contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 518 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2570
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Jennifer Findlay - Hidden Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very enjoyable tour, with a friendly, knowledgeable and competent guide (Alain). The service from the office prior to the tour was also competent and prompt.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Alain was at all times friendly, cheerful and competent. He patiently coped with a group of people with different energy and fitness levels, without anyone being left out.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
All questions were answered promptly and to my satisfaction.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Only the smoke smelling bedroom at one hotel was not acceptable. The other accommodation was fine, and a couple were great.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was fine.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Loved the Japanese meals we had. Alain was able to introduce people to many different types of japanese food.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Enjoyed all the Japanese meals. The food was delicious.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
If there was a tour which covered places I wanted to go to, I would be happy to go with your company.
Review submitted: 15th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Rowan Waller - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The information in the info-pack was accurate, up-to-date and directly related to what we needed to know to get around to do what we wanted .
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
The trip was tailored to what we wanted to do as were the accommodation arrangements and the various excursion and meal reservations that we requested.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Staying in the ryokan was a good experience and quite a contrast to the western hotels in Japan. Japanese breakfasts in the ryokan are hard going and knowing about that beforehand would have been helpful.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The Japan Rail passes are excellent value. Getting a SUICA pass in Tokyo is very worthwhile. We found the ticket machines only gave instructions in Japanese and the visual instructions were ambiguous, so needed train staff to help with these until we got the SUICA passes.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The professional guiding was good. However, as we overslept, it was 15 mins into our touring time before the guide got the hotel to ring our room and wake us up. I would make sure the guide rings the room as soon as he/she arrives if were not in the lobby, so as not to waste any guiding time than is necessary.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I travelled with two boys (13 and 11), who are somewhat fussy about their food. However, they tried most things - the okonomiyaki were a surprise hit, the yakatori always went down well, and they became proficient with chopsticks. The mix of culture, technology and fighting (ninja. samurai) made it a success for all. We saw a lot. The only thing I wouldnt recommend is the Ghibli museum for the manga, as everything is in Japanese theres nothing in English at all and so would avoid it for that reason.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 14th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Joellen Schuleman - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
John did a great job of really trying to listen to what we wanted from this trip and manage our expectations.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
John went above and beyond for us
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The Shangri-La (Tokyo), Park Hyatt (Tokyo) and Nikko (Kanazawa) were wonderful, I would never stay at Granvia Kyoto again.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Over all it was fine. We really enjoyed our day with Nagata San and having his car. The trains were fine, but green car / first class didnt really seem 1st class compared to some of the other trains in other countries. I just we didnt realize it just meant larger reserved seats. It was perfectly fine, but just not what we had envisioned based on the description.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Nagata San and David Lovejoy were AMAZING. Mr. ?(Kanazawa) was great, he had an album of pictures to help bridge the language gap. Everyone was very very nice and really wanted us to enjoy Japan. I also want to compliment the young man who led our trip to the Sumo Wrestling. I dont know if he works for you or just with an agency you use, but he stood out!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Average
General Comments
If I had know the most exclusive sushi places booked 1-2monthes in advance I would have asked at the beginning. Sushi Yasuda was AWESOME and very western friendly. Hafuu Hoten was amazing and very casual. Tea House Ju-an was lovely and Masumi was so kind and informative. We visited a master calligrapher ... she was wonderful and we really enjoyed watching her practice her craft.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 13th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Viviana Vammalle - Hidden Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
the initial contact was very good, and in all the tour was excellent. a couple of things that I would particularly change, but overall very interesting and very well organized. I was fascinated with Japan, and I would suggest you add another day to Kyoto, there is so much to see.... we had time on the last day but we were almost on the go, whilst at the beginning another day would have been great.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Satisfied Customer Rating
Allain was very nice, quite well iinformed, and some times very helpful, but I think he is still too young and good looking to understand that elderly (I am not saying old, but senior) people need to be pampered or rather, to have things made easy, and be somewhat more tolerant tolerant.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Mat was very hellpful when I was forced to change my date, as a matter of fact I am delighted I had to change my dates because this trip was much more the kind of itinerary that meets my interests.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Average
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
some hotels were excellent and the monastery was a joy, other hotels were just good. none was bad.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I have mentioned the taxi issue when we got to the train station, except one hotel that was right in front of the hotel, the rest needed some transportation from the station to the hotel and it was not always included.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
ecellent, I love Japanese food and we had very good tastings and some of the foor was really fantastic
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
As I said before, food was excellent. I also added a trip to Tokyo on my own, following some directions from Amie (?) that were very useful and I enjoyed my experience as well. another couple went to tokyo as well, it might have been interesting to make contact before we travelled and it would have been cheaper for both them and me and may be made thing easier. I decided to hire a guide for myself, whilst I found out that they also had a guide for themselves, it would have been bright to have us make contact ahead of time.. when we met, everything was already cooked.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
It would be impossible for me to travel with a big groups,because I am a hotographer and photography takes time and slows down a group, and a small group gives you the option of meeting pleasant people that have the same interests, whilst keeping ample space for personal exploration, and you have the itineray and all the reservations taken care of
Review submitted: 12nd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Mohammad Abu Sharkh - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Generally almost everything was well prepared ahead of time, organized and neat. The info-pack was well informing and helpful. It was a joy just reading through it! We had a great honeymoon! Probably the best holiday ever! Id say most of the credit goes to the people of Japan and their amazing culture. However, we wouldnt have seen what weve seen if not the awesome suggestions provided in details.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Ali is very friendly and helpful. Its a joy to communicate with her. And she got everything planned really well! Thank you, Ali!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The Togendai bus from Odawara to Senkyoromae stop took about 3 hours due to traffic, this resulted in us getting late and totally beat to the guest house, and we couldnt climb Fujisan on the same day. Now I understand this is out of control, and this is a suggestion NOT a complaint. I think we found out a quicker and more reliable route, the one we used upon leaving Hakone From Senkyoromae to Gora by S bus (I think about 15 minutes), then from Gora to Odawara by train. Pretty convenient Id say. :)
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides were good and understandable. Sato-San is an extremely friendly person. However, being a tour guide myself, I may have had higher expectation in terms of delivered info. But generally it was fun!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
- Food.. Well, thats maybe the only thing we didnt like there. Japanese food is totally tasteless, no salt, no sugar, not any sort of spices. We dont eat like everything chilli where I come from. But at least our food has some taste in it, whether bad or good. In Japan everything seems to be raw and tasteless. In Koyasan we couldnt understand the veg food. If there are tomatoes, cucumbers..normal vegetables, why eat some seaweed?? Despite eating both meals (dinner & breakfast) entirely at koyasan. I was literally hungry after 30 minutes. Well I guess Japanese food is just not for everyone.. - Osaka surprised us, its different from every other place we visited in Japan. People crossing on red signals, littering in the street, garbage everywhere.. We felt like HOME!! Or almost any middle-eastern city for that matter! Are we right or we just imagined that?
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
InsideJapan makes everything easy and comfortable! Yet affordable! Providing the best experience!
Review submitted: 12nd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
David Moore - Tokaido Trail, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Wish I could of stayed. Made me feel like I was home.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David ALWAYS had a smile on his face. Fantastic experience...very knowledgeable and helpful.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I cant believe I didnt drive him crazy with all my questions.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Didnt expect the hallways to be so hot, but seemed to be the Japanese way.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Nothing is easier.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Enjoyed them thoroughly. Great picks.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Everybody needs to try Bikkuri Donkey!!! It was the best way to finish off a night of fun.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Did it before, will do it again. Never been on any other tour that was so personal, yet had so much freedom.
Review submitted: 09th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks for your feedback David!  Great to hear that you had a fantastic tour! I really liked your comment that our tours are personal yet allow a good degree of freedom - quite unique.  And a good word of advice from you for July and August travelers that it can be quite warm, even inside your accommodations.  Questions before you go are so essential to your confidence in your trip and getting excited before go - an important part of the planning process.  I love Bikkuri Donkey as well - a quirky, delicious, and accessible eatery all over Japan.  Thank you so much for traveling with us again!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jane Darling - Golden Route, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Our trip was totally stress free. The information package made everything super easy.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I was surprised and pleased that we actually got phone calls.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was excellent. I was really happy that I used the luggage forwarding service.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guides were both wonderful. They spoke very good English and were very pleasant to be with.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We really enjoyed being able to tour at our own pace but within the structure of the tour package.
Review submitted: 08th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Jane, thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy to read that you are your family enjoyed your time in Japan. The luggage forwarding service is indeed very useful and makes your trip so much smoother.

We always like to try and keep in good contact with our travelers and the phone is usually the best way.

Jane and her family did a customized version of our Golden Route Self Guided Package and also added a Roketsu dyeing class in Kyoto. (Mat).
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Clarence Quah - Tokaido Trail, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Would have liked to learn more about the places we went to (history, culture, general information)
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 08th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Clarence! I'm glad you made it back safe and sound, I hope Mt. Fuji was a great experience for you. We are always looking to improve our destination sections to provide even more details on the places included in our tours. We appreciate your feedback and will keep researching on improvements. Keep us in mind if you ever return to Japan or perhaps want to check out Indo-China! ~Halley
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sydney Garbutt - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
see email sent to katherina
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
see email
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 07th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Greg Starkey - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very good service from start to finish
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Very helpful
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The room we had in Takayama was small for 3 persons
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Without equal
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Knowledgable and friendly. Just a shame about our issue in Kyoto
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Now we have found our bearings we may try it on our own
Review submitted: 06th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Greg,

Many thanks for the feedback! I'm really pleased you enjoyed your trip! I hope you can go back again sometime!

-Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009