contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 463 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2482
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Colin Hampton - Independent Travel, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything went according to plan, absolutely no problems whatsoever.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I don't think anything could have been done to improve our trip
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Harvey Bell - Classic Japan, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I enjoyed greatly visiting Japan and using Inside Japan Tours.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Knowledgeable, helpful, approachable, professional.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Satisfied Customer Rating
I didn't ask many questions so can't really comment.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Bridget Stevenson - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Lots of clear information with many details in both English and Japanese to help with easy transfers.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Dealt with any queries and alterations quickly and efficiently.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Some rooms we had luxury rooms as opposed to standard rooms, but that was my fault for not checking the details more closely and questioning it at the time.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent. Good variety to catch the most of the scenery and the experiences. Easy to manage with all the tickets and bookings or relevant information provided.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The Kyoto guide was absolutely fantastic, explained so much about the culture and encouraged us to ask questions. The Tokyo one not quite so good, but did show us the ritual for cleansing when visiting a shrine. The meal out in Tokyo was fun, another excellent experience.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
We struggled with the food in the ryokans, so many courses and mostly dishes we were not used to. The first one also brought the food too fast and we felt swamped. My shellfish allergy was well accommodated for.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Well organised, plenty of useful information, took the stress out of travelling with all the arrangements having been made for us.
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Johnnie Herring - Independent Travel, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Mat was helpful with making sure to accommodate for our travel needs.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The directions in how to use the cards and pass were excellent.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guide in Kyoto was great.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back from Japan! Thanks for filling in our feedback request. I am delighted to learn that you had an excellent time. We are always working to improve our maps and Info-Pack documents so will do our best to provide more detailed views of streets. (Mat).

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Daniel Maguire - Golden Route, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything about our trip was excellent. From the transportation to the lodging, we really enjoyed ourselves and that is a testament to the work Mat and Inside Japan Tours did for us. IJT was incredibly responsive and handled all of my questions pre-trip and gave me a lot of confidence in traveling for the first time to Japan. Great trip and a great company.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mat spent a lot of time answering my questions and providing guidance and advice. Very much appreciated and someone I will definitely refer people to in the future.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All of our accommodations were as good or better than expected. The service levels in Japan are high and it was enjoyable to stay in all of our hotels/inns.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The private car service upon arrival was very nice. Figuring out the train systems after a long flight would have been daunting. Once we had a day in Tokyo with our guide, the train systems became much easier to navigate.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both of our guides (Tokyo and Kyoto) provided exactly what we wanted, which was a low key but full day of touring each city. Both spoke good english which was helpful in a few shopping spots and at restaurants.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Figuring out the cell phone thing was a bit of a learning curve. It is probably difficult given all the different carriers and equipment, but any additional advice you guys could provide would be helpful to future travelers.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Mat made this trip much easier for us and gave us a lot of confidence in traveling to a very foreign country. Throughout our self-guided trip, it was great to have suggested places to visit, train schedules, and plenty of other details to support us, but at the same time, we could do whatever we wanted. IJT provided us with a perfect amount of details and support and the advance reservations and transportation went off without a hitch. I can't imagine trying to plan a trip and getting it "right" without the help of IJT.
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Dan! I hope all is well. Thanks so much for providing us with this feedback. I am really happy to hear that your trip was such a success. I know you booked a long way in advance and were very much looking forward to it. Having that private car service at the start is indeed a very relaxed and comfortable way to begin! (Mat).
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Veale - Independent Travel, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had a fantastic holiday. The service provided was outstanding. It took away the stress of having to organise everything ourselves.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Pepijn was very helpful and accommodating especially when our flight was cancelled at the last minute and he had to arrange extra nights' accommodation, train tickets and transfer services.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
All the accommodation was excellent.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport in Japan is outstanding and the information provided in the tour info pack on how to get to the next destination was brilliant! That little book was like my bible!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had a lovely tour guide in Kyoto by the name of Kazuko. She was very friendly and informative and she took us everywhere that we wanted to see in a day.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We loved all the food and found the meals that were included were 5 star. They were a gastronomic feast!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Alicia Wright - Japan Unmasked, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I received excellent service from Inside Japan throughout my whole experience.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Being my second tour with Inside Japan Alain was my second Japanese tour guide. Alain, did a fantastic job showing our group around the sights in Japan. His local knowledge and drive to find unique and authentic places, attractions and restaurants really made a fantastic impression on me and made my experience unforgettable. Having a guide who lives in Japan was a fantastic advantage as the amount of knowledge that Alain has about Japan is priceless.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I had excellent service from my travel consultant.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The combination of shared traditional stays and hotel rooms was a good experience.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport from place to place felt effortless, Japan has a fantastic public transport system and taxis are cheap and very efficient!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Every meal that I had I thoroughly enjoyed. I love traditional Japanese Cuisine and I found myself often choosing to have traditional meals as much as I could over western meals! One more thing which was fantastic was the abundance of Bread Shops, they're cheap and delicious and I found myself spoilt for choice in everyone one.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Japan is an enchanting country and I've been studying the Language and Culture for many years now. I decided to do a tour rather than a solo adventure as I was keen to meet people from around the world and to have joint memories with new friends. As a returning tourist to Japan [I previously spent time in Japan in 2012] I still found myself learning and experiencing new things. Every city and attraction that we visited I had wonderful experiences to which I will never forget. Our tour guide Alain was wonderful as he was very informative, patient and entertaining with his fun-loving personality.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I have only had positive experiences with InsideJapan Tours and I have found that I really enjoy the small group tours.
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Robin Rapoport - Japan Unmasked, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was excellent. Everything that was promised was delivered and more. This is the best tour I have ever taken
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was fantastic, really enjoyable to be on the tour with him.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I liked using the trains and local buses in the city,
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I liked the flexibility and the recommendations that Alain made
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I fell in love with Japan, which totally surprised me, as I knew so little about Japan other than preconceived notions.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No
No, next time on my own.
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Robin,

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Japan and the Japan Unmasked tour. I'm also very happy to hear you fell in love with Japan and might vist again someday!

Happy future travels!

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Rudolph Thompson - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Loved the personalised brochure sent Loved the fact that we were contacted to advise us of the Typhoon. Loved that we were contacted to see how we were settling in with the trip. Appreciated being refunded for the extra night booked that we did not use.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
only to try a different company
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gail Fischberg - Independent Travel, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
all 4 of us agree the best part of the trip was that we allowed John McMillen and Inside Japan Tours to format the trip. Initially we could not imagine how we would navigate transportation within Tokyo and within Japan. Our fears were unfounded because John had done such a thorough job outlining each step. We had the right amount of time at each location, we saw a variety of things within Japan, we had wonderful guides, and our hotels were great. John arranged certain experiences for us such as going to a baseball game, calligraphy lesson, taikko ,drum lesson, and paper making and these added to our fun. Sharing these experiences with friends in the US has also been amazing, especially as people cannot understand how John managed to arrange the classes.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
John McM was fantastic; not only did he hear what we were saying about our interests before booking the trip, but he had alerted each guide to our needs and desires. Fantastic- incredible communication within IJT
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Our favorite accommodations were Conrad Hilton in Tokyo, and the Iroha in Miyajima - these were standout hotels, even amongst the excellent hotels in Kanazawa and Kyoto and Fudoin temple stay in Mt Koya. We would not return to Century Southern Towers in Tokyo. The breakfast was good and the front desk was helpful, but the rooms were minuscule, and we had trouble with a/c and hot water during the night. Given the perspective of our entire trip we would skip Tanabe Ryokan in Takayama
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The ease with which we navigated Japan was completely due to John and our detailed itinerary. Transportation was fantastic. Our first day in Tokyo Masa Hattori took us to the station in Tokyo and helped us redeem our vouchers for Japan Rail Tickets, and we made our first reservations for leaving Tokyo. He also showed us how to navigate the subway system , so we were able to travel Tokyo without hesitation. We loved having the van from Takayama to Kanazawa, especially as it gave us the freedom to see Shirakawago and neighboring UNESCA sites. The van driver went above and beyond his duty, He made sure to drive us to the overlook at Shirakawago before parking and letting us wander, He ran to get us english maps of the areas, despite the rain. The van was immaculate and comfortable and he was a great driver. In Kyoto we so enjoyed our driver/guide Nagatasan that we asked for another day with him. Despite the time difference, and weekends, our request was processed and we were lucky to have Nagatasan for a 2nd day in Kyoto. We relied on him to determine the sights, and he did a fantastic job.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Having a guide in each city was a pleasure. Every guide was punctual, fluent in English and knowledgeable. We had several standout guides, in Tokyo, Kanazawa, Nara, Kyoto, and Mt Koya. Our guide in Takayama was okay, and unfortunately we cannot recommend our Osaka guide. Our trip ended on a very high note, thanks to our last dinner in Tokyo being with Steve Parker . He was an incredible host.You could not ask for a better ambassador to your brand - knowledgeable, personable, we had a wonderful meal and laughed a lot and learned a lot. We could not foresee the impact he had on our memories of our trip - just fabulous, thank you.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We had so many great experiences I was afraid I would forget them so I kept John McMillen informed throughout our trip. We are truly grateful to John for a trip of a lifetime, and we hope he can arrange another trip for us in the future.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Given the opportunity we would love to see a different part of Japan, at a different time of year. Realistically we will probable choose to visit a different country, but we will keep in mind your sister agency and we are hoping our Australia request is considered as we plan to visit in a couple of years (to celebrate the end of graduate school ).
Review submitted: 01st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009