contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 449 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2300
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Bruno Ferreira - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was excellent. We were not expecting to have everything so well organize. It would have beem a nightmare to go to Japan without the Inside Japan Tours advices.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
She had patience and was always very helpfull with us. We think she's done a great job and organize everything very well and with carefull with small details.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 19th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kayleigh Causton - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great service from start to finish!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matthew was incredibly knowledgable and really friendly and ensured that all our questions were answered and accommodated for all the things we wanted to add to the trip!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
We had 4 hotels, the 2nd and 3rd ones were brilliant but the 1st and 4th ones were not as great, though I reckon this is down to how last minute my request for the trip was!
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Great! The IC card was brilliant and easy to use and the Shinkansen was great too!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Tyler was an excellent guide, he showed us so many locations in one day, all of them were amazing! He also gave us some great advice on places to go around Tokyo while we were there which was really lovely. In Kyoto although our booklet said we would have someone else, Mr Tanaka turned up and he was incredibly knowledgeable and very friendly, again going to extra mile to make sure we knew where we going during our time in Kyoto and giving us great advice on places to go!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Everything was great, well planned and we had an absolutely incredible time in Japan! Matthew was so helpful and friendly and shared our excitement that this was our first trip to Japan, so we want to say a special thank you to him! Hotels were great, as were most of the things we booked in to do in Japan whilst there. Only a few small things to bring up: 1. Getting to the Studio Park in Kyoto was a bit difficult, even with the map! 2. There was a part in our itinerary where a station or line was written in Japanese so we couldn't read where we had to go, but we figured it out! Other then those small things, the holiday was awesome, thank you!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would definitely use you again if I was planning to go to new locations within Japan, however if I was re-visiting the same places then I would go on my own accord.
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stuart Wilson - Best of the West, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Could not fault the service we received from Inside Japan. The holiday was beyond our expectations. A lot easier to get around than we anticipated! The info packs were really good and made our travel in Japan quite straightforward.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Ruth was great.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Excellent apart from Terazuya Ryokan in Matsue. The couple who run the place are delightful but the accommodation was poor. (dirty, no way to lock our door and food not up to the standard we got at other places.) I have some photos of the place if you want to see how bad it was.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Wonderful. We enjoyed every minute. Network Rail could learn a thing or two from Japan Rail on how to run a railway.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Shihoko Hirooka was lovely and very helpful. We had a great day out in Kyoto and we like to think she enjoyed the day as much as we did. The guidance she gave for the following day (when we were on our own) was excellent.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Food - by and large it was OK but we did try to get a western style breakfast at every opportunity. Very healthy diet - we both lost a few pounds (a rarity on holiday!). It was great experience to try the Japanese food, however. The time taken to travel to Hagi and Matsue was not worth it. These locations are not that exciting to justify the detour. We were struggling a bit to fill our time. As I said elsewhere a better alternative would be to go to Kyushu. Also, we felt going to Kobe was a waste of time. We arrived at 1530, had 2 hours sightseeing and made an early start the next day to Hakone. With hindsight, and better knowledge of Japan, we would have preferred 4 days travelling in Kyushu and miss out Hagi, Matsue and Kobe. We found Japan to be incredibly cheap and brought quite a bit of cash back with us. Perhaps some indication on how much cash would be needed should be given. On average we spent only about £15 per head on an evening meal. With travel and many other meals included there was little for me to spend my cash on!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lynn Baddock - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Fabulous holiday - our second trip to Japan this time visiting independently.Japan has everything - a fascinating country with a unique history but its so easy to get around and standards of food and service are so high. We wish we understood more about how the country works - similarities and differences with the UK are fascinating.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was extremely helpful and informative . The itinerary and the notes he prepared for our tour were really comprehensive. It was also very reassuring that he took the trouble to phone us twice whilst we were actually in Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All the accommodation was great with the exception of the hotel in Nagasaki which we have already discussed with Mark.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Superb throughout - we love Japanese trains and the stations with their array of souvenir shops and stalls selling bento boxes.The buses and ferries we caught were also very good. We would recommend reserving train seats as far as possible.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guide in Nagasaki was fine and very friendly - we saw more because we were with her.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We are fortunate in that we like Japanese food ( including the breakfasts ). This being our second visit we were a bit more adventurous ! we loved everything we tried especially the tonkatsu though the yakitori of chicken cartilage tested our resolve !
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The service from Inside Japan has been superb on both our trips.Its also great being able to put together an itinerary which reflects our personal interests and time scales - for example we prefer to stay three nights in a city if at all possible .
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Robert Loughman - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Picked the company randomly off a google search. I emailed several different companies but like Matt and the self guided option so went with Inside Japan Travel. Our guide in Kyoto was fantastic and also helped us with a glitch at the hotel.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I started working with Matt and then John. Both of them were easy to work with, prompt answering emails and answered all my questions. John also helped me out by getting tickets to a Geisha dance that I was unable to do over the internet. He also helped with train schedules etc for our day trip from Kyoto to Hiroshima. This trip is totally doable in a day from Kyoto. We didn't feel rushed at all. I would highly recommend both consultants to friends and family.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
I think one night in a traditional Ryokan would have been enough. Odd that our Kyoto hotel only had internet in the lobby.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent drivers and vehicle
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guide in Tokyo was fine but we liked the approach of our Kyoto guide much better. She gave us a list of 12 places and asked us to choose 3 or 4 then planned our day. In Tokyo she pretty much asked where we would like to go.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We went to see the Miyako Odori show and loved it. Strongly recommend for anyone going to Kyoto in April.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 18th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi there Robert, thank you very much for your comments and feedback. I am very pleased that after your random search you chose to go with IJT! The dances in Kyoto really are spectacular aren't they! I hope you enjoy the many happy memories you must have from your trip.
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kerry Wohlstein - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything ran like clockwork during the trip, esp. vouchers for transportation and accommodations. The information packet was the "bomb"!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
There are not enough words to describe Halley's commitment to making this the best trip ever. She had all the information we needed and if she didn't, she got back to us in a timely fashion. Great consultant.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
See comment 3B. The Ryokans were wonderful as were the other hotels. People were friendly, caring and personable. The overall feeling was excellent.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
EXCELLENT! Evidently Japan runs on time, as do its trains, buses and subways. Loved that IJT made it so easy to get around.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both Tokyo and Kyoto guides were knowledgeable, professional and flexible.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I blogged while I was in Japan and if you want to see the website, it is: kerryandkarendojapan.blogspot.com. As mentioned before, though it was fine to sample foods of Japan, it would have been nice to have some more options. My personal favorites were photographing Mt. Fuji without a cloud in the sky and waking to that same view the next morning and the snow monkeys in Yudanaka. I think next time, I would specify where I wanted to go so I could get IJT input as to what activities were there, such as hiking in the mountains, skiing, etc. I liked the cities and small towns, but I would have liked to walk more in the mountains.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I am not a tour person, per se, so to find a company who does independent tours of 2 people and does it well, is a boon.The time limits were just right both daily and for the two weeks I was gone. IJT staff were flexible, professional and knowledgeable. When we had to make a day change for the guide, they were understanding and worked with us. Your philosophy and commitment to excellence sold me on this trip and perhaps others as well. Thank you!
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  2 out of 2 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kerry Wohlstein - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything ran like clockwork during the trip, esp. vouchers for transportation and accommodations. The information packet was the "bomb"!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
There are not enough words to describe Halley's commitment to making this the best trip ever. She had all the information we needed and if she didn't, she got back to us in a timely fashion. Great consultant.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
See comment 3B. The Ryokans were wonderful as were the other hotels. People were friendly, caring and personable. The overall feeling was excellent.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
EXCELLENT! Evidently Japan runs on time, as do its trains, buses and subways. Loved that IJT made it so easy to get around.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both Tokyo and Kyoto guides were knowledgeable, professional and flexible.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I blogged while I was in Japan and if you want to see the website, it is: kerryandkarendojapan.blogspot.com. As mentioned before, though it was fine to sample to foods of Japan, it would have been nice to have some more options. My personal favorites were photographing Mt. Fuji without a cloud in the sky and waking to that same view the next morning and the snow monkeys in Yudanaka. I think next time, I would specify where I wanted to go so I could get IJT input as to what activities were there, such as hiking in the mountains, skiing, etc. I liked the cities and small towns, but I would have liked to walk more in the mountains.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I am not a tour person, per se, so to find a company who does independent tours of 2 people and does it well, is a boon.The time limits were just right both daily and for the two weeks I was gone. IJT staff were flexible, professional and knowledgeable. When we had to make a day change for the guide, they were understanding and worked with us. Your philosophy and commitment to excellence sold me on this trip and perhaps others as well. Thank you!
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lewis Morrison - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
As always all the travel and accommodation details were spot on.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
I am a complete anal retentive when it comes to organising these trips and I think my consultant struggled (only an eency weency bit mind) to keep up with that - one or two details needed changed quite soon before my trip after a reminder. God I'm fussy!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
All really really good. A particular mention for the Todaya Ryoan in Ise which was fantastic.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All the itineraries were pretty accurate but my tip is double check on Hyperdia to give yourself a back up plan.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Ryokan food is seriously brilliant - but after a few nights of that get off your bum and go find some tiny yakitori place, or Mos Burger.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I've done 4 trips with IJT and they've all rocked - so why would I use anyone else?
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Andrew Hildreth - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
No worries, no problems, and someone was always willing to help. Great food, culture, and skiing!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was brilliant and 'on the money' with all suggestions. It made the trip so much better.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Many thanks for your feedback Andrew. Glad Mark looked after you well!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  0 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Hobkinson - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Had a great time and appreciated all the information and support provided
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Friendly, clear communicator, quick to follow up
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 16th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home Susan! I'm really glad you had a great time in Japan, and I'm glad the problem with your passport was resolved easily. I'm sorry you had trouble catching the train between Shin-Osaka and Kyoto. As mentioned in the daily itinerary section of your Info-Pack, JR update their timetables at the end of March each year meaning that some train times change slightly. It looks like this is the reason why you were not able to catch the train you were expecting. I'm sorry for the confusion, but I'm glad you were able to get there in the end! Many thanks for travelling with us and for your valued feedback. Richard
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009