contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 449 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2312
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Natalie Wooding - Spring Elegance, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Really appreciated all the assistance with the planning from the start right up until the end.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
This was apparently their first time leading the "Spring Elegance" tour. They were very good at organizing tickets and making sure hotel relocation went smoothly for everybody. I really liked their recommendations with the eating establishments.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Extremely helpful. They checked with other staff when they could not answer specific questions. I always felt like they were going the extra mile to provide a service.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The trains were easier to understand than I expected they would be and were all very pleasant journeys. All of the trains we caught had English (Romaji) lettering on the displays. Very straightforward.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Enjoyed all of the group meals. Food and atmosphere was great.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The Dormy Inn Premium at Shibuya Jingumae was booked for me as part of a tour extension. It has a mainly-communal breakfast seating arrangement around a large table in the lobby so it is probably not for those who prefer a bit of privacy or their own table when eating in the morning. Fantastic rooms, though! This was probably my favourite hotel I stayed at due to its brilliant location right in the middle of Shibuya Station and Harajuku Station (10 minutes walk each way) and the colour scheme, layout, and size of the room was great. The staff were lovely at the Annex Turtle Hotori-An in Nikko and couldn't do enough to help with sightseeing information. I had a knock on my door one night from a member of staff I had been chatting to for a couple of hours who wanted to drop by to give me two hand-made origami gifts and novelty erasers to thank me for my stay with them, as well as to tell me to keep up my interest in learning Japanese. I thought this was really nice and unexpected. The breakfasts here were fabulous and consisted of a boiled egg, really tasty and nicely presented fruit, and warm and crispy soft bread slices. It was a shame to see the other guests getting up and leaving the room without thanking the cooks for the nicely prepared food, which I made sure to do (in Japanese). Making an effort to show thanks or give praise is really appreciated in Japan. :)
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Quality of service. Organisation. Planning. Helpfulness. Enthusiasm for the destination.
Review submitted: 23rd Apr 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Elaine Barcz - Secrets of Shikoku, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
smoothly organised and one request for support quickly dealt with
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ben was enthusiastic and knew the product quite well
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Oboke, towel needed. Kochi, wonderful food. Ekawasaki, fabulous old-style new build ryokan, extremely helpful land lady and excitingly modern ofuro, but rather surreal/theatrical to be sitting and eating round the exciting irori fire looking through to the family living space! We had said we didn't want to cycle or kayak and would say the it might not be the best spot from which to do those activities because of dependence on owner's transport. We were very happy with the wide range of accommodation experienced.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
From the information we had received, we expected the wide range of transport and enjoyed it, particularly some of the highly decorated local trains. We also had a chance to chat to people in that context. The service in organising and supplying tickets was great!!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Lovely Ayako san was great, and was happy to make suggestions and also listen to ours. Morning coffee and lunch were in places we would never have found, and she made sure we had a good evening meal in a place she booked for us. Very pleasant company, and she bought and gave me a bottle of Tamari (no wheat) soy sauce too!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
I spooked the attendant in Kyoto by asking to sort out the baggage paper work the night before! Someone else explained that as it's done on measurement it's best left till morning. We had no problem and leapfrogged the cases quite happily (much better than carrying them with hand baggage). Shigeko san in Ekawasaki was more accustomed to having Japanese visitors who arrived by car, but is now in possession of the correct labels and phone number for the post office, who were very speedy andmarginally cheaper than the other companies! We enjoyed all meals, and my coeliac gluten avoidance was well met. In the Tatsue temple the pilgrims were quite curious (and very friendly) and were wondering how uncomfortable we might be with the seating arrangements (and chopsticks) then told us they were pleasantly surprised. I can recommend the communal ofuro experience somewhere like that. The ladies were very communicative and delighted to share their pilgrimage time with someone from so far away. Naoshima: I appreciate that this is being promoted as a sort of tourism initiative. Much of the interesting architecture is available only to the hotel clients, and we felt we had experienced the day out of duty. I had studied Ando, etc (and am familiar with the work of Richard Long for example) and was quite intrigued before we went, but was just grateful we had a day with good weather. Yukata! My husband was on a mission to buy some cotton yukata for sleeping, which we use as dressing gowns, but it was a little early in the year. Fortunately Matsuyama and Kochi were warmer, and shop assistants very helpful, but nonplussed that we should be after something so old fashioned. ("This lilac polyester is so much nicer'!) My limited and rusty Japanese was sore pressed but the quest was eventually successful. It took a while to persuade them of my son-in-law's height, and my husband twitched a little when they eyed him up and said he needed a larger measurement around the waist!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The range of experiences and accommodation were just what we wanted, and the organisation of the trip was excellent.
Review submitted: 23rd Apr 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Linaka Greensword - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
everything was organised and the little A5 book was a really convinient and important thing that went with us everywhere.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ali is very good and came up with some really good ideas that were well worth it.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Average
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The best western style was Richmond Asakusa, the best traditional style was Ichinoyu Ryokan. The poorest was Dotonbori Namba for western style and Yamakyu for traditional style.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Shinkansen was good but difficult to get seats for on some lines, even days in advance.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides were professional. Kyoto guide was better than Tokyo guide
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I enjoyed the food alot especially the meals at Ichinoyu Ryokan. The red snapper dish was delicious. Though we noticed after Asakusa that the food at the hotels gradually became lower quality. The food at Hotel Citadines in Kyoto was hardly anything and we ended up living on mostly bread in the morning when we stayed there though we made up for it by eating a big lunch somewhere else.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
This trip is a once in a lifetime trip. The next trip to Japan will be less intense and more holiday and gentle exploration.
Review submitted: 22nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Linaka,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your Japan adventure - you certainly managed to fit in a lot of experiences! I'm pleased to hear the Info-Pack came in useful too!

Thank you for travelling with InsideJapan Tours, and happy future travels!

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stella Ibbott - Spring Elegance, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very pleased with the pre-tour organisation. Prompt, helpful and always polite. The Tour of Japan visited many delightful places, and we followed the cherry blossoms and saw many spring blossoms everywhere. The shrines we visited were beautiful, and the tour leader, Alain, held us all together and was always helpful and on-the-ball.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
A fun, helpful and patient tour leader
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always helpful and in contact with us.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Loved Fujiya Hotel in Hakone. It was the best.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Happy to use public transport, buses and trains. However, at one point the last tour member only just managed to get on board the very crowded bus.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Enjoyed the Japanese foods provided, though toward the end we were craving melted cheese on toast! Thankfully found in the bread/patisserie shops. Totally enjoyed the 5 star japanese/french 5 course silver service dinner at Nikko Lakeside Hotel. Superb.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Always nice food. When not supplies Alain took us out to a nice restaurant. However the Kobe Beef restaurant was very expensive at Takayama, and very touristy. A cheaper, 'people's' restaurant would have been preferred.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Would certainly check out your tours to other asian destinations when we are ready to go there.
Review submitted: 22nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Terry Kavanagh - Golden Route, Apr 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Its was well organised and everything went to plan except for getting lose in some of the railway stations, but that's half the fun. We all have a great experience and we all want to return one day and see more of the country. Thank you for all your help.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 22nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lon Kightlinger - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Outstanding. the self-guided tour allowed us independence, self-pacing and not being controlled by a group. We liked exploring and discovering on our own, without very hour planned. But we also very much appreciated the hotel and train arrangements. I have told friends how much we enjoyed the trip and encouraged them to use this agency.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Very friendly, first hand knowledgeable, not pushy, helpful when questions were asked.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We enjoyed the variety of accommodations and the breakfasts at each hotel were very good.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
We loved the trains.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Good guides. A guide on the first day in Tokyo was essential in getting us orientated and learning how to use the subway system.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Very much enjoyed the Baseball game in Hiroshima, especially the fans and stadium food. Our trip, by chance unplanned, coincided with cherry blossom time: spectacular. We requested 1 night's stay in a "capsule hotel", which was a fun experience for an old guy, but one night is enough. Our only disappointment was “fugu”, which we didn’t think that lived up to the hype. We used several guidebooks and found the "Lonely Planet Japan" to be the most useful.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Good track record during first trip.
Review submitted: 22nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gillian Barsley - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was extremely well organized, with detailed itineraries provided for each day. Having the transportation directions and destination information in English and Japanese was very helpful. There were times when we definitely needed the Japanese!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Halley is excellent - extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of life and travel in Japan. She was always proactive and really responsive to my questions. From my first interaction with her, I had complete confidence in her. In planning the trip, I just provided her with a list of where we wanted to go and she made an itinerary that was not rushed, balanced, and got us to all the places we wanted to see. When I called her because I wasn't sure about one hotel that she had originally proposed, she immediately suggested with 2 or 3 others. A real pleasure to work with!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
In most cases it exceeded expectations. The hotel in Osaka was rather small, though I know this is usual in Japan. Really liked the hotel in Kamarura and the ryokan in Takayama.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent and excellent detail provided
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Tokyo - OK, Osaka - OK, Kamakura/Kyoto - very good
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food at the ryokan in Yudanaka was probably the best overall.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 22nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Fiona Sutcliffe - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Our experience right from initial contact until return to uk was excellent. The itinerary, given our limited time, was good and gave us a really good introduction to Japan. The trip was for my mother's 80 th birthday and she (and I) had a great time. I was really glad we'd chosen Inside Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matthew was very helpful and quick to respond.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Apart from he hotel on our last night, the accommodation was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the experience of Gora Kansuiro and also the Royal Park hotel in Kyoto was good- excellent staff and really centrally located.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
There was a good mix of transport. It was good to be met at the airport on our arrival. We really enjoyed he bullet plane and the convenience of the various passes we were issued with.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guide in Kyoto ( Kimoko) was fantastic. She took us to some places we otherwise wouldn't have visited, was very knowledgeable about all the sites, took into account what my mother could manage and took us to some great places for lunch and afternoon tea. She also spoke excellent English. I couldn't recommend her highly enough.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
We really enjoyed the whole experience of Japan and the contrast of the neon lights of Tokyo with some of the beautiful countryside round Hakone. It was a real experience travelling in cherry blossom season which was an added bonus. We also loved the Japanese food. sometimes the language barrier could be a bit frustrating but this didn't spoil the holiday. I was also pleasantly surprised by how affordable Japan is.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would love to see more of Japan. I would definitely consider using Inside Japan again but would also feel more confident now about independent travel.
Review submitted: 20th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Alice Sozzi - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was perfect and everything was like expected. The solution we used aloowed us to save a lot of time in travelling.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Jocelyn was very friendly and helpful. She called us also during the vacation to check if everything was ok.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The driver who picked us up on the first night in Tokyo got lost and it took us long time before to get to the airport.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had a lady first day in Tokyo was extremly nice.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Traveling in Japan it's amazing and the detailed description that you provide us with makes the trip even more pleasant and great.
Review submitted: 20th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lukas Pfenninger - Golden Route, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
great
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
very helpful, very knowledgeable about Japan
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 20th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009