contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 449 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 1533
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Robert Loughman - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Picked the company randomly off a google search. I emailed several different companies but like Matt and the self guided option so went with Inside Japan Travel. Our guide in Kyoto was fantastic and also helped us with a glitch at the hotel.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I started working with Matt and then John. Both of them were easy to work with, prompt answering emails and answered all my questions. John also helped me out by getting tickets to a Geisha dance that I was unable to do over the internet. He also helped with train schedules etc for our day trip from Kyoto to Hiroshima. This trip is totally doable in a day from Kyoto. We didn't feel rushed at all. I would highly recommend both consultants to friends and family.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
I think one night in a traditional Ryokan would have been enough. Odd that our Kyoto hotel only had internet in the lobby.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent drivers and vehicle
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guide in Tokyo was fine but we liked the approach of our Kyoto guide much better. She gave us a list of 12 places and asked us to choose 3 or 4 then planned our day. In Tokyo she pretty much asked where we would like to go.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We went to see the Miyako Odori show and loved it. Strongly recommend for anyone going to Kyoto in April.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kerry Wohlstein - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything ran like clockwork during the trip, esp. vouchers for transportation and accommodations. The information packet was the "bomb"!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
There are not enough words to describe Halley's commitment to making this the best trip ever. She had all the information we needed and if she didn't, she got back to us in a timely fashion. Great consultant.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
See comment 3B. The Ryokans were wonderful as were the other hotels. People were friendly, caring and personable. The overall feeling was excellent.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
EXCELLENT! Evidently Japan runs on time, as do its trains, buses and subways. Loved that IJT made it so easy to get around.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both Tokyo and Kyoto guides were knowledgeable, professional and flexible.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I blogged while I was in Japan and if you want to see the website, it is: kerryandkarendojapan.blogspot.com. As mentioned before, though it was fine to sample foods of Japan, it would have been nice to have some more options. My personal favorites were photographing Mt. Fuji without a cloud in the sky and waking to that same view the next morning and the snow monkeys in Yudanaka. I think next time, I would specify where I wanted to go so I could get IJT input as to what activities were there, such as hiking in the mountains, skiing, etc. I liked the cities and small towns, but I would have liked to walk more in the mountains.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I am not a tour person, per se, so to find a company who does independent tours of 2 people and does it well, is a boon.The time limits were just right both daily and for the two weeks I was gone. IJT staff were flexible, professional and knowledgeable. When we had to make a day change for the guide, they were understanding and worked with us. Your philosophy and commitment to excellence sold me on this trip and perhaps others as well. Thank you!
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kerry Wohlstein - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything ran like clockwork during the trip, esp. vouchers for transportation and accommodations. The information packet was the "bomb"!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
There are not enough words to describe Halley's commitment to making this the best trip ever. She had all the information we needed and if she didn't, she got back to us in a timely fashion. Great consultant.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
See comment 3B. The Ryokans were wonderful as were the other hotels. People were friendly, caring and personable. The overall feeling was excellent.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
EXCELLENT! Evidently Japan runs on time, as do its trains, buses and subways. Loved that IJT made it so easy to get around.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both Tokyo and Kyoto guides were knowledgeable, professional and flexible.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I blogged while I was in Japan and if you want to see the website, it is: kerryandkarendojapan.blogspot.com. As mentioned before, though it was fine to sample to foods of Japan, it would have been nice to have some more options. My personal favorites were photographing Mt. Fuji without a cloud in the sky and waking to that same view the next morning and the snow monkeys in Yudanaka. I think next time, I would specify where I wanted to go so I could get IJT input as to what activities were there, such as hiking in the mountains, skiing, etc. I liked the cities and small towns, but I would have liked to walk more in the mountains.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I am not a tour person, per se, so to find a company who does independent tours of 2 people and does it well, is a boon.The time limits were just right both daily and for the two weeks I was gone. IJT staff were flexible, professional and knowledgeable. When we had to make a day change for the guide, they were understanding and worked with us. Your philosophy and commitment to excellence sold me on this trip and perhaps others as well. Thank you!
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lewis Morrison - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
As always all the travel and accommodation details were spot on.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
I am a complete anal retentive when it comes to organising these trips and I think my consultant struggled (only an eency weency bit mind) to keep up with that - one or two details needed changed quite soon before my trip after a reminder. God I'm fussy!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
All really really good. A particular mention for the Todaya Ryoan in Ise which was fantastic.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All the itineraries were pretty accurate but my tip is double check on Hyperdia to give yourself a back up plan.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Ryokan food is seriously brilliant - but after a few nights of that get off your bum and go find some tiny yakitori place, or Mos Burger.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I've done 4 trips with IJT and they've all rocked - so why would I use anyone else?
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Andrew Hildreth - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
No worries, no problems, and someone was always willing to help. Great food, culture, and skiing!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was brilliant and 'on the money' with all suggestions. It made the trip so much better.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Many thanks for your feedback Andrew. Glad Mark looked after you well!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Hobkinson - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Had a great time and appreciated all the information and support provided
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Friendly, clear communicator, quick to follow up
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 16th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home Susan! I'm really glad you had a great time in Japan, and I'm glad the problem with your passport was resolved easily. I'm sorry you had trouble catching the train between Shin-Osaka and Kyoto. As mentioned in the daily itinerary section of your Info-Pack, JR update their timetables at the end of March each year meaning that some train times change slightly. It looks like this is the reason why you were not able to catch the train you were expecting. I'm sorry for the confusion, but I'm glad you were able to get there in the end! Many thanks for travelling with us and for your valued feedback. Richard
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Robert Thain - Independent Travel, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very happy with the experience of using IJT
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Found Matthew to be attentive and knowledgeable when tailoring the trip, plenty of good suggestions to maximise my time in country, and responded to queries quickly.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 15th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Robbie! Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out our feedback form. I'm really glad to hear you had such a good time! Thanks as well for your message and photos on our facebook page, you got some really nice shots. All the best, Matthew
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Diana Caulfeild - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Could not fault our holiday at all amazing time and would thoroghly recommend inside Japan to our friends.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
No bad comments she listened to what we thought we would like, our final two nights at a Ryoken was the icing on the cake for a true Japanese experience.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 15th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback! I'm delighted that you and James had such a good time in Japan combining a visit to see your daughter and some sightseeing. The Hanaougi Bettei Iiyama is a beautiful, traditional ryokan inn and I'm glad these nights in Takayama were memorable for you. Many thanks again for travelling with InsideJapan Tours! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ann Shearer - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We liked the overall balance of the tour and the quality of the hotels. The guidebooks were extremely useful in providing suggestions. We liked the Perfect Days!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was very helpful, but not intrusive
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All the hotels were excellent
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The train passes were all fantastic and easy to use
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
See above
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Loved all the food especially in Hakone
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You obviously know Japan and we benefited from your insight
Review submitted: 14th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Ann,

Welcome home! I'm really pleased you had a good time and hope you'll travel with us again.

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Macdonald - Golden Route, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I was delighted with the service that I received from Inside Japan
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Ruth was always available to answer any queries that I had. When my plane was delayed by 24hrs she managed to rearrange my pick-up from the airport and my guide in Tokyo to the following day.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The hotels were better than I expected. My only negative was in Kyoto where the hotel could not cope with the demand for early breakfasts. The dining room was too small, there were not sufficient staff on duty to replenish the food and drinks when they ran out. There appeared to be tour companies block booking the dining room at breakfast time preventing other travellers getting in for breakfast.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The Japan rail pass was a real boon and if I returned I certainly would purchase again. The pick-up from the airport worked well. The transport system is so integrated and I never had to worry about not meeting train connections.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed my day with them.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food provided in Miyajima was wonderful and everything that was put in front of me was a delight. I was interviewed at the Peace Museum in Hirojima by the local Japanese TV station asking me about my trip and my reasons for visiting.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 14th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for the feedback and we're delighted that you enjoyed our service and had a great time in Japan. We have made a note of your comments regarding the Kyoto hotel and we will investigate further. Of course Kyoto is the most popular place to visit during Japan's cherry blossom season and all hotels are booked to capacity at this time.
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009