contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 477 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2512
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Kirsten Soennichsen - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Because you took care of all the travel and accomodation arrangements and provided us with a lot of useful materials, we felt that we didnt have to worry about these details and/or the language barrier, thus giving us more time to really enjoy our holiday in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
very friendly, excellent understanding of our needs, making calls at appropriate times, checking on us while in Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
we loved the ryokan in Hakone!
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
excellent ...l the Manaca card worked really well, not only in Tokio, but also in Kyoto... we were very impressed with the package waiting for us at our first hotel, wiith all the tickets clearly labeled and clipped together.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We ventured into yakitori alley in Tokio and had a great meal and evening there and also tried two different ramen restaurants. the sunshine cafe in kyoto had great food, especially the tofu was delicious. Overall, while we liked most of the food, we found that the meat contains more fat than we are used to. One thing I noticed was the lack of fresh, i.e. unprocessed vegetables and fruits and that was one thing I started craving after a couple of days. When we went to a market, We were surprised to see how expensive fresh fruits and veggies are in Japan.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Having been to Japan once with your able help, I feel much more confident trying to make my own arrangements, however, I might want save myself some time and use you services again.
Review submitted: 20th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kirsten Soennichsen - Golden Route, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Because you took care of all the travel and accomodation arrangements and provided us with a lot of useful materials, we felt that we didnt have to worry about these details and/or the language barrier, thus giving us more time to really enjoy our holiday in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
very friendly, excellent understanding of our needs, making calls at appropriate times, checking on us while in Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
we loved the ryokan in Hakone!
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
excellent ...l the Manaca card worked really well, not only in Tokio, but also in Kyoto... we were very impressed with the package waiting for us at our first hotel, wiith all the tickets clearly labeled and clipped together.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We ventured into yakitori alley in Tokio and had a great meal and evening there and also tried two different ramen restaurants. the sunshine cafe in kyoto had great food, especially the tofu was delicious. Overall, while we liked most of the food, we found that the meat contains more fat than we are used to. One thing I noticed was the lack of fresh, i.e. unprocessed vegetables and fruits and that was one thing I started craving after a couple of days. When we went to a market, We were surprised to see how expensive fresh fruits and veggies are in Japan.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Having been to Japan once with your able help, I feel much more confident trying to make my own arrangements, however, I might want save myself some time and use you services again.
Review submitted: 20th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Louise Marston - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Sun Palace was very dated and in need of a refurb. Although they were doing the public areas, the bedrooms could do with a makeover too.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 20th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lindsay Herrington - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Don,t think it could have been better!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivienne was very patient with all our queries ,very prompt in replying to E mails .very easy to talk to .Plenty of useful suggestions .
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
See the comment regarding sleeping mats in traditional inns . The hotel in Takayama which was a hybrid japanese- European was particularly good ( the beds were very comftable and the traditional hot baths on the roof lovely ) we also loved the inn on Miyajima ,the food was lovely and the owner equally so ( but the mats were no more comftable !)
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All the transport was excellent . I was bowled over by the excellence of japanese public transport and the ease of using it as place names are translated into English script in most instances . The hire car experience was much easier than we thought it would be with the help of the English sat nav .
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides in Tokyo and Kyoto was very good and helpful .
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We found the food a challenge to start with but by the end of 2 weeks we had become quite accustomed to know what to look for on the menus . We mostly made our own picnic lunches buying from the numerous small supermarkets . If anyone is tempted to walk down the mountain on Miyajima from the cable car ,be warned it,s all steps and very hard work !!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The service was excellent ,it was very good value and there were no hiccups
Review submitted: 20th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Carmel Hannan - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Katharina was just excellent. It is so easy to enjoy the holiday when someone else has done the hard work of planning it but also planning it really well
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Super
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Average
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Super surprise was the accomodation on mijajama island. By far the best. The worst was Kyoto but at that it was still fine
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Everything was great, train times, bus connections etc
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
My Kyoto guide was excellent and really made it a perfect day. The days cycle tour was also excellent
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I cant recommend the food and rooms in mijajama highly enough. It was just magical there and the owners were so friendly, the room tranquil and the island a haven. The complete opposite was Kanazawa where the hotel staff had very little English, I was not served in the local restaurant because I didnt speak japanese and in general people were rude to outside visitors. It was a shock since people were soooo helpful every other place even in Tokyo
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 20th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kenneth Moran - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
It was astonishing. Everything we saw and went to saw beyond what we expected. We enjoyed every minute of our trip.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was great answered every question we had and recommendations were excellent. Great response time and always willing to help.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Every place we stayed at was beyond what we expected. We enjoyed every second of our stay. The people were so generous and nice it made us feel at home.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was so much travel but it was great because we were always doing something different. The subway system was great and the bullet trains were something new to experience. Although a little expensive and I understand why, we are overall enjoyed it.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both of our guides were by far the best we enjoyed their company, advice, and recommendations. They were by far the nicest and most caring people weve come across. We would enjoy their company again if we were to go.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The sites to see in Tokyo were so beautiful with the amount of time we had I felt almost cheated that we didnt stay longer. There was just so much to see in Tokyo. Kyoto had us up and down through the markets and housing we enjoyed every minute of it. Seeing Miyajima and going up Mt. Misen was something my fiancee and I will never forget. The food was amazing. Trying the sushi, the ramen, the enormous amount of pastries everything was so delicious we felt so spoiled with the amount of savory food we had around us. We did stray away from the path a little and did end up going to Disney Sea which is something we dont regret doing. Seeing how different it is from the one here in California was interesting in itself. We were worried we were going to get lost on the subway but we managed to get around and the people were so helpful that we didnt have to worry so much. I do wish we had recommendation on clothes to take because we went a little over dressed. This wouldve also allowed us to leave with more souvenirs.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
We would probable consider it. But the price was beyond anything weve ever paid before. Although we did enjoy everything we did. It was something new and we didnt mind paying because the experience we have is priceless now.
Review submitted: 16th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephen Wong - 7 Night Price Cruncher, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Your service was great and helpful. It was a very pleasant trip.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was very accommodating and responsive. I would certainly like to work with her for our next trip.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transport information was very helpful. It stated all possible routes with suggested schedules. Great work!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had a 4-hour guided session but could barely cover 2 attractions. I would suggest to extend to a 1 day session with shuttle transportation as we spent quite some time to move from one place to another waiting for public transportation.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 11st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks so much for your great feedback, Stephen! I'm really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time in Japan, and that the transport section of our Info-Pack was so helpful. We do limit hotels choices a bit for the Price Cruncher to keep the costs down, but we will look into having an "upgrade" option for this. ~ Amy
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Arella Bailey - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mat was very helpful. He answered our questions and helped us whenever we needed it. When there was a change in our journey due to the typhoon he was sure to help us work around it.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guides were wonderful and very helpful. They took our recommendations and made sure they were the priority when giving us our tour.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 11st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi there Arella! I was pleased to see your feedback form and that you had a wonderful time. Your trip in the Kiso Valley was a little affected by the recent typhoons so I was happy to help you work around this when you were in Japan.

Thanks for your input about the directions to the hotels in the Info-Pack. We are working to improve our hotel pages as we speak. (Mat)

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sweeney - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Booking was easy with a standard trip being modified to include a Fuji ascent. The quality of the literature and advice provided was excellent.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivienne was very helpful and dealt with all the queries raised by us by return.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We had two experiences which could have been better. The hotel on Miyajima was basically empty but for us and two other guests. This made for a strange atmosphere. Also the paper/wood screen separating the sleeping area from the sitting area had a hole in it. The room we had in the Ryokan in Takayama had a very unpleasant odour which lingered for the time we were there. This was also a long way from the centre of the town.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very good in all respects. Unfortunately, British Airways caused us to miss our connection at Heathrow so we had to switch to an alternative carrier (ANA Nippon Airways)which caused a 6 hour delay to our arrival in Japan and lost luggage which only reappeared three days later. Incidentally, Inside Japan were very pro-active in organising transport for us from Haneda into Tokyo.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guide in Tokyo was very good, tailoring her tour to accommodate my daughter who was unwell. Our guide in Kyoto ensured we saw every shrine and temple possible! The Sakayama cycling experience was brilliant, with our most engaging Japanese guide - Hiro
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Due to the language difficulty, we found ourselves getting traditional set meals with no idea what we were eating, or how to eat it. Great efforts were made to impress us with the quality of preparation, but just as we thought we were finishing the meal, another course would appear! This made for some amusing meals, but really we wanted to explain that it was nothing personal that our english tastes did not extend to tofu and raw octopus.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We would probably visit Tokyo again, but would like to see other parts of Japan if we went again.
Review submitted: 11st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jill Marron - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent service from planning stage right through to the end of our trip.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very knowledgable and informative on every aspect of the trip. Ali really listened to our criteria, planned the holiday accordingly with suggestions of her own thrown in and ended up with an itinerary that ticked all the boxes.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All accommodation was excellent. Particularly impressed with Kurayado Iraho in Miyajima and Gora Tensui in Gora. Park Hyatt in Tokyo was obviously first class and Bennesse House on Naoshima was delightful for art lovers.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Private car service to and from airport was punctual, comfortable and made such a difference to the trip. All public transport included was of course punctual and reliable. First class travel on the Shinkansen through our Japan Rail Passes was excellent too.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
8 hour guide in Tokyo and in Kyoto. Both absolutely excellent. Friendly, knowledgeable and informative. Our guide in Tokyo was also very helpful with making all our train reservation for the trip.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Great mix of Japanese and Western style accommodation and food. Meals included at Gora Tensui and Kurayado Iraho were delicious. We did find Japanese style breakfast hard to stomach as were just not used to eating raw fish and all the works first thing in the morning. We were all unanimous in our feelings about water shields - they are a delicacy too far. The toilets became a talking point of the holiday and so it was great to finish up with singing toilets at the toilet exhibition at the Museum of Emerging Science in Tokyo!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Travel consultant had excellent knowledge of Japan. Provided a very personal service replying promptly to any questions that we had. Went above and beyond in dealing with food allergies (fish and peanut).
Review submitted: 08th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009