28th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for the great feedback, Eric! It sounds like your group had a fantastic time traveling with Masa-san and that things went well once we got the arrival transfer sorted out for your daughter. We based your group's private tour on our Japan Unmasked itinerary, which uses good budget accommodations, but I feel your idea about offering upgrade is a sensible one, especially as you enjoyed the Tanabe so much. I will certainly keep this mind and also be sure to advise that smaller is better in terms of luggage sizes! ~ Amy

Eric's family and friends had a fully-escorted trip based off our Japan Unmasked small group tour, with specific additions and upgrades to make it perfect for them. A good option if your travel dates don't lie up with one of our tour departures!

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kenneth Francisco - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
This was my first time traveling to Japan and I'm glad I went with InsideJapan Tours. It felt like I experienced a year's worth of fun activities in less than two weeks!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Tyler Palma - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Thank you Tyler for being such a knowledgeable foodie. I now have a new found appreciation for Japanese cuisine.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Thank you Mat for recommending that I visit the Senso-ji Temple in Asakusa prior to the tour. It was a great place to explore on my first day in Tokyo.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
My favorite accommodation was the Fuji-Hakone Guest House. My second favorite was the First Cabin Hotel in Osaka.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
A trip to Japan would be incomplete without a ride on a packed Tokyo commuter train during Monday morning rush hour. After being crushed like sardines, the bullet train ride to Hakone was very therapeutic.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Dinner at the Izakaya restaurant on Day 1 was a great way to meet other members of the tour group.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
If I were to sum up my first impressions of Japan, it would look something like this...Tokyo = Business & Shopping; Kyoto = History & Culture; Osaka = Food & Fun...
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I'm interested in some of InsideJapan Tours' self-guided adventures. Hokkaido and Okinawa are on my list of places to visit. Climbing Mt. Fuji is also on my list.
Review submitted: 25th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hello Ken!! Many thanks for your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed this wonderfully eclectic Small Group Tour. It really is jam packed with fun! I am also pleased of course to read you enjoyed exploring Asakusa Senso-ji on your own.

We have lot's of great Self Guided trips so we would be delighted to arrange one of these for you. We also have other Small Group Tours as well of course should you want the services of our brilliant Tour Leaders again.

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Yvonne Rae - Hands On Japan, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very well organised and interesting tour. Not for those who want a casual meander around Japan though as the tour was very busy! Insidejapan dealt with all arrangements and I could just go with the flow. This took a lot of the stress out of the trip. Tips for fellow travellers: 1) get really good walking shoes even if they aren't pretty, it was a mistake I made! 2) learn a few key Japanese phrases. It's always nice to make an effort. 3) rent a mobile and make sure your tour leader has the number. I wish I had done it. It is fairly unlikely you will get lost but if you do it will stop your tour leader having a panic! 4) if you are squeamish about raw fish or seafood and have no intention of trying either, mark yourself out as 'no fish' or 'vegetarian' early on otherwise you may go hungry. Alternatively, be brave! All in all it was a fantastic trip and I am making plans to save up for the next one in a year or two!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I had already been warned from reviews that Mark was a fast walker and I would certainly support that view. You do have to move fairly swiftly though as time is precious and there is often not a lot of it available to travel between experiences. Generally we arrived on time for almost everything and although I did get lost once when I was at the back of the pack on a bike when the lights changed he came back for me. It was wonderful to have someone who could translate for us and every so often he also took small numbers of us off the beaten track a little so we could see something a little more. Very friendly, helpful, and patient. ありがとうございます。
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Answered every query I had in good time and with a pleasant manner. Thank you Karen!
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Japan public transport is amazing!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Beautiful food but not to everyone's taste. Maybe be more explicit about what to expect as there was very little meat and lots of fish. It will mean people can be more upfront with their preferences at the beginning.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
There are too many stories! :D
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Lovely people, well organised, interesting tours.
Review submitted: 22nd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Yvonne,

Thanks for taking the time to feedback to us! Really glad you had a good time and that Mark was able to help improve your experience.

??????????!

Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Laura Davidson - Japan Unmasked, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
From start to finish we were treated to excellent customer service and were kept informed every step of the way.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
We really enjoyed our time with Alain. He was very friendly and knowledgeable of the areas visited. He proved an invaluable guide when dealing with public transport. He was very indulgent when faced with questions and recommended some lovely places to eat.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Alison was always easily contactable via e-mail. She also put together an extra week of activities for after the tour as we decided to stay in Japan a little longer. She organised some great extra experiences and kept us well within our travel budget. When we asked for our final hotel to be changed so that we could stay at the airport rather than travel the following morning, Ali provided very prompt service and adjusted our plans accordingly. She was always friendly and approachable, even when faced with a million email queries! If we decide to book another trip through yourselves it would be wonderful to deal with Ali again.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Most of the accommodation was top notch, with the Ryokans giving a lovely taste of the traditional experience. The Toyoko Inn chain hotels were a little cramped, but all others exceeded our expectations (especially the wonderful Tokyo Dormy Inn Ali booked during our extra week!).
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I wasn't sure what the transportation situation would be before booking and was weary of long coach trips, so I was pleasantly surprised to discover that for most of the journeys we would be traveling by train. This was a much nicer atmosphere than I had expected. Public transportation in Japan is a great experience.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The food choices were always varied throughout the trip. The places Alain took us to were always well received and the food interesting. We managed to try a good selection of new foods! The only place we struggled to find somewhere to eat was Kurashiki and this was mostly because it wasn't as touristy as the other locations.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
My favourite meal of the holiday was at a restaurant that specialised in Hida Beef, being able to cook your own meat at the table was an enjoyable dining experience. It wasn't an included meal, but the group visited by tour guide recommendation.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
IJT kept us well informed during booking and throughout the trip we were well looked after. Even once the group tour had ended and we were on our own we had been given enough information through the provided packs to navigate everything we needed to.(Those packs were a lifesaver- We couldn't have done without them our last week.) Spending two weeks with a well managed tour group gave us an extra boost of confidence for our final solo week.
Review submitted: 21st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback, Laura! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed Japan Unmasked and also your action-packed add-on. You certainly managed to see and do a lot of things.

If you did decide to visit Japan it would be a pleasure to deal with you again, too!

Happy future travels!

Ali

 

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Victoria Williams - Spirit of Honshu, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Every day was well planned, loads of fun, and low stress.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Yasuhiko Ota - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Yasuhiko Ota was loads of fun and he made sure we were on track and comfortable at all times.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was great! She was especially helpful when we were planning the pre- and post- tour days.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The location of the Asakusa View Hotel is wonderful, and the breakfast buffet is amazing.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Loved the vans and the bullet trains.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Very interesting and fun. The IJT-provided meals were really special.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
We did enjoy the food and tried a wide variety of Japanese cuisine. We tried almost everything at the Asakusa View breakfast buffet, and since there was pretty much no English signage, we had to guess at what we were eating. They said there was a "Western" breakfast, but we didn't find it. But it was an adventure and we loved it. The meal at the ryokan was extraordinary. The tour of the MOA Museum was a surprise and a delight. It is true that by the time the tour ended we were all ready for some non-Japanese food, so we ate Italian at the Kyoto Hyatt. Great meal - thanks.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 14th Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back, Vikki, and thank you for your great feedback! It's great that you had such a lovely time with Ota-san on this tour, even more because there was only four of you so it was a pretty exclusive experience. I loved that you tried different kinds of Japanese food as there is so much to eat that's tasty besides sushi, tempura, and so on. I've added those hotels to my wifi list so will let clients know in the future that they have free wifi. Thanks again! ~ Amy

Vikki traveled on our spring Spirit of Honshu, which features smaller number of people and a more luxurious type of travel, including a deluxe ryokan stay in Shimoda.

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
James Gottesman - Japan Enchantment, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
fabulous tour. Great people.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 12nd Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your comments, James! I'm so glad to hear that you and your wife had such a wonderful time on our group tour and met lots of lovely people. We will review our list of what to bring, though a lot of our suggestion depend on the time of year---it's good that the weather was so great while you were in Japan. I hope you'll recommend us to your friends who are interested in Japan. ~ Amy

James traveled on our May Japan Enchantment, which takes in the classic sights such as Tokyo and also some notable mountain areas such as Karuizawa and Nagano, famous for being the site of the 1998 Winter Olympics!

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Alyson Yee - Spring Elegance, Apr 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was exceptional. The entire trip from planning to the very end was well organized, affordable, and fun!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Steve is a fantastic guide. He is friendly, funny, helpful, organized, patient...He really made the trip a memorable one. He gave us the freedom to explore on our own without feeling alone. We always knew we could fall back on him if necessary. His coordination of the entire group was flawless.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
He was very helpful. We arrived a day early and he arranged for an additional night in the hotel.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 12nd Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Alyson,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed your time on our Spring Elegance tour. I hope you were able to enjoy the beautiful Japanese scenery at that time of year!

Thanks again for travelling with us. We would be delighted to welcome you to Japan again in the future, and if you are interested in taking a trip to somewhere else in Asia, such as Vietnam, Laos Cambodia and/ or Burma, do get in touch and the team at InsideVietnam will take you on another trip of a lifetime!

Ben

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Dana Johnson - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Mat was very helpful when it came to questions or concerns that I had. I liked that he was quick to respond to those questions and concerns and that his answers were helpful. The first night in Japan was kind of traumatizing due to the fact that I had to fly to Haneda instead of Narita and could not be picked up by the tour leader. However, everything afterwards was great. I had a very nice time in Japan and loved the whole experience.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Tyler Palma - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Tyler was very nice and super helpful. He really knew his facts about the places he took us too, and he willingly listened to any ideas that I or my group had.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The accommodation was fine. I wasn't expecting it to be five star or anything like that. The rooms were clean and the staff at all of the hotels were very friendly and helpful. The only problem I had was at the toyoko inn in Ikekuburo. The beds were really hard and it made it hard for me to sleep well when I was in that area.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was fine. Crowded when it came to the trains but I loved the experience. I had never ridden a train prior to my visit to Japan so it was very interesting.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I have no complaints about the food in Japan. I was pleased with everything we ate.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
One of my favorites things that happened in Japan was the first night in Kyoto. After we had dined at the revolving sushi bar, our tour leader had left us, telling us we could shop, walk around, etc. Most of my group decided to get together and participate in Karaoke. They nominated me to do the translating, due to the fact that aside from the tour leader, I was the second person there who knew the most Japanese and was willing to talk to people. It was difficult at first, but once we figured out how to use the key pad to sing, we had a blast.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I like how organized the whole tour group was. My travel Consultant Mat was very helpful the whole way, I was also very fond of my tour leader Tyler who was very helpful as well. I like the fact that even though it was a tour, it didn't feel like it was. It felt like just a bunch of old friends getting together and having a great vacation together. I liked that we took local transportation, and that we were able to see things that not every tour group gets to see due to riding on a tour bus the whole time.
Review submitted: 11st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Dana, thanks for your comments! It sounds like you had a real BLAST!! Sometimes the smallest and most unexpected things are what make these trips so special. 

I'm glad that the arrival in Japan did not make a lasting impact. To have miss your flight due to Obama leaving from LAX is quite the story! The fact that you were put on a flight to Haneda at the last minute just made it impossible for us to make alternative arrangements and let you know what these were before you were out of phone/email contact. 

If you want to travel again on another of our wonderful Small Group Tours do let me know!


Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Martin Kilshaw - Japan Enchantment, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Faultless service throughout both the booking and travel services. Inside Japan delivered exactly what they promised in their brochure and more so. The advance information pack was comprehensive and essential reading to prepare for travel on a mixture of private coach and public transport with luggage forwarding. The tour programme was well balanced with visits to cultural attractions and amazing scenery and involvement in local activities such as the Onsen, noodle making and embossing chopsticks with gold leaf. Tour pace was just right with a 9am start most days and we were usually back in our hotel by 5pm. We also had free-time for shopping and to visit attractions that were not on the schedule. All hotels were of at least a very good standard and usually adjacent to public transport. We experienced a huge variety of Japanese food and, surprisingly, some French cuisine at some of the included meals. Given Japanese prices we thought that the tour was extremely good value for money. Also, we chose to add days in Tokyo before and after the tour and we would recommend doing so as it helps adjust to the jetlag, allows repeat photo opportunities, if the weather was poor first time around, and last minute shopping. All told, we were truly immersed in the Japanese experience and we loved it.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
My wife and I travel worldwide on a regular basis and we have done several tours in the Far East. We have experienced many tour guides and have to say that Steve was the best ever. His organisation and management of the tour group was immaculate. He is also extremely knowledgeable and able to explain many aspects of Japanese life and history to supplement the information provided by local guides. He frequently exceeded his remit by taking us to restaurants, on a "Dutch" basis, on "non-included nights" so that he could translate menus and show us how the Japanese themselves eat out. Also, a special thank you to Steve from us because my wife is vegetarian and Steve went out of his way to make sure vegetarian food was available, which is no mean feat in Japan.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Harry Sargant - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Our consultant provided an excellent explanation of what was included in our tour and the booking process was simple and efficient.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
We enjoyed our modern Ryokan.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
We really enjoyed the public transport, which involved very little walking and stair climbing - but we had followed the guidance on packing light.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
We enjoyed eating Japanese but our guide's translations of menus was essential.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Our guide gave my wife a card in Japanese that told the reader she did not eat meat, fish or chicken. It was very useful.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We enjoyed our first experience of IJT.
Review submitted: 06th Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Many thanks for your comments Martin. Glad you were well looked after. Sorry that we did not highlight to you how you can download your travel docs from our client portal in pdf format. We have had this facility for a while, but it seems we need to work harder at letting our customers know about this. Sorry you missed out! Harry, Sales Manager.
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  2 out of 2 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kathryn Zacks - Spirit of Honshu, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
See below.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Yasuhiko Ota - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Ota-san was very knowledgeable and cordial and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with him.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Halley could not have been more helpful and responsive.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We had very high expectations and the accommodations met them. LOVED the Ryokan.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Loved the bullet train and the ferry. We would have had a difficult time finding our way around the train station without the help of Ota-san.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Breakfasts were great. Kaisekis could have been planned better; 2 in a row was not a good idea. The farewell dinner at the hotel was a bit disappointing, particularly the lamb which was nearly inedible.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Very enjoyable and enlightening. Perhaps fewer shrines and temples and more museums and opportunities to interact with Japanese people. Our opportunity to talk with a "Maiko" was really interesting and insightful.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Small groups, very nice accommodations, knowledgeable tour guide(who, by the way is NOT from Naro as indicated in your info pack).
Review submitted: 04th Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back! Thank you for this informative feedback about meals and sights, we are always looking to improve our Small Group Tour experience. I'm glad you enjoyed the ryokan! I think everyone should try a futon at least once their life. The chance to meet a Maiko is very unique, I loved the picture you took of her in action. It was great to have you travel with us, I hope you can do so again in the future~
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009