contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 558 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2630
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Susan Ritz - Best of Japan, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great support from Mat in Boulder, wonderful info packet, and the trip went off without a hitch due to great advance planning.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Was friendly, fun to talk with and very helpful, calling before the trip to make sure all my questions were answered, helping my travel companion deal with her food issues!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
One of the hotels, Dotunburi in Osaka was a bit cramped and we had problems with the plumbing, but the staff was great.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Great to have the manaca pass and the JR Rail Pass all set up for us.Made it all very easy. Directions to specific trains in the info packet were very helpful
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both spoke excellent English and were fun to spend the day with. Very knowledgeable and flexible.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I was sorry to leave the wonderful food. I felt so healthy in Japan. The Ryokans offers some amazing fare, way better than I had expected.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Because you made the whole trip easy, like having a guide without having to be a in a large group.
Review submitted: 22nd Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Susan, thank you for filling in your feedback. It's always fulfilling to hear when everything ran like clockwork and the trip was neigh on perfect! The food at the ryokans is indeed spectacular, if sometimes a little unusual to us westerners! I hope Johanna also thought the same.

Do get in touch if you'd like to see more of Japan (and more of that healthy fare!). (Mat)
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Pamela Tiller - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent help and advice and service, which led to a wonderful holiday in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Really happy with all the help from Katharina who answered all my questions and sorted out some late changes for us .
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The accommodation was good, and so well thought out as to locations in Tokyo, Kyoto and Kanazawa.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The trains and advice about times was brilliant, and the various passes for transport including in Tokyo, Hakone, and of course the Japan Rail Pass were excellent.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had a day of guiding in Tokyo and a day in Kyoto. Both guides (Chieko and Tada) were friendly and helpful and informative. They got us orientated and gave us ideas for the following days.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I would recommend the included meals at Auberge Mizuhaso on Miyajima. Beautifully presented and varied, each breakfast and dinner was different over our 3 nights. I am now addicted to sashimi!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Having had such a good experience with you, I would value your ideas and advice should we go to another part of Japan.
Review submitted: 22nd Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Winfred So - Classic Japan, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was simply great. The tour went without a hitch.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was a really great tour leader. He really went out of his way to make sure everybody was having a good time. He was very good at making sure no one was left behind in the busy train stations and when walking long distances. If people wanted to wander on their own, he had great knowledge in optional sites/activities for them. Mark had known before hand (from the travel consultant) that I was shopping for a katana. So when we got to Kyoto, we had a free day in the afternoon. Now, he could have just pointed me to the shop and left me to shop on my own so he can have his free day, but he stayed and help me translate and negotiate the sale of my purchase. There was absolutely no way I could have purchased my item without Mark to help translate and ask all the detailed question in purchasing such an item. He really went out of his way to make sure I had all the information I needed before making a purchase. I absolutely appreciate him losing his free day just to help me shop for my souvenir.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matt got back to my emails very quickly. This IS the main reason I decided on Inside Japan. He was very responsive and answered all my questions (and I had a lot) without making me ever feel like I was asking stupid questions. Also, one of the souvenirs I really wanted to acquire was an authentic katana. Matt was able to inform the tour guide ahead of time so that they would have a reputable shop to visit when I arrived. I really appreciated this and got to feel the company cares about its customers.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
I had done research on the accommodations before heading out, so it was as expected. I do have to note that the ryokan in Takayama was wonderful. Maybe because I really wanted to try a ryokan, but that hotel exceeded my expectations.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The included train rides were great. I travel light, so the included transportation was good for me.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I loved them! Im the type that will try anything, so it was a wonderful experience trying out different types of dishes.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The included meals were wonderful. I like the bite sized portions but with more variety. It give me more to try. Every time, I left the dinners quite full.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Customer Service. I know there are other tour companies out there that are less expensive, but I will pay more for an excellent customer service, and you guys delivered.
Review submitted: 22nd Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello there, thanks so much for your kind words! I am thrilled to read you had such a good time and took so much away from your time on our Small Group Tour. I was also very happy to hear that you got your sword! I know this was really important for you so it feels good to know that the efforts of our Japan Office and Mark were not in vain. (Mat).
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Clare Hart - Japan Unmasked, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
First class guidance from start to end with good insight given prior to trip.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
A great character who pitched the balance between guidance,advice and independence just right. He dealt with all events with a calm professionalism and kept all the members of the group informed and engaged.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
First contact was fantastic and this cemented the confidence in booking with then great subsequent support along the way
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The variety was good
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All efficient and added to seeing the country
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Great experience. Mark helped us all see a wide variety of restaurants and food he really put the effort in showing us all a great variety. The food was an unexpected delight due in part to the guides inside recommendation
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Mark created a good atmosphere and ran a group which had a variety of interests to cater for but he always managed to accommodate all requests.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Perfect balance of independence and expert guidance which results in seeing the best in the shortest time
Review submitted: 21st Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback, Clare! I'm delighted you had a great time on our Japan Unmasked small group tour back in August with Mark Rawlins. Our tours are designed to give you lots of flexibility and variety so I'm glad you enjoyed this. Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gary Wood - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great choice and variety, being specialists rather than general operators is a key selling point for me. I also recommended you to my Chiropractor who I know booked a holiday through you.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Extremely helpful and responsive, friendly and proactive with ideas, nice touches with phone calls before and during holiday, holiday ran like clockwork from start to finish, personalised service (e.g. suggesting the tea trip to Uji based upon our interest)
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Generally very good, accommodation at Nikko, Kyoto and Naruko Onsen excellent in different ways, Hiraizumi a little tired though choice was limited
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
N/A
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All very good , extremely friendly, knowledgeable and happy to help wherever they could. The market/sake brewery part of the Kyoto cooking activity could have been a little more engaging, the cooking part itself was great mainly due to the wonderful lady who we cooked with. The cooking class in Tokyo was very enjoyable and the area was worth visiting, its not so much a cooking class as a demonstration and lunch (with copious amounts of excellent food) so it may not meet everyones needs (i.e. if they really wanted to spend a lot of time cooking) and its best going on an empty stomach. Really enjoyed it ourselves though.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was excellent and one of the reasons we love visiting Japan as there is so much variety. The meals in the Ryokans were great however they dont always provide an English list of dishes - this can actually lead to some wonderful lost in translation moments with the hotel staff when trying to establish what was in front of us however it would have been good at some point to learn exactly what was what. The main challenge was in Naruko Onsen though as I say we both loved that hotel and the staff who were extremely helpful (including getting a laptop from their office to search for a dish so we could see the English translation). At the same hotel I asked if there was a security box in the room more out of interest whereupon the two staff wandered off and a couple of minutes later lugged a rather heavy looking safe into our tatami matted living quarters.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Track record - we have now experienced Japan in a group and self guided through Inside Japan and thoroughly enjoyed both. Takes a lot of the stress away from the holiday itself (discounting the pre holiday planning of where to go of course) using the expert and firs-hand knowledge on hand to create our ideal holiday. It also feels like good value given what is included.
Review submitted: 21st Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Amanda Ward - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Any questions I had were quickly answered, even as soon as I got off the plane and tried to find my own way to the Studio Ghibli museum! Vivienne was very helpful and always ensured that any questions I had were answered and if I needed anything.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Fujishige - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark is a fantastic tour leader who was enthusiastic and full of ideas. He helped us out individually with our own plans for days we could do our own thing and if we needed anything reserving he would try and do it for us as soon as he could. His choices for restaurants were always spot on and his knowledge of the local areas was very good.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was good, I enjoyed travelling on the shinkansen and the train stations were easy to navigate.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I found that even with requesting no dairy and no fish it was quite easy to find something to eat on any menu.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was great, and I would recommend the conveyor belt sushi even if you dont eat fish. My favourite meal was at the inn in Takayama, it was beautifully prepared and tasted amazing! I loved going around the many temples and shrines we visited, and you can always find a unique experience like the Robot Restaurant in Tokyo or the Cup Noodle Museum in Yokohama. Our tour leader, Mark, always helped us with good recommendations and our needs were definitely catered for. I would happily recommend Inside Japan to anyone.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Everything was arranged and I didnt really have to worry at all. I would perhaps do a self guided adventure as my knowledge of Japanese is good and I would like to try going on my own.
Review submitted: 21st Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback Amanda! Really pleased to hear you enjoyed our recent Japan Unmasked as well as your pre-tour nights getting settled and exploring Tokyo before the tour started. We try to include a big variety of food options on the tour so you can try lots of Japan's diverse cuisine. Nothing beats enjoying a traditional dinner in your Japanese inn wearing yukata though! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Richard Devine - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
This holiday was the realisation of a dream trip to Visit Japan. InsideJapan tours provided an experience that went far beyond my expectations. From all their help with preparation including setting up my flights, to the detailed and varied itinerary lead by the very excellent guide.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
What can I say? This guy is a legend. David went above and beyond leading our group to all the stunning locations, all our transportation, all the events we went to, all the places we saw. The man has such energy and drive that even during the typhoons he kept our spirits high. He went out his way to help when we had any issues or problems. David was more than a tour leader for us. He became very much a part of our group and we all considered him a good friend.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Being a first time traveller, I naturally had many questions and uncertainties. Ali was both enthusiastic and helpful in helping me with all my preparations for the trip.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Each place we stayed were excellent. Very clean and with all the facilities. All had free wifi too. The mixing in of the Ryokan traditional hotel and the experience of the capsule hotel added to the adventure.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Armed with the Pasmo card and Japan Rail pass getting around was fast and efficient. On occasions David arranged for taxies to get us places and although this wasnt included with the trip, Davids organisation getting them arranged was another plus.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I have some food allergies but InsideJapan tours provided me with translations to Japanese that I could present when ordering any food. However I didnt need it as once again our tour guide made sure everyone was catered for.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
being the only one in the group to order a Love Cocktail instead of a meal at the maid cafe, I insist you try it. I wont say what happened only that our group looked gobsmacked and wanted to know what on earth I ordered. it was such an experience. The robot restaurant was just a simple bento box but it was good.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I did not want to leave Japan and as soon as I returned home I started working out when and how I can return. The HyperJapan and Go tour was like a taster of all things Japanese, and Id be looking at returning for a more focused trip back. Ill be looking at what InsideJapan tours offer.
Review submitted: 21st Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Alfredo Pizarro - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent! Great organization and the choices of activities, places to visit was superb! Everything that I wanted to do/visit was in the itinerary and the tour leader even helped me with my airline because they delayed my luggage. Inside Japan tours called to Air France directly and provided the info, so I just had to fill a form and my luggage arrived to the hotel the next day!. Im very happy with the tour and I absolutely recommend it. Five stars!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Best tour leader ever! Helped us a lot with information, insights about places even if we wanted to visit places on our own, David was always there to help and his knowledge of places, transport systems, and overall is superb!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John Kane IV - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Excelent service.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 21st Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sophie Tilley - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I cannot thank Inside Japan enough for their professionalism, efficiency and organisation. This was the trip of a lifetime, made possible by the incredible service provided. I cannot thank you enough.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David was an incredible tour leader, continually going above and beyond to make our experience utterly unforgettable. His knowledge and seemingly boundless energy was amazing- David ensured we all got the absolute most from the tour.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivienne was excellent, keeping in touch every step of the way. I had complications with my travel partener a week before the trip, but Viviennes advice and help gave me the confidence to travel alone.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Excellent quality for the price paid- especially the Ryokan in Hakone.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Amazingly well organised, all rail passes and travel passes were easy to use and made available to us immediately.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Amazing food experiences, it was a lovely feature that David Lovejoy ensured we sampled the signiture foods of each region we visited.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The organisation, thought and detail put int the tour was outstanding. The tour itself was excellent value for money and the experience in Japan (along with the services of the tour leader) were incredible.
Review submitted: 20th Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home Sophie! I'm so pleased that you had a great time on our J-Pop and Go tour with David earlier this month. Staying in a traditional Japanese guesthouse is a really unique experience - really glad you particularly enjoyed this! Thank you for your feedback! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Claire Mclennan - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was beyond our expectations
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David is quite simply a total legend. He went out of his way to provide us with unforgettable experiences and show us more than we could have imagined about Japan. Overall I dont think the group wouldve had such an amazing experience without him.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Alison was fantastic from the first phone call. She answered all of our silly questions promptly and clearly - great service
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Much better than the UK!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
fantastic
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Wouldnt bother eating at the Robot Restaurant but definitely still visit
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Having no Japanese language plus we like meeting new people on tours.
Review submitted: 20th Oct 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009