contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 451 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2465
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Craig Evans - Independent Travel, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Fantastic trip. Really well organised and made it easy for us to enjoy japan without worrying about logistics.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Friendly, efficient and provided good advice on how to structure our trip.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Natasha Brown - Japan Unmasked, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Brilliant service with a smile and allowing enough choice to cater to all traveling tes!!!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William-Kayne Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always willing to advise on activities and to adjust the tour to unforeseen circumstances ie poor weather conditions!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Perfect communication and a+ customer service!!!
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
William Perell - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
In general I was satisfied with InsideJapan Yours, but there were a number of matters that could have been handled much better.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
John was responsive to our needs and "rolled with our punches". He knew the territory well, and we benefited from his knowledge.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Average
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Did not meet my expectations
The third hotel (of the four) at which we stayed was barely a two star hotel. I have been to Japan many times, and know a sub-par hotel when I experience it. A very hotel a few hundred meters away was so much nicer.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Toyota Car Rental was superb.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
N/A
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Average
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No
I felt that the hotels should be visited regularly and I am not certain that was the case. Also, the driving times between destinations were much greater than indicated. We spent too much time driving.
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Krithika Anil - Best of Japan, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The planning of our trip was fantastic! We went to such lovely places, and the guide book was extremely helpful to find our way around to the different hotels and sights.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ruth was extremely spot on with her service. She replied to our phone calls and emails very quickly, and delt with any questions and issues we had very smoothly. So thank you very much, Ruth!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The accomdations were absolutely lovely, and the staff were incredibly nice and polite.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transport was fine and quite comfortable.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides were lovely, and very knowledgable! Masa Hatori even offered to take me to the hospital in Tokyo (as I was ill during the time in Tokyo).
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The oysters in Miyajima were just amazing. That's the one thing I can still remember the taste. It was delicious!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The service was quick and smooth, and the organisation of our trip was well thought out. There were no problems at all!
Review submitted: 31st Jul 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Michelle Donohue - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Thank you Ben. We have traveled quite a lot through Europe and Asia and found this holiday to Japan the most organised and pleasant trip we have had. Everything worked like clockwork.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
All accommodation was very good with the exception of the ANA crown plaza in Hiroshima which was in a great location but the rooms were tired.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very efficient. On time and pleasant drivers.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All our guides were very friendly, took us where we wanted and had a lot of knowledge regarding the sites. A special thank you to our guides in Kyoto.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 21st Jul 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stefan Aalten - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Matthew was excellent. With only 4 weeks to go before we flew out he sorted out a fantastic itinerary, all our local travel and accommodation, provided us with loads of info and local guides (we gave up on Lonely Planet because your info was much more useful) and has given us fantastic memories of our time in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Can't rate him high enough. Friendly, knowledgeable, quickly understood what we were after. Flexed the plans to suit our needs both before we went and also with some hotel changes whilst we were away. If only every travel consultant was like Matthew!!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The traditional ryokan hotels were superb. Only downside in some of the "city" hotels was the size of the rooms (we're tall!) but Matthew quickly changed these when asked to do so.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Airport meet and greet was really friendly. All bus and train travel was excellent and a good way to experience life as a local. Japan Rail pass is fantastic. Driving was really easy, even the Japanese language satnat. The instructions you gave us were also really clear and made finding our way around very straight forward.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
For comments on the Tokyo guide - see question 3b. Our guide in Kyoto was fantastic - really well organised, informative, friendly. We got on with her right away and she packed lots of variety and interest into the day and helped us with hints and tips for our next day in Kyoto. Can highly recommend her.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was fantastic especially at the ryokans - lots of lovely new flavours and dishes and we still don't know what some of the things were that we ate! Deep fried grasshopper, horse sashimi, horse neck fat - all new to us and all very tasty. Only slight challenge we had was with the slippers and yukata in some of the hotels - not surprisingly they aren't used to catering for 6ft 4in big build Dutchmen.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You were just fantastic and made it really easy. You know how things work in Japan and how to navigate through the system - this was just what we were after.
Review submitted: 06th Jul 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Stefan and Vanessa, thank you very much for your feedback, it's brilliant to hear you had such a fantastic time while travelling with us in Japan! I'm glad that your food, accommodation and trip as a whole lived up to your expectaions. I really enjoyed putting the trip togther for you and helping you get to some really interesting and out of the way destinations, so I really am glad you had such a good time.
I wish you all the best for the future and your next adventure,
Matt
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Rebekah Mcdonald - Best of Japan, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was wonderful. Every voucher arrived on time and the info packs were fantastic. Accommodation was all as described and all suggested food/sights/tours were fantastic. In particular, our Kyoto guide Aya-san was fantastic - and Shinko-san at the Yamaichi Bekkan ryokan in Miyajima was so welcoming and friendly we felt right at home.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Nathaniel was great. I gave specific requests as to the accommodation we preferred, where extra nights would work etc. Nathaniel even reworked our entire itinerary when some money issues caused us to reduce our budget. Email replies were prompt and informative.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We don't have any complaints! The only strange thing was that I booked the entire trip under my name, with my male partner as the other guest, and at practically all of the hotels the hotel staff had rearranged it so his name was the booking! But that seems more like a cultural difference, and didn't cause anything other than some mild confusion a check in.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All transport in Japan in superb. Clean, efficient, always on time.... Perfect.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both of our guides (in Tokyo and Kyoto) we're fantastic, but as I mentioned before, Aya-san in Kyoto was a real stand out. Friendly and informative, she made our 38 degree sweltering day actually enjoyable!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
It depends on the type of trip we take next time. If we go to the same areas then probably not, but if we want to explore other areas of Japan then we will likely go through InsideJapan.
Review submitted: 01st Jul 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Rebekah,
Thank you for your comments and I am very glad you had such a great time!
I agree with you that while our guides are great, Ayako san in Kyoto is a real gem. When my Mother visited Ayako showed us around Kyoto and even though I've been to Kyoto dozens of times I learned as much as my Mom did.
I look forward to welcoming back to Japan and helping show you more of this great country!
Cheers, Nathaniel
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  2 out of 2 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Eric Fukuchi - Japan Unmasked, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very pleased with the level of service. For example, our daughter's flight to Narita was cancelled and she arrive 6 hours later on a different flight. Working with the Tour Leader, InsideJapan Tours arranged for a special taxi and even paid the $200 cab fare (since my daughter did not have $200 in yen). I requested an invoice for the cab fare but InsideJapan Tours decided to not send an invoice. Thank you!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Masa Hattori - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Masa was the greatest! He was an outstanding navigator via JR train, subway, bus, taxi, bus, or walking. He was knowledgeable about all the sites we visited and has committed himself to learning more. He was very personable, interacting with all members of the group on a one-to-one basis. He had great stamina from morning to night. He covered the itinerary and was flexible to change upon request. He was very resourceful . For example, when none of the taxi drivers knew how to get to the Otagi Temple in Arashiyama, Masa research the GPS coordinates and provided to the taxi drivers. Since there were no taxis at the Otagi Temple, he studied the bus schedule and timed the visit for the group to be at the bus stop when the bus arrived to return to the downtown.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was very responsive and helpful. She provided lots of information and recommendations and customized our tour exactly to our specifications. All members of our group could not have been more pleased with the trip.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Please provide options to upgrade the accommodations. Our best accommodation was an upgrade that we requested -- Tanabe Ryokan.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The hardest part of the trip was traveling with large luggage on the trains. Luggage should be limited to 22 inches or less along with a backpack.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The Tour Leader should provide dining options to the group and let the group decide.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Please advise travelers about student groups and when they travel.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We have traveled on many group tours. We enjoy small groups the best. The ultimate best is a private tour traveling with family and friends.
Review submitted: 28th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for the great feedback, Eric! It sounds like your group had a fantastic time traveling with Masa-san and that things went well once we got the arrival transfer sorted out for your daughter. We based your group's private tour on our Japan Unmasked itinerary, which uses good budget accommodations, but I feel your idea about offering upgrade is a sensible one, especially as you enjoyed the Tanabe so much. I will certainly keep this mind and also be sure to advise that smaller is better in terms of luggage sizes! ~ Amy

Eric's family and friends had a fully-escorted trip based off our Japan Unmasked small group tour, with specific additions and upgrades to make it perfect for them. A good option if your travel dates don't lie up with one of our tour departures!

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Doidge - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Prompt efficient service. Very good experience in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Prompt, efficient and helpful
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 28th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi John,
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Japan.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Japan again in the future.
Cheers, Nathaniel
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Peter Cowley - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent service - very flexible as we tweaked the timings of the trip. IJT information books almost faultless.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Thoroughly well planned.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Tokyo chap excellent, Kyoto lady not quite as good. Voluntary YMCA lady in Nara excellent
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Slight pity that the fabulous food and service we had in the first ryokan (Haknoe) was not matched. suspect that it was because the price/night was double any other. However, like so many other things in Japan, the food and service was exceptional and so very different from any other fully developed country that we have visited
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I think you have taught us enough to embark on a self-organised trip to Japan. Happy to pay the £8136 for the trip, but if we had organised it ourselves, would it have been £6K, £8K, £10K??
Review submitted: 27th Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Peter,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am really glad you had a good time and that the booklet we provided was helpful! We have also taken on your other points and hope we can use them to further improve service in the future!

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009