contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 508 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2541
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Jonathan Wilkes - Japan Unmasked, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
It was a fantastic trip with many memorable experiences unfortunately it seemed to loose its way in the last three to four days.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
On the whole Mark was a good leader and organised things well. He went above and beyond on the bike ride when he had to carry a broken bike. Only criticism he needs to be a bit more assertive when things arent going well eg when service and food was poor in restaurants.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
All information and booklets received in good time and very informative.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Brilliant
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The majority of meals were excellent.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
See comments above about integration.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would probably be more confident to organise my own trip or go tailor made.
Review submitted: 25th Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ronan Kavanagh - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Very friendly and helpful.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We especially enjoyed the ryokan accommodation provided
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Entirely suitable
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Very good in Tokyo, excellent in Kyoto.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Food included in ryokans was excellent, especially in Miyajima.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We found the tour experience excellent in enabling us to make the best use of our limited time
Review submitted: 25th Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sheila Ellison - Historic Mountain Trails, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
service superior to other trekking companies I have travelled with
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Steve was extremely well organised,while giving us as much freedom as possible and also able to make the trip fun. I thought he managed the different personalities in the group very well. I also appreciate his care in organising alternative accommodation for me when I had trouble with the altitude
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Alison was always friendly and happy to deal with all my queries
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
very much enjoyed the variety
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
loved the trains and appreciated always having a window seat, also the air conditioned and comfortable coaches were welcome in the unaccustomed high temperatures
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
loved the opportunity to try the wide variety of Japanese food....
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
enjoyed the included meals as I am unfamiliar with Japanese food and would otherwise have missed much....though still cant like green tea or raw fish!! would have liked English tea bags in all the western hotels bedrooms
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The great number of and wide variety of experiences in such a short time.
Review submitted: 25th Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ricky Buckland - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was great from the group, an easy to talk to team made that better. Everything was easy to find before i made the plans. Having everything sorted out for us while at the same time having lots of freedom was exactly what we needed.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Where to begin!!! Ali was amazing reassuring and helpful before the trip, always willing to answer any questions and met our needs perfectly when Im sure we were quite the annoying customer by changing the plans so many times. She made great suggestions and recommendations that made for an exciting trip and with the itinerary booklet that was made for us, we felt in safe hands every step of the way. Even while we were there we still had questions that were answered right away and really reassured my friend. You can tell someone was great at what they have done for you when you think you havent written enough for them. Cant thank Ali enough
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Each hotel had its good and bad points - i think the Toyoko Inn hotels with their 4pm check in on the day we landed so early in the morning was a killer (all we wanted to do was lay down after such a long journey) Service wise though, they couldnt be faulted. The Osaka hotel was having building work done and so there was banging and drilling but this couldnt have been predicted by the group so i dont hold that over anyone. Each hotel was just where they needed to be too
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The flights were okay standard and expected. The shuttle bus from Narita was great, already wowing us with things like wifi onboard and just like it said in the booklet a friendly driver who was on time. The rail pass was perfect, we didnt utilise it as much as we should have but it was very useful, but the real perfect item was the IC cards - we were happy to put more money onto them as we ha used them so much once we were happy that we knew what we were doing. (we got a taxi from our hotel in Ikebukuro to Akihabara because we were scared of the trains but seeing the price of that we jumped in and it was so easy.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
N/A
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We had included breakfasts at each hotel and 3 of the 4 were excellent. The one that we found was not as good was the hotel we deemed the fanciest on our trip which was kyoto. We had Japanese style breakfast at every hotel and when we had it there, it was a set dish - a tray of assorted items that were brought to you. we had no forwarning what it was either, so couldnt decide to back out of it, while the other hotels all were buffet style, allowing you to pick what you fancied. We did no enjoy that kyoto breakfast and the next day we opted to get the western one. Another story is how we found Osaka - we were very on th fence about it the hotel was beautiful, but there was work being done. The hotel had lots of services, but our room type was tiny (we were aware it was small, but didnt expect it to be that small) The theatre production we went to see was amazing with friend people all around, but back around our hotel people seemed ruder than anywhere we had been. The place was beautiful lit up in the night, but again people were rude - a car actually backed into me while we were on the crossing with the green man. Umeda station also was one of my most stressful moments due to signs that just dissappear when you are trying to find a line. (no so much anything to help with, but stories that thought were sharable)
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I would consider going alone so having that fall back of someone there to turn to is reassuring. Also because of how this trip went with someone helping to organise it
Review submitted: 23rd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Paul Kennedy - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Very good service. Advisors were efficient and accommodating and we were pleased that we were contacted during our trip to check that all was going well, allowing us to discuss and sort out any minor concerns that we had. Their thorough planning made the whole trip a positive and enlightening experience.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Our decision to go to Japan was made rather last minute, but because our travel consultant had a wide knowledge and a great deal of personal experience of Japan and took the time to find out about our interests, he was able to put together the ideal bespoke self-guided tour for us fairly quickly. The detailed written guide and the other booklets provided, allowed our trip to run extremely smoothly,making for a relatively stress-free and thoughly enjoyable holiday.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Ryokans were beautiful, especially the one in Matsue.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent taxi service to and from the airport.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent. Very friendly, accommodating and generous with their time. They certainly packed as much as possible into the day, allowing us to visit the most worthwhile sights. We also had the most enjoyable time with our Hida Satoyama bike tour guide Hiro whilst staying in Takayama. He was a very friendly, amusing and enthusiastic character and we had a very enjoyable time.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Some Japanese food is quite alien to the western pallet and where food was provided in the ryokans it would have been nice to know exactly what we were eating. Unfortunately, due to the language barrier, they were unable to tell us what things were (animal, vegetable or mineral!!). There is also a lot of hidden sugar in the food which makes it hard for an insulin dependent (type 1) diabetic to control their blood sugar levels. The Japanese dont seem to have any concept of a diabetics diet. Perhaps there are very few diabetics in Japan, certainly not many type 2 sufferers as they dont yet seem to suffer with an obesity problem (unless they start eating too much American fast food)!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The thorough planning and all the information provided made our holiday run smoothly, allowing us to relax and enjoy this amazing country and have a wonderful and unforgettable experience.
Review submitted: 23rd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Paul Kennedy - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Very good service. Advisors were efficient and accommodating and we were pleased that we were contacted during our trip to check that all was going well, allowing us to discuss and sort out any minor concerns that we had. Their thorough planning made the whole trip a positive and enlightening experience.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Our decision to go to Japan was made rather last minute, but because our travel consultant had a wide knowledge and a great deal of personal experience of Japan and took the time to find out about our interests, he was able to put together the ideal bespoke self-guided tour for us fairly quickly. The detailed written guide and the other booklets provided, allowed our trip to run extremely smoothly,making for a relatively stress-free and thoughly enjoyable holiday.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Ryokans were beautiful, especially the one in Matsue.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent taxi service to and from the airport.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent. Very friendly, accommodating and generous with their time. They certainly packed as much as possible into the day, allowing us to visit the most worthwhile sights. We also had the most enjoyable time with our bike tour guide Hiro whilst staying in Matsumoto. He was a very friendly, amusing and enthusiastic character and we had a very enjoyable time.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Some Japanese food is quite alien to the western pallet and where food was provided in the ryokans it would have been nice to know exactly what we were eating. Unfortunately, due to the language barrier, they were unable to tell us what things were (animal, vegetable or mineral!!). There is also a lot of hidden sugar in the food which makes it hard for an insulin dependent (type 1) diabetic to control their blood sugar levels. The Japanese dont seem to have any concept of a diabetics diet. Perhaps there are very few diabetics in Japan, certainly not many type 2 sufferers as they dont yet seem to suffer with an obesity problem (unless they start eating too much American fast food)!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The thorough planning and all the information provided made our holiday run smoothly, allowing us to relax and enjoy this amazing country and have a wonderful and unforgettable experience.
Review submitted: 23rd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Candice Thomas - Classic Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
This was my first visit to Japan and this was a perfect way to experience this country. I always felt safe (even when we were caught in a typhoon) and I had a few amazing experiences. I also liked that many times on the tour, I could venture off by myself. I definitely plan on going back to Japan and feel confident enough that I could do it on my own now. The advantage of a tour like this was being able to experience many different cities and getting more clarity around what I really liked without having to stress about where to stay or how to get there.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William-Kayne Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Its challenging to lead a group of people but I thought William did a good job and was patient and helpful. Plus he grew up and lives in Japan so he was very knowledgable about a lot of things. Like night walks
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
I loved the Ryokan Tanabe, that was a big highlight of my experience
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was very practical and I got the hang of it pretty quick
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I dont usually eat fish and I had never had sushi before but on this trip I tried and ate everything--I actually liked most of it, I did fine using chopsticks. The savory pancakes were my favorite.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
The tour was great because there was such a diverse mix of activities and locations. I enjoyed the meals at dinner very much--you couldnt tell how something tasted by looking at it, which was part of the fun. It blows my mind that on one vacation I met a Maiko and played (and lost) to her in a drinking game, I got to hike in the mountains, I visited beautiful temples and shrines, and I got to shoot zombies at Universal Studios Japan. Awesome! We also got stuck on a train for 8 hours in the middle of a typhoon--the train had working toilets and power which was good--at the time that part of the trip wasnt fun but I felt safe the whole time. I also really enjoyed the public hot spring baths--it was very peaceful and relaxing.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I liked the tour and feel confident enough to tour Japan on my own, I wouldnt want to go to the same places again on a group tour unless it was going someplace very different in Japan that I havent been to.
Review submitted: 22nd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Candice! Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback. It sounds like you enjoyed a wonderful set of experiences and have memories to cherish forever! Classic Japan is indeed a wonderfully varied tour, as I think you have captured in the summary of your highlights. We do design these Small Groups so that they have a degree of flexibility so you can indeed do as you did and explore a little on your own.

Thanks also for your comments about the documents. We are working on ways to make them more accessible on tablets. (Mat for Halley).
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Joanna Mckendrick - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent. Very thorough. Independent travel made easy. We have a great time.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Great suggestions and knowledgeable.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 22nd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Joanna Mckendrick - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent. Very thorough. Independent travel made easy. We have a great time.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Great suggestions and knowledgeable.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 22nd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gary Ames - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Nathaniel Saitos help in booking and arranging the tours and the entire trip is the reason for the 5 star rating we gave Inside Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Nathaniel Saito went above and beyond to provide 5 star service to us and we are extremely satisfied.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Hotel rooms in Japan are very small and we expected that. We were pleased to have such a large room in Kyoto compared to our experience in Tokyo which was to small.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The driver upon arrivel was very professional and met us at the airport on time. The bullet train from Tokyo to Kyoto was a nice experience and the driver was on time for our return trip back to the airport.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All of our guides were very knowledgeable, personable and accomodating.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Japan is a beautiful country and there is so much we didnt see on a 5 day stay.
Review submitted: 21st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009