contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 451 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 1657
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Krithika Anil - Best of Japan, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The planning of our trip was fantastic! We went to such lovely places, and the guide book was extremely helpful to find our way around to the different hotels and sights.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ruth was extremely spot on with her service. She replied to our phone calls and emails very quickly, and delt with any questions and issues we had very smoothly. So thank you very much, Ruth!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The accomdations were absolutely lovely, and the staff were incredibly nice and polite.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transport was fine and quite comfortable.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides were lovely, and very knowledgable! Masa Hatori even offered to take me to the hospital in Tokyo (as I was ill during the time in Tokyo).
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The oysters in Miyajima were just amazing. That's the one thing I can still remember the taste. It was delicious!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The service was quick and smooth, and the organisation of our trip was well thought out. There were no problems at all!
Review submitted: 31st Jul 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Michelle Donohue - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Thank you Ben. We have traveled quite a lot through Europe and Asia and found this holiday to Japan the most organised and pleasant trip we have had. Everything worked like clockwork.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
All accommodation was very good with the exception of the ANA crown plaza in Hiroshima which was in a great location but the rooms were tired.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very efficient. On time and pleasant drivers.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All our guides were very friendly, took us where we wanted and had a lot of knowledge regarding the sites. A special thank you to our guides in Kyoto.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 21st Jul 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stefan Aalten - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Matthew was excellent. With only 4 weeks to go before we flew out he sorted out a fantastic itinerary, all our local travel and accommodation, provided us with loads of info and local guides (we gave up on Lonely Planet because your info was much more useful) and has given us fantastic memories of our time in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Can't rate him high enough. Friendly, knowledgeable, quickly understood what we were after. Flexed the plans to suit our needs both before we went and also with some hotel changes whilst we were away. If only every travel consultant was like Matthew!!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The traditional ryokan hotels were superb. Only downside in some of the "city" hotels was the size of the rooms (we're tall!) but Matthew quickly changed these when asked to do so.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Airport meet and greet was really friendly. All bus and train travel was excellent and a good way to experience life as a local. Japan Rail pass is fantastic. Driving was really easy, even the Japanese language satnat. The instructions you gave us were also really clear and made finding our way around very straight forward.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
For comments on the Tokyo guide - see question 3b. Our guide in Kyoto was fantastic - really well organised, informative, friendly. We got on with her right away and she packed lots of variety and interest into the day and helped us with hints and tips for our next day in Kyoto. Can highly recommend her.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was fantastic especially at the ryokans - lots of lovely new flavours and dishes and we still don't know what some of the things were that we ate! Deep fried grasshopper, horse sashimi, horse neck fat - all new to us and all very tasty. Only slight challenge we had was with the slippers and yukata in some of the hotels - not surprisingly they aren't used to catering for 6ft 4in big build Dutchmen.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You were just fantastic and made it really easy. You know how things work in Japan and how to navigate through the system - this was just what we were after.
Review submitted: 06th Jul 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Stefan and Vanessa, thank you very much for your feedback, it's brilliant to hear you had such a fantastic time while travelling with us in Japan! I'm glad that your food, accommodation and trip as a whole lived up to your expectaions. I really enjoyed putting the trip togther for you and helping you get to some really interesting and out of the way destinations, so I really am glad you had such a good time.
I wish you all the best for the future and your next adventure,
Matt
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Rebekah Mcdonald - Best of Japan, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was wonderful. Every voucher arrived on time and the info packs were fantastic. Accommodation was all as described and all suggested food/sights/tours were fantastic. In particular, our Kyoto guide Aya-san was fantastic - and Shinko-san at the Yamaichi Bekkan ryokan in Miyajima was so welcoming and friendly we felt right at home.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Nathaniel was great. I gave specific requests as to the accommodation we preferred, where extra nights would work etc. Nathaniel even reworked our entire itinerary when some money issues caused us to reduce our budget. Email replies were prompt and informative.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We don't have any complaints! The only strange thing was that I booked the entire trip under my name, with my male partner as the other guest, and at practically all of the hotels the hotel staff had rearranged it so his name was the booking! But that seems more like a cultural difference, and didn't cause anything other than some mild confusion a check in.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All transport in Japan in superb. Clean, efficient, always on time.... Perfect.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both of our guides (in Tokyo and Kyoto) we're fantastic, but as I mentioned before, Aya-san in Kyoto was a real stand out. Friendly and informative, she made our 38 degree sweltering day actually enjoyable!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
It depends on the type of trip we take next time. If we go to the same areas then probably not, but if we want to explore other areas of Japan then we will likely go through InsideJapan.
Review submitted: 01st Jul 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Rebekah,
Thank you for your comments and I am very glad you had such a great time!
I agree with you that while our guides are great, Ayako san in Kyoto is a real gem. When my Mother visited Ayako showed us around Kyoto and even though I've been to Kyoto dozens of times I learned as much as my Mom did.
I look forward to welcoming back to Japan and helping show you more of this great country!
Cheers, Nathaniel
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  2 out of 2 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Doidge - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Prompt efficient service. Very good experience in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Prompt, efficient and helpful
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 28th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi John,
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Japan.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Japan again in the future.
Cheers, Nathaniel
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Peter Cowley - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent service - very flexible as we tweaked the timings of the trip. IJT information books almost faultless.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Thoroughly well planned.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Tokyo chap excellent, Kyoto lady not quite as good. Voluntary YMCA lady in Nara excellent
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Slight pity that the fabulous food and service we had in the first ryokan (Haknoe) was not matched. suspect that it was because the price/night was double any other. However, like so many other things in Japan, the food and service was exceptional and so very different from any other fully developed country that we have visited
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I think you have taught us enough to embark on a self-organised trip to Japan. Happy to pay the £8136 for the trip, but if we had organised it ourselves, would it have been £6K, £8K, £10K??
Review submitted: 27th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Peter,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am really glad you had a good time and that the booklet we provided was helpful! We have also taken on your other points and hope we can use them to further improve service in the future!

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gregg Tsuchimoto - Golden Route, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The info packs were excellent and very easy to use.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
We were a bit nervous doing the self guided tour but after meeting with Halley we felt very comfortable. She was very responsive whenever we had questions and provided excellent suggestions.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent. They were very knowledgeable and well organized.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We did not have one bad meal in Japan. We enjoyed eating at the train stations, street foods and ramen shops everywhere we went. You can eat pretty cheap which was really surprising.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
IJT did such a good job I feel like I could travel to Japan on my own now.
Review submitted: 24th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Okaeri Tsuchimoto family! Isn't the food in Japan the best? I'm glad that you found the cheap and delicious options, that's the way to go. It was so great getting to meet you in person and plan your big family trip together. With your amazing input we were able to alter the Golden Route so you could meet up with your family living in Okayama. I have no doubts that you could take on Japan again, you make such a great team! 
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ramona Valentine - Independent Travel, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had two tour guiders respectively. Both were excellent and allowed flexibility in our day plans.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I totally relied on the information booklet to follow the transport step-by-step when we travelled either locally or nationally. The tickets prepared for us were very handy as it cut alot of time out re.queuing and or asking for destinations etc - the booklet even had japanese language to help us to show to the bus driver, etc. Without this we would have been utterly lost in Japan!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had two tour guiders respectively. Both were excellent and allowed flexibility in our day plans.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Well we knew it would be all down to experience so both negatives and positives would be expected as we were going to an unknown destination - the traditional Japanese food - breakfasts and dinners - were the only thing we couldn't handle so we mainly ate rice at ryokans. It meant we lost some weight too.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 24th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Dear Ramona,

Thank you very much for your feedback! It sounds like the two of you had a great time in Japan! I am glad to hear that the Info-Pack booklet was of useful and helped you getting around - it just makes your life easier when you don't have to ask all the time where to go! Many thanks again for traveling with us!

Best wishes,
Katharina
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Angela Craig - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Faultless
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All friendly courteous and knowledgeable
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was utterly superb. Can't say any more than that. All the information packs snd guides were excellent particularly the instructions for travelling between hotels. Alison was really helpful and understanding when I called to change our sleeping arrangements at the last minute.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Felt independent but also well looked after
Review submitted: 23rd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Angela. I'm glad to hear the trip went well. Thank you also for your comments on sustainable tourism - we'll certainly take those on board.

All best wishes

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Lutkenhouse - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Loved the booklet setting out my Itinerary. I called it my bible and it helped to make the entire trip flow effortlessly. It was also nice to have the personal touch with the rep, and the is everything OK phone call while there.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very personable, very helpful, the tour that she put together was spot on.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 22nd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Sue, and thank you also for taking the time to send your suggestions by email. I'm so pleased to hear the trip went well, and glad you found the Info-Pack ('bible') useful!

Wishing you happy future travels!

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009