contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 477 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2507
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Kenneth Moran - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
It was astonishing. Everything we saw and went to saw beyond what we expected. We enjoyed every minute of our trip.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was great answered every question we had and recommendations were excellent. Great response time and always willing to help.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Every place we stayed at was beyond what we expected. We enjoyed every second of our stay. The people were so generous and nice it made us feel at home.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was so much travel but it was great because we were always doing something different. The subway system was great and the bullet trains were something new to experience. Although a little expensive and I understand why, we are overall enjoyed it.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both of our guides were by far the best we enjoyed their company, advice, and recommendations. They were by far the nicest and most caring people weve come across. We would enjoy their company again if we were to go.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The sites to see in Tokyo were so beautiful with the amount of time we had I felt almost cheated that we didnt stay longer. There was just so much to see in Tokyo. Kyoto had us up and down through the markets and housing we enjoyed every minute of it. Seeing Miyajima and going up Mt. Misen was something my fiancee and I will never forget. The food was amazing. Trying the sushi, the ramen, the enormous amount of pastries everything was so delicious we felt so spoiled with the amount of savory food we had around us. We did stray away from the path a little and did end up going to Disney Sea which is something we dont regret doing. Seeing how different it is from the one here in California was interesting in itself. We were worried we were going to get lost on the subway but we managed to get around and the people were so helpful that we didnt have to worry so much. I do wish we had recommendation on clothes to take because we went a little over dressed. This wouldve also allowed us to leave with more souvenirs.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
We would probable consider it. But the price was beyond anything weve ever paid before. Although we did enjoy everything we did. It was something new and we didnt mind paying because the experience we have is priceless now.
Review submitted: 16th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephen Wong - 7 Night Price Cruncher, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Your service was great and helpful. It was a very pleasant trip.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was very accommodating and responsive. I would certainly like to work with her for our next trip.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transport information was very helpful. It stated all possible routes with suggested schedules. Great work!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had a 4-hour guided session but could barely cover 2 attractions. I would suggest to extend to a 1 day session with shuttle transportation as we spent quite some time to move from one place to another waiting for public transportation.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 11st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks so much for your great feedback, Stephen! I'm really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time in Japan, and that the transport section of our Info-Pack was so helpful. We do limit hotels choices a bit for the Price Cruncher to keep the costs down, but we will look into having an "upgrade" option for this. ~ Amy
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Arella Bailey - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mat was very helpful. He answered our questions and helped us whenever we needed it. When there was a change in our journey due to the typhoon he was sure to help us work around it.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guides were wonderful and very helpful. They took our recommendations and made sure they were the priority when giving us our tour.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 11st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi there Arella! I was pleased to see your feedback form and that you had a wonderful time. Your trip in the Kiso Valley was a little affected by the recent typhoons so I was happy to help you work around this when you were in Japan.

Thanks for your input about the directions to the hotels in the Info-Pack. We are working to improve our hotel pages as we speak. (Mat)

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sweeney - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Booking was easy with a standard trip being modified to include a Fuji ascent. The quality of the literature and advice provided was excellent.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivienne was very helpful and dealt with all the queries raised by us by return.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We had two experiences which could have been better. The hotel on Miyajima was basically empty but for us and two other guests. This made for a strange atmosphere. Also the paper/wood screen separating the sleeping area from the sitting area had a hole in it. The room we had in the Ryokan in Takayama had a very unpleasant odour which lingered for the time we were there. This was also a long way from the centre of the town.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very good in all respects. Unfortunately, British Airways caused us to miss our connection at Heathrow so we had to switch to an alternative carrier (ANA Nippon Airways)which caused a 6 hour delay to our arrival in Japan and lost luggage which only reappeared three days later. Incidentally, Inside Japan were very pro-active in organising transport for us from Haneda into Tokyo.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guide in Tokyo was very good, tailoring her tour to accommodate my daughter who was unwell. Our guide in Kyoto ensured we saw every shrine and temple possible! The Sakayama cycling experience was brilliant, with our most engaging Japanese guide - Hiro
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Due to the language difficulty, we found ourselves getting traditional set meals with no idea what we were eating, or how to eat it. Great efforts were made to impress us with the quality of preparation, but just as we thought we were finishing the meal, another course would appear! This made for some amusing meals, but really we wanted to explain that it was nothing personal that our english tastes did not extend to tofu and raw octopus.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We would probably visit Tokyo again, but would like to see other parts of Japan if we went again.
Review submitted: 11st Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jill Marron - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent service from planning stage right through to the end of our trip.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very knowledgable and informative on every aspect of the trip. Ali really listened to our criteria, planned the holiday accordingly with suggestions of her own thrown in and ended up with an itinerary that ticked all the boxes.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All accommodation was excellent. Particularly impressed with Kurayado Iraho in Miyajima and Gora Tensui in Gora. Park Hyatt in Tokyo was obviously first class and Bennesse House on Naoshima was delightful for art lovers.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Private car service to and from airport was punctual, comfortable and made such a difference to the trip. All public transport included was of course punctual and reliable. First class travel on the Shinkansen through our Japan Rail Passes was excellent too.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
8 hour guide in Tokyo and in Kyoto. Both absolutely excellent. Friendly, knowledgeable and informative. Our guide in Tokyo was also very helpful with making all our train reservation for the trip.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Great mix of Japanese and Western style accommodation and food. Meals included at Gora Tensui and Kurayado Iraho were delicious. We did find Japanese style breakfast hard to stomach as were just not used to eating raw fish and all the works first thing in the morning. We were all unanimous in our feelings about water shields - they are a delicacy too far. The toilets became a talking point of the holiday and so it was great to finish up with singing toilets at the toilet exhibition at the Museum of Emerging Science in Tokyo!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Travel consultant had excellent knowledge of Japan. Provided a very personal service replying promptly to any questions that we had. Went above and beyond in dealing with food allergies (fish and peanut).
Review submitted: 08th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Nathan Russell - Japan Unmasked, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great service from start to finish.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William-Kayne Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William always went out of his way to make sure that everyone was happy, He was driven and very active which helped us see so much!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
My travel consultant was straight to the point and very helpful which put me at ease
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I enjoyed using public transport but perhaps a few more taxis would have helped instead of so much walking, I know some of us wouldn't have minded paying!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The included meals were amazing, even if there were some items that did not appeal to me I still enjoyed the overall experience.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would be interested on going on one of your other tours but some of them seem to duplicate what was already covered in Japan unmasked. Also going on this tour has given me the confidence to perhaps do it alone! But a tour group is always more fun!!
Review submitted: 08th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
William Carr - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything went well: my itinerary was (relatively!) demanding, but all of the arrangements you'd put in place for me worked well. The trip was a great experience.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire went out of her way to help me develop a workable itinerary to get the most from a short visit, including a Fuji climb and some fairly-complex travel arrangements. The hotels and guest house she suggested were a good balance of comfort, location and value.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All of the hotels (and the guest house) were welcoming, good value, and in locations that allowed me to easily explore the local area.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Everything worked well. The Hakone travel pass in particular was useful as it included local ferries, and the JR Rail Pass included the ferry to Miyajima. The bullet trains were impressive!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
n/a
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Claire put together a package that made a fairly-demanding itinerary work well.
Review submitted: 08th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephen Brown - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
As first timers to Japan, we found the information and the prebooking of the hotels, trains, taxis etc well worth the extra money we paid. The accommodation we were booked into was of a high standard. The 2 guides we had were very knowledgeable and did their very best to cater for our slightly odd requests. Ayako now knows were to find a Cat Cafe in Kyoto! It was a fantastic holiday and my son has the chance to go back next year with the World Scout Jamboree. We will be calling on your services again.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
We did not deal directly with Jocelyn as we were working through a travel agent. However it was clear that Jocelyn was able to put together an excellent itinerary covering most of our wish lists. Highlights for me were the Sumo and the Gion Matsuri but there were so many other fabulous things. There was a glitch at the last second with our accommodation at Harkone but Inside Japan not only got us an upgrade but provided a taxi to the new ryokan which meant we had time to visit the museum of modern art. Left to get there on our own I think we would have not had the time for this. The "manuals" proved far more useful than our guide books and I had a real panic one evening when I thought I had lost one. Its this personal touch to the tour which makes we want to return as a customer.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
For longer stays, accommodation which had coin operated laundry proved essential.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Perfect! The IC cards, the pre booked trains, the rail pass, the taxis. All fitted together perfectly. So although this was the most expensive holiday we have been on, the time you saved us in trying to navigate the country was worth every penny.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides were brilliant. Excellent local knowledge. We loved the garden that Masa took us to at the start of our day in Tokyo and it was so quiet. Ayako worked hard at finding us the Cat Cafe and still fitted in lots of sights in Kyoto. Their English level was excellent. If/when we come back to Japan I would definitely be interested in hiring guides of this quality again.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I have already covered vegetarians. Ninja Akasaka restaurant was easily the most expensive meal of my life but as my daughter said "We had a blast". And the roast beef - oh my God I was in heaven! Another unexpected gem was the Ghibli Museum. We really enjoyed our visit here.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Mentioned above, the key thing is the time you save. By having all the travelling bits sorted, you can just go out and do the sight seeing things. It takes all the stress out of the holiday.
Review submitted: 07th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Harrison - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was arranged for the trip as I requested and generally there were no issues in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was very competent and everything was dealt with in a timely, friendly and efficient manner.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Mitsui Garden Hotel in Hiroshima and Nagoya Tokyu Hotel exceeded my expectations.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
BA flights good, JAL flight to Nagasaki good. Other than a couple of local trains to Kamakura & Yokohama which didn't run, all train journeys ran well.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All self guided, not applicable.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I have eaten alot of japanese food over the years and now I find eating Japanese takes on western dishes quite enjoyable at times.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I've now travelled to Japan 5 times, so I know my way around quite well. Even so, I find using Inside Japan with their knowledge extremely useful and if things did go wrong I could always have help/contact with their Nagoya office. Inside Japan make the trips easier than if I did all the arranging myself.
Review submitted: 07th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi John,

Thank you for travelling with us again! We're really glad you had a good time.

Thank you for all your constructive feedback, it's very useful indeed; we are working to improve our resources all the time.

All the best,

Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Katherine Campbell - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was very easy.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Halley was very helpful in getting us in to see some of the more off-the-beaten-path things, and laid out the trip in a logical manner.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
In some cases, we felt like our accommodations were too fancy or too Westernized, and we would have preferred something a little simpler. However, it may very well be that the hotels chosen were the best for the locations we wanted to see.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The train system was fairly easy to use, and it was nice to know what specific lines we were looking for. It was easy to compare kanji from the booklet to signs in the stations.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
we liked both our guides. They were very accommodating and happy to explain cultural aspects to us.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
InsideJapan was essential for getting into some places, and it made the trip much easier for us, not having to worry about reservations to things such as Kabuki or Saiho-ji. It was nice to have someone familiar with everything handle the more difficult aspects for us.
Review submitted: 06th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Katherine, thank you very much for your feedback. It's lovely to hear that everything went so well and that you appreciated the value we provide. The Info-Packs are indeed extremely useful in helping you navigate the country on your own! Mat (for Halley).
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009