contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 549 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2713
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Megan Muoio - Independent Travel, Nov 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Wonderful personalized trip and information. I had a very secure trip traveling alone abroad for the first time knowing that all of the details had been handled by Mat.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mat was very helpful in deciding the itinerary, suggesting places to stay and keeping me updated throughout the planning process. He was always available to answer questions.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Stays in the ryokans in Hakone and Miyajima and the temple in Koyasan were especially wonderful. The dinners provided at each were delicious and very special. Hotels in Tokyo and Kyoto were lovely with very good breakfasts provided. Benesse House in Naoshima was exquisite and well worth the splurge.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Ground transportation to and from the airport was seamless. All other transportation was by train and was very easy to navigate.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Individual tour guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were terrific! Both knew such great historical and cultural detail and planned a wonderful day in each city.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Everything was a positive! The ryokan in Miyajima (Mizuhaus) was especially great. I ended up staying there because the first choice of my accommodation was already booked but I think Mizuhaus should be the first choice for your customers in the future. The chef there should be famous - the food was wonderful. I had such a great trip and I miss Japan (the food, the people, the culture) terribly. I will be back!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
It was very easy to travel to Japan knowing that all of the details of my accommodation and transportation were taken care of and that I had the IJT office to contact if there were any issues. IJT made my independent travel very comfortable.
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Peter Bowey - Hidden Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Service from Pepijn was fine. Service from William was average. He told us we would be going to a restaurant on our final night and we would walk, Then he told us it would be by taxi, when we were on the footpath to go he said we would be going by bus. Many of us didnt have the right money and protested, so he said he would pay. Not a good way to end the trip.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - A Little Disappointed Customer Rating
Too quick to text friends, not enough time spent looking after us. He was about to drive off leaving 2 of us with no transport. We had to insist he got another taxi, then he left without telling us what he had done. It was very alarming for us.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Dawn Cooper - Golden Route, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
From the initial enquiry to the arrive early - youll get great photos of the bullet train hurtling through the station at Odawara and make sure you sit on the left side of the train on the trip back to Tokyo to see Mt Fuji advice the service was faultless and nothing was too much trouble. We travelled independently to what could have been a daunting destination but, with everything pre-planned so perfectly by Inside Japan Tours, it was like having our own invisible tour guide with us at all times making us feel more like travellers than tourists. A wonderful trip. Well done Matthew and thank you.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matthew and his colleagues were great. Nothing was too much trouble and our trip went without a hitch.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Rooms were larger than expected and in very good locations.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
How could you fault Japanese travel systems.....
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
n/a
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Seeing the northern lights from the plane was a bonus. The food - hmmm - varied, unusual and interesting but some things Im still trying to forget! Great sushi at the fish market. Have to confess that we did resort to Macdonalds once.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Absolutely would use your company again. Always travelled with Kuoni before but I much prefer the aided independent travel model.
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Doug Houston - Hidden Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We were extremely pleased.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William Mukai was a great leader for the group, reading us well and makingdaily activities relevant to everyones interests. He was solicitous of everyones thoughts and concerned about everyones welfare. Knowledgable, pleasant and effortlessly courteous. Good communicator. Always on point with advice and assistance. Good sense of humor! We liked him a lot.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Advice was on point and accurate. Questions were answered in a straightforward and helpful manner. No surprises!
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Frances Flaxington - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Chose you because of your focus on Japan. very satisfied with the service you provided.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Marks knowledge of Japan was very helpful. He planned a varied itinerary that took account of all of our requests and adding ideas of his own.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Loved the mix of accommodation. Mume in Kyoto a highlight
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Again enjoyed the mix -travelling by train and tube and driving was easier with the sat nav than expected
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guide in Tokyo was nervous and her English was not very good. Kyoto guide was great!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Loved the BBQ at table meals. Food in Ryokan was an experience - looked so lovely ( even though we did not like everything - raw horse meat!) The bean pillow in the Ryokan was a surprise -but futons comfortable
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Very good service
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ashwini Chaggar - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
we couldnt have asked for better
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Jocelyn was very helpful and responded to my enquiries promptly
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Anne Nicholas - Best of Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything went very well. I had been worried about travelling in Japan but the information both in our booklet and on the trains was excellent
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ali was patient and helpful, I had plenty of questions! I felt she knew the country very well
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
There was a good combination of western style hotels and more tradtional Japanese
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The bullet train was excellent and the booked taxis were very efficient
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our Tokyo guide was very good in her selection of sites that suited our preferences well. The Kyoto guide was less sensitive to our request for the less frequented sites. However both guides really enhanced our experience and were very knowledgeable
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The Japanese meals came as quite a surprise to us, especially in the hotels where course after course arrived in sequence or simultaneously. Either way it was a challenge to know exactly what to do. We learnt, sort of. The Japanese breakfast remained difficult to embrace!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Good inside knowledge of the country and choice of accommodation. Arrangements on the ground worked perfectly
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ian Solley - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
excellent personal service with bespoke advice for our disabled daughter who wanted a manga and anmime experience
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire was extremely responsive even changing our hotel destination mid-trip
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
all except the one night in Hakone the hotel was a dump, in really poor condition
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
all transport was perfect
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
the guides were great, we only used them for about 60-70 of the time allocated and maybe it was optimistic thinking a full day would be needed
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
no
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
i travel extensively on my own (and with my wife) we used Inside Japan as we were taking our disabled daughter and wanted support and also Japan is very different from say the USA. If I went again I would feel confident in planing my own trip.
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kevin Jacobs - Best of Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The printed guides provided great detail and suggestions for things to do in each area and it was useful to have them separated by destination so we didnt have to carry around a lot of paper we didnt need. The train schedules (in english and Japanese) were very useful for planning and making reservations on the shinkansen and saved us a lot of time.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Emily Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Emily was professional, prompt, courteous, accurate and reassuring. We appreciated her call on our arrival at our first hotel.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Apart from the Hakone Ryokan, which, as you noted, needs some freshening, all accomodations were superb. The service at all accomodations, including the hostesses at each Ryokan, was special.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The Swiss have nothing on the Japanese with respect to transportation cleanliness and efficiency. All modes of transport were superb and it was a great treat to travel by shinkansen.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Each of our guides seem to go out of their way to be helpful and all were cheerful and spoke at least adequate english. Those who provided full-day service in Tokyo and Kyoto were open to tailoring the day to our interests, and tried to reach as many destinations as efficiently as possible. We were quite late meeting one of our guides, but she was still there waiting for us--a welcome and much appreciated surprise.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was a terrific cultural experience and a highlight of the trip. Cod roe for breakfast? You bet! I was a bit surprised by the quantity of small kaiseki dishes and how full I felt at the end or our first ryokan meal, but what a treat! And our hostess tried her best to show us how to eat the dishes placed before us. None of the breakfasts or dinners that were included in our package were disappointing in any way.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I decided to use InsideJapan Tours due to personal time constraints and trepidation about the language barrier. After travel to Japan, I feel that I am able to organize a trip on my own, given sufficient time. We also have a Japanese native friend that was also a great deal of help and comfort during our trip and would be willing to help us on future travels to his country.
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Pamela Gatland - Traditional Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
excellent service, somebody always on the end of a phone for any queries
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 25th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009