contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 455 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 765
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Natalie Wooding - Spring Elegance, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Really appreciated all the assistance with the planning from the start right up until the end.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
This was apparently their first time leading the "Spring Elegance" tour. They were very good at organizing tickets and making sure hotel relocation went smoothly for everybody. I really liked their recommendations with the eating establishments.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Extremely helpful. They checked with other staff when they could not answer specific questions. I always felt like they were going the extra mile to provide a service.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The trains were easier to understand than I expected they would be and were all very pleasant journeys. All of the trains we caught had English (Romaji) lettering on the displays. Very straightforward.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Enjoyed all of the group meals. Food and atmosphere was great.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The Dormy Inn Premium at Shibuya Jingumae was booked for me as part of a tour extension. It has a mainly-communal breakfast seating arrangement around a large table in the lobby so it is probably not for those who prefer a bit of privacy or their own table when eating in the morning. Fantastic rooms, though! This was probably my favourite hotel I stayed at due to its brilliant location right in the middle of Shibuya Station and Harajuku Station (10 minutes walk each way) and the colour scheme, layout, and size of the room was great. The staff were lovely at the Annex Turtle Hotori-An in Nikko and couldn't do enough to help with sightseeing information. I had a knock on my door one night from a member of staff I had been chatting to for a couple of hours who wanted to drop by to give me two hand-made origami gifts and novelty erasers to thank me for my stay with them, as well as to tell me to keep up my interest in learning Japanese. I thought this was really nice and unexpected. The breakfasts here were fabulous and consisted of a boiled egg, really tasty and nicely presented fruit, and warm and crispy soft bread slices. It was a shame to see the other guests getting up and leaving the room without thanking the cooks for the nicely prepared food, which I made sure to do (in Japanese). Making an effort to show thanks or give praise is really appreciated in Japan. :)
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Quality of service. Organisation. Planning. Helpfulness. Enthusiasm for the destination.
Review submitted: 23rd Apr 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome Home Natalie! I'm delighted you enjoyed your time in Japan on your Spring Elegance tour with a few nights extra added on at each end of the tour. I hope you got some fantastic photos of the cherry blossom and I look forward to helping you plan your next trip for 2015 soon! Many thanks for travelling with InsideJapan, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stella Ibbott - Spring Elegance, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very pleased with the pre-tour organisation. Prompt, helpful and always polite. The Tour of Japan visited many delightful places, and we followed the cherry blossoms and saw many spring blossoms everywhere. The shrines we visited were beautiful, and the tour leader, Alain, held us all together and was always helpful and on-the-ball.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
A fun, helpful and patient tour leader
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always helpful and in contact with us.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Loved Fujiya Hotel in Hakone. It was the best.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Happy to use public transport, buses and trains. However, at one point the last tour member only just managed to get on board the very crowded bus.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Enjoyed the Japanese foods provided, though toward the end we were craving melted cheese on toast! Thankfully found in the bread/patisserie shops. Totally enjoyed the 5 star japanese/french 5 course silver service dinner at Nikko Lakeside Hotel. Superb.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Always nice food. When not supplies Alain took us out to a nice restaurant. However the Kobe Beef restaurant was very expensive at Takayama, and very touristy. A cheaper, 'people's' restaurant would have been preferred.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Would certainly check out your tours to other asian destinations when we are ready to go there.
Review submitted: 22nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Tracey Kinsella - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service we received from InsideJapan Tours was excellent throughout. The tour was a great introduction to Japan and allowed us some flexibility to add a self guided extension.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was very helpful, knowledgable, good fun and always went the extra distance to ensure everyone was happy.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Jocelyn was very helpful throughout and put together a tailor-made self guided extension for us following the tour.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The hotels and inns were a good standard throughout.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Good range of transport. We particularly appreciated the luggage forwarding included for part of the tour.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The breakfasts were good and we enjoyed the included dinner.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We thought InsideJapan Tours were very knowledgable and good value for money.
Review submitted: 15th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks for your feedback Tracey. Sorry to hear about the missed guide, but glad we swiftly reimbursed you. Sounds like Mark the tour leader helped you see and experience the best of Japan. Happy future travels!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gwen Heliker - Hidden Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
After surfing the web for weeks and looking at packages offered by local, national and international tour operators, InsideJapan Tours "Hidden Japan" was the only package I could find which offered bothe Kyoto and Hiroshima. My request for a brochure was answered promptly. In addition, the website provided detailed information on tour offerings.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Andrew Petty - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Having been in travel for 40+ years and specifically working with Tour Directors/Leaders, Andrew has all the traits required of a good Tour Director. He is knowledgable, organized, patient and courteous. It was a joy to see him interact with the hotel staff, restaurant workers, shop vendors, etc. and watch their positive reaction to him. None of my questions went unanswered, and he was always on hand to help me with my problems and interpreting what people were saying to me. I somehow have a habit of equally attracting problems (lost my luggage key)and strangers (locals would just start chatting with me including one man who said he learned English by watching John Wayne movies!)
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Halley is so pleasant to work with! She answered my questions promptly, and is definitely a dedicated and service-oriented travel consultant.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
All the hotel accommodations were excellent. At only one hotel were we mistakenly put into a smoking room, but they did their best to "sanitize" the room that night, and moved us to another room the next day. I loved our one night stay at the monastery.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was a new and exciting experience to travel via so many venues: electric trolley; old trains; bullet train; ferries. There were times I wish I could have caught a taxi instead of walking with my suitcase to the hotel (because of my arthritic knees), but I managed and Andrew helped me going uphill to one particular hotel.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Here in Hawaii, we eat Japanese food all the time, but it was great to experience the two formal (kaiseke?) dinners and wear yukatas. All breakfast buffets were simply fabulous offering both American and Japanese dishes.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I love food, and the food in Japan was no exception from the ramen in a little hole-in-the-wall restaurant, to our group meals. Our group members were so friendly, and we couldn't have asked for better travel companions. There was not one bad apple in the bunch!
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
The only reason I would NOT use InsideJapan Tours would be because there are probably cheaper group packages through Hawaii-based tour operators going to other places in Japan. Since I am retired, cost would be a major factor in determining where I go and with which tour operator.
Review submitted: 13th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Gwen! I'm so glad that your Japan trip was all you were hoping for, though a bit more hilly than expected. I really enjoyed seeing your pictures along the way and am very happy I could be a part of your HiddenJapan adventure! Mahalo~
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Angela Jensen - Spring Elegance, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very well organised and led.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Best tour leader I have ever encountered: knowledgeable, not over directive, efficient.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always responded quickly and answered any queries. Very impressed by organising our evening meals onb our self guided visit to Nikko.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Was impressed by the locations of the accommodation - consistently good for sights, eating etc.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Really enjoyed using public transport - especially the highly efficient trains. Steve made understanding the trains and buses straightforward so we could also do it independently!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Liked the variety of eating places we experienced.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
This is the best tour company I have ever travelled with.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 12nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home Angela. Thanks for your kind words. Glad Steve the tour leader looked after you so well - he will be thrilled to read your comments. Happy future travels!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Wilfred Uecker - Spring Elegance, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
We wanted an overview of Japan since it is the first and probably the last time we will visit. The tour provided that.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 11st Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi there Wilfred, many thanks for taking the time to submit your comments. I am happy that the tour provided the overview of Japan you were looking for. It was good to speak to you on your return as well and get your valued feedback. (Mat)
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jeffrey Nichols - Hidden Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
the service stateside was excellent. The trip in Japan was also well thought out and arranged in a relaxing way
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Andrew Petty - A Little Disappointed Customer Rating
that's a long story. He certainly got the job done. I think it is just a case of us having very different personalities
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was pleasant, wonderful and easy to work with
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
last nite hotel was disappointing
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
fine. I liked the use of the local transport
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
we are into food and had many independent excellent meals. The meals in Kotohira, although pleasing in a traditional way were not very good:( We were disappointed as well with the first nite dinner picked by our tour leader. Mediocre food in a VERY touristy place that set a bad tone,
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 11st Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back, Jeff! I'm happy to hear that overall the service for your Hidden Japan group tour was very good, though there are some areas for improvement. I'm sorry about the confusion with your departure transfer, and that the final tour hotel didn't meet your expectations as the others did. This is something our group tours manager will take a look over to be sure and will be very helpful to us in planning future group tours! It's great that you ate so many excellent meals despite the stumble on the first night as well. ~ Amy

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Colin Moore - Japan Unmasked, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
No problems with the organization of this holiday from start to finish.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
As this was David's first time leading the Japan Unmasked tour, I think he coped exceptionally. Any problems he encountered were dealt with in a calm and professional manner. He really is an asset to your company.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Any questions asked were swiftly dealt with. Again,no problems.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
see 4b above
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Trains were fast and spotless - something the UK could learn from!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I didn't like the Japanese food (but I feel that way most countries I go to - delicate stomach I guess). I go on holiday to see the country and experience its culture, Japan Unmasked more than accomplished this (yes, I know the food is part of the culture, but its not high on my list on priorities)!
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I would have liked another day in Kyoto (far too much to see in the available time) and it was a shame I had an early flight as I didn't see much of Yokohama. Overall this was an excellent holiday and Inside Japan is probably the best tour company I have used (and I've used a lot over the last 10 years - 30+ holidays).
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I found Japan a fascinating place, but theres a whole world of potential fascinating places to see and I won't live long enough to see them all!
Review submitted: 08th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Okearinasai Colin sama! Welcome back. Thank you for taking the time to send feedback. I'm glad you had a fantastic time on tour with David. The ryokan experience (sleeping on futons) and vast array of Japanese food is indeed very unique but these are the real highlights of the Japan experience. If only our trains were as efficient and clean as Japan. We would love to welcome you back to Japan in the future or if you are looking for something a bit different then we also offer Vietnam, Indochina and Burma. Regards, Mark
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Keri Stewart - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had a wonderful introduction to Japan. The tour was just right for us and we were looked after very well by our guide, Mark. It was very good value for money.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
The tour ran very smoothly and nothing was any trouble to our tour leader.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The rooms were small but that was expected for Japan.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was all public transport and in Japan that was of course very efficient.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Minimal meals included. The one dinner included was very nice and we enjoyed it very much.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
It was an excellent, value for money tour and I have already recommended Inside Japan to friends.
Review submitted: 07th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home, Keri! I'm really pleased to hear you had a great time in Japan on our Tokaido Trail small group tour with Mark last month and that you though it was excellent value for money. Apologies again for the problem with your accommodation on arrival but we are pleased this was easily resolved for you. Thank you for your feedback and thank you for recommending us to your friends! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Catherine Sutherland - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Both Mark and Amy were supremely helpful, generous with their time and knowledge, and patient.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark did a great job - showed a great deal of patience with everyone on the trip, was knowledgeable and approachable.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was always prompt in responding to my questions, cheerful and helpful
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 07th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back, Lynn! It was great meeting you in person and I hope you enjoyed Kyoto, even though the weather was a bit unpredictable. Rain is not the best sightseeing weather! I'm happy that you had a fantastic time on the tour, and am glad Mark and I could help you experience Japan so fully. We've had similar feedback to yours about giving access to other tour member's email, so I will be sure to mention that to our group tours manager for the future! ~ Amy

Lynn traveled on our March Tokaido Trail group tour which, despite some iffy early spring weather, got along great and saw sights famous and less-famous during their time in Japan.

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009