contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 568 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 1-10 of 2728
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Theodore Rosenblatt - Best of Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
InsideJapan Tours was prompt and informative in responding to our request for a tour in spite of the very short notice we gave. Our specific requests were accommodated and excellent support material was provided. We were in Japan during both recent typhoons and the concern and support that InsideJapan Tours provided during these incidents was excellent. The personal contact we received was most reassuring and the alterations to plans required were handled by the company most efficiently and without inconvenience to us. We had a wonderful tour.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivienne was very knowledgeable about Japan and responded warmly and openly to our requests and was particularly sensitive to our personal circumstances. She always responded promptly and was very reassuring and supportive.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
We expected rooms to be much smaller than they were - they were more than adequate for our needs and comfort.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent - the passes and information provided made transport trouble free (but still hectic at times).
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
In spite of the typhoons the tours in Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent. Our guide in Tokyo did very well under the circumstances and made something for us out of a wet and windy day. Our guide in Kyoto was wonderful and you could not have chosen a more compatible person for us. He went beyond the call of duty and well over time and made Kyoto memorable for us.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We had a wonderful trip and contrary to expectations found it very affordable. That, of course, added to our enjoyment.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
The excellent way in which you organise your tours provides a good structured learning experience about how to get on in the country and in one way encourages confidence about getting by unsupported.
Review submitted: 27th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ian Simons - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
David Lovejoy could not do enough for us when we were in Tokyo.He took us to paces that we never have found ourselves.we left him to chose the route.being rather older - he did it at our pace.At the end of our stay in Tokyo he spent lots of time giving us advice about the rest of our time in Japan He help to make it an amazing trip of a life time
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
we found your company by chance on the web.Matthew planned the part of the trip your company arranged with care and constant help.Every time I phoned he gave of his time never rushing or wanting to get o0ff the phone. I phoned many times and his advice was accurate for our needs.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
As sai8d before the Ryokan you chose with our upstairs suite was the highlight of the who holiday.You even arranged special food for us which we received. Thank you so much Matthew- you have 2 excellent employees David and Matthew.I could go on for ever they made this so special and deserve special notice. If you want phone please do not hesitate
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I have altre4ady discussed this earlier We arranged our own flights with a break in Paris which Matthew said would be fine!!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
i have said earlier how kind and willing David Lovejoy was
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
deffinitely
Review submitted: 27th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Natalia Henwood - 7 Night Price Cruncher, Nov 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I had an amazing time in Japan thanks to the careful planning and assistance from Inside Japan. My travel consultant was with me every step of the way, from organisation and throughout the trip. Even when I travelled solo, I felt very well looked after and enjoyed every day in Japan to the fullest.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Ali is extremely knowledgeable and thanks to her advice and tips, I managed to see and enjoy Japan despite of travelling on my own for the first time.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 27th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Hiltrud Couser - Japan Enchantment, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Amazing experience made even better by Mark, out tour guide who made it possible for me to find selected sights not on the official program.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Fujishige - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Untiring and enthusiastic always ready to help in every way. With his help I managed to visit the folkscraft museum in Tokyo and the nunnery in Chugi, Nara to see the beautiful 9 th century camphor wood Buddha . Mark also made allowances for the fact that I was a solo traveller of an advanced age. So, cheers for Mark!!i think that you have got things right. Many thanks
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Prompt and spontaneous replies to any queries. Very friendly and confidence inspiring .
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 27th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Mirjam Oord - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He did a great job, it was very short notice.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Great
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 27th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Bharat Aggarwal - Independent Travel, Nov 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
very well organised
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 27th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Martin Brumby - Hidden Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
A first rate tour, well designed and well led!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
William was excellent. Helpful and friendly and went out of his way to assist, to explain and to find out things.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Friendly and helpful.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Some exceeded, one or two not quite as good but all OK. I have reviewed all on Trip Advisor (Martin99). Koyasan and Kotohira were exceptional.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I thought it was fine. Enjoyed most of it.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Really enjoyed it with only trivial exceptions. But I love Japanese food. My wife also enjoyed it but less, because she isnt keen on rice! We were a bit bemused by the breakfast at Matsuyama, where there was no choice at all and only a fairly hardcore Japanese breakfast was offered. I enjoyed it, most others didnt!
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Really enjoyed it and also our first day (in Kyoto) and our last (Nara) outside the tour itself. Beware the biscuit-crazed deer in the park! We bought a pack of biscuits and almost had to throw them up in the air and run for it! Whilst one deer tried to eat my shirt, another thought my camera lens might be tasty and gave it a good lick! Unfortunately I didnt spot this until later, to the detriment of the photos. No permanent damage (lens filter) but a bit crestfallen about some photos! Oh well! A good excuse to return!
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I thought you did a great job. I would possibly opt for a self guided adventure.
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jacquelyn Landos - Japan Enchantment, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
everthing ran very smoothly
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Fujishige - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was knowledgeable and friendly. He was flexible to allow different views and wants. An excellent guide
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
great to travel on local transport, easier and cheaper too. Bullet train terrific
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
the formal meals were superb. Meals at the Ryokan in Nikko extremely good and catered to dietary problems very well
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
the included meals were of an excellent standard. The last night was a little substandard but perhaps that reflected the busyness of the restaurant
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
enjoyed the group size and local travel. Would look for Mark Fujishige again.
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Jacquelyn,
Welcome home. I am glad you enjoyed your tour. Mark is a great guy and I am glad he took good care of you. The meals in Japan are fantastic and that is a big part of the reason my original two year trip to Japan and lengthened into 10 years and counting. Truly the way to my heart is through my stomach.
I hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Japan again.
Best Regards, Nathaniel
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stuart Coombe - Japan Unmasked, Nov 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent :)
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William was excellent in his capacity as our tour leader
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark Johnson was highly efficient and very helpful with questions i had before the trip
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The traditional inns are amazing, and the hotel rooms where much larger than expected
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very good
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
All the food was fantastic
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Amazing trip, all i can say is i wish it was longer and keep up the good work
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
extremely useful having a native speaker with us, and also he was very knowledgeable and in general makes the trip much more enjoyable, no hard work just relaxing. And the trip was extremely well organised
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Martyn Trenerry - Japan Unmasked, Nov 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
This was my second visit to Japan, but the first time for my wife. William was an excellent leader. WE thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I have already recommended you to a friend.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Faultless service. Very engaging, dealt with any issues that arose. W was very considerate of everyones wishes.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
William ensured it worked well.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
all good
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 26th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Forward to Next PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009