contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 509 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2551
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Joel Isaacs - Tokaido Trail, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
It was a wonderful time with wonderful people in a wonderful place.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David went above and beyond to ensure that all members of the tour group would receive their version of what the best Japan trip would be.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I felt like I didnt need to worry about the planning because it was all done for me.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Pamela Crawford - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
all went very smoothly
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
replied promptly and was knowledgable and sent us necessary information
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
one ryokan was a walk out of town and more like a hostel but owner very helpful and took us to station in the rain (Takayama)
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
all worked very smoothly was sent differing information about bus transfer from tsumago to train from japan office however I checked times locally and went with simplest option we travelled with cabin sized luggage and there was always rppm on trains and on all but Magome and Tsumago buses the luggage was put in the hold
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
very goof
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
the detailed information about travel, accommodation and how to get there is invaluable. I have used the company previously
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Whitney Sisson - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had a wonderful time in Japan. The information provided to us was very helpful. The guides took us to good places to eat.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
very nice and helpful. Answered all questions and made all changes as requested. Contributed good ideas
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
our hotels were delightful.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
transportation was as expected
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
guides were fine
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I would not have been able to navigate Japan without the information provided
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Brigid Shaughnessy - Hidden Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Helpful and willing to discuss and communicate.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was first class in terms of organisation, well briefed and good at people management also very grounded.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Spoke to karen several times and she was always willing to clarify and provide information
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Well managed mix of transport. Good deployment of bus.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The meals included in the trip were generous and well thought out.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The trip went smoothly, there was a good structure and rhythm to it. Well organised and no real glitches. About 10 more free time would have been welcome. It was a fairly intense, busy schedule with not much space to reflect on the experience at the time.
Review submitted: 02nd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephen Overs - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
well organised
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ali was friendly professional and efficient
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Select Inn Aomori was a bit of a dive but we managed to have a laugh anyway. Glad this was booked for only one night
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Good
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guides good especially Doi-San, driver on tour of Arashiyama 16th July was GREAT and was more knowledgeable than the guide !
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Robot restaurant show in Tokyo was a hoot, our only concerns were the dubious customers ! Kids loved Ninja Akasaka.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Professional and knowledgeable staff
Review submitted: 02nd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jennifer Clarke - Best of Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent communication, very well organised, easy to follow and understand instructions and guide, knowledgeable staff, excellent information sent to us before our trip with everything we needed to know
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very knowledgeable, easy to talk to, good understanding of our needs, excellent all round and an asset to your staff
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 02nd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Valerie Hamilton - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We loved every minute we spent in Japan! The people, the food, the countryside, the cities, the trains & all the experiences & adventures we had made us sad to come home but vowing to return.Despite our apprehension about travelling in a country where we really could NOT speak the language we had an astoundingly easy time. This was largely due to the terrific information packs from Inside Japan & all the fantastic travel arrangements that were in place when we arrived. We simply followed the book & Japan unfolded before us with ease and tremendous charm.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I spoke to Ali a couple of times on the phone outlining the kind of experience we wanted to have in Japan. We had looked through the brochure & wanted a trip that was a combination of 2 of the suggested tours. Ali clearly listened very carefully to what we wanted as she managed to put together an itinerary that not only met our expectations but exceeded them!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
the range of different hotels was great. The experiences we had in the 3 different Ryokans we stayed in were amazing( in particular the food in Miyajima)
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All our transport arrangements were perfect.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had guides on 3 separate occasions. 2 of which were very good and one ( Gion district in Kyoto) who was exceptional. The kimono experience & tea ceremony in Kyoto was another fun & informative morning.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We found the food to be quite an experience sometimes wonderful and on occasion quite challenging! despite being presented with some quite difficult options in the traditional Japanese hotels it was always an enjoyable experience. We found it difficult to always know what we were being served & it would have been useful to have had an itemised list every time ( as we received in Hakone)also it would have been nice to have had an option for European breakfast in all the ryokans.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We couldnt fault the experience in any way . We felt we had an exceptional holiday.
Review submitted: 01st Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Mark Preston - Japan Unmasked, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We have travelled on small group tours before and the attention to detail and customer service was far superior to other companies.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William-Kayne Mukai - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
William was willing to go the extra mile to ensure that everyone within the group, all with diverse requirements, all had the best time possible.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Richard provided excellent service right from the point of booking. We were especially pleased with an add-on suggested by him to go to Hakone during 2 spare days we had after the tour had finished.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Very diverse accommodation enabled us to enjoy new experiences
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was generally through the Japanese public transport system which is excellent
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The included food was very good. As a group we cancelled a couple of the Japanese breakfasts as they are very intricate and we didn´t want to waste the food. But there are always options
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Because of your customer service and attention to detail and local knowledge.
Review submitted: 31st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jacqueline Mitchell - Historic Mountain Trails, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
It was extremely well organised from the moment in China (where I was living) that I lifted the phone to Karen Tomney to the detailed itinerary I received from her and the detailed daily itinerary from Steve Parker. The hotels, the Riokans, the onsens, the food and the varied daily sights were wonderful.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Steve was immediately friendly and so helpful with advise especially as I was carrying extra luggage from having left China after 18 months (which I had warned Karen about). He was extremely naughty when he took my ruck to carry it down the last hour of Mt Fuji when my knee had given way. UNfortunately it did not make me any quicker but it was extremely kind of him. At all times he made us feel we were in the hands of a professional, taking care and giving attention to all our foibles!!!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was immediately aware of my situation and problems in China with internet etc. She understood my initial wishes to go on a bike tour but due to Japanese climate pointed me towards a walking / climbing holiday. I had not considered this but was looking at other tour operators. Her quick response to my questions on email along with putting me immediately in touch with another operator, when she was away, made me confident of your companys ability to be a good tour operator in the field!!
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Having mostly cycle-toured with other companies, accomodation with you was luxurious!!The welcome onsen at the end of a hard days walk and the picture setting of all our food in Japan was wonderful. Even the mountain huts were excellent.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Hopping on and off public transport with a few taxis in between made us much more aware of Japanese culture. I was however aware that it may have curtailed some of our visits as we had to catch the next bus or train. However I felt it was all well balanced.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The food was incredible from its picture presentation to its different tastes and aromas.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I was amazed at the comfortableness of the Mountain huts in Hotake Dake and Mt Fuji. Climbing up Mt Fuji beside a chanting group of Buddhists who blew their conches at the Tori Gates was an added atmospheric condition!!
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You gave me confidence about the reliability of your tour company from Karen to Steve to arriving home. The booklets and information given were invaluable especially on my add on.
Review submitted: 31st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Jackie,

Many thanks for your detailed and positive feedback! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the trip and your experience with InsideJapan. We hope we can send you back again soon!

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Chris Burton - Classic Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
An excellent tour which had a good balance between city and countryside. The activities were well planned and there were plenty of opportunities to explore on our own if desired.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William led the group with knowledge, good humour and boundless energy. Balancing the differing needs of a group of people isnt easy and William was sensitive and inclusive. He was patient and full of great ideas for enhancing our trip to Japan. When we took an optional trip to Hiroshima he went out of his way to make sure that we were happy with the arrangements. A first class tour leader who has left us with a desire to return to Japan to continue our explorations. We can not thank him enough.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Dealt with everything in a very efficient way. Everything was as discussed and communication was excellent.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
A good balance of modern and traditional. The ryokan in Takayama was superb.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The Japanese rail service was excellent. Trains were generally on time, were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Being stuck on a train for over 6 hours in a Typhoon was an experience. Tokyo metro was very good and the prepay cards made the whole thing much easier.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
William ensured that we had a variety of different Japanese meals. We didnt always know what we were eating but it more often than not it tasted delicious. We visited some great restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed them all.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 28th Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009