contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 449 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 41-50 of 2300
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
Jason Williams - Independent Travel, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
This was an excellent holiday. Japan was a fantastic country. It was ever so easy to travel here. This was aided by the organisation and service of Japan itself but also the great work of Inside Japan. There were a couple of problems with the weather in Hokkaido but the team in Nagoya did a great job in helping us out.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Simon King - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Simon did an excellent job in organising our holiday. Our itinerary was very efficient but never left us tired. It was great that I was able to meet Simon on a couple of occasions which is unusual in this day and age. No doubt this played its part in creating a holiday that required very little change during its planning.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The accommodation was very good throughout and also very varied from staying in a house (Lake Furen), to a historic hotel in Matsumoto to the modern skyscraper hotels of Tokyo.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was excellent throughout with the highlight being the ride on Shinkansen from Nagano to Tokyo. Definitely worth paying extra for first class. Train journey from Sapporo to Kushiro also very good in terms of comfort, service and scenery. Tokyo underground pretty straightforward to negotiate.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We prefer to travel without guides and we certainly felt Japan was easy enough to travel without them. However, we did have a guide for one day in Sapporo. Kimmi did enhance our experience. She was very friendly and knowledgeable. The benefit if spending time with Kimmi was to talking generally to her about Japan. At Tsurui Ando guided us for half a day and the benefit here was that he set us up for further time in this area so that we could fully maximise our time here.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was excellent. There was only one meal that we did not enjoy and that was sushi. It's not like the sushi you generally buy in our country. Wildlife watching was very easy. Cranes and snow monkeys were in abundance. Travelling on public transport easy and great fun. The railway stations with huge numbers of people were very interesting places. Above all else service in Japan was great. People very friendly.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Inside Japan organised a great holiday. The trip went very smoothly with the exception of a couple of days due to very extreme weather but even in this instance Inside Japan did a great job looking after us. I don't think our holiday could be improved upon in any way.
Review submitted: 13th Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks for your comments Jason; glad you enjoyed Japan! Glad too that you got to meet with Simon when planning your trip. We do welcome all those who can make it to Bristol to come and visit our office. In this age of phone and internet business, it is great to meet people face to face!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
William Penn - Independent Travel, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great suggestions from John about what to see and do and how to prioritize our time. Excellent material supplied to us.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
John listened to what we wanted to do and understood that we are very well traveled and enjoy our independence. He suggested the bike tour in Kyoto, the visit to Mt Koya, and the Naked Men Fesitval in Okayama- all of which were highlights to our trip.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The Tawaraya in Kyoto was pricey and just did not live up to its reputation. I stayed there 25 years ago and it was magical but this time it felt formulaic. Whereas the place we stayed to see the snow monkeys was wonderful. It had excellent service, some of the best food on our trip, and spacious comfortable rooms. Their onsen was a delight too. We wish we had spent 2 nights in Mt Koya- we liked it so much!
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Japan Rail pass was a great value and the transport passes included in our package were great time savers.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
See above
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We really enjoyed the food in Japan although at times it was a challenge to know what we were eating- especially at breakfast.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Inside Asia (John) was very helpful in designing the trip that we wanted. We saved lots of time from waiting in train stations or subways stops due to his useful, detailed information. We loved his suggestions for unique experiences in Japan. We want to go back and experience more onsens and perhaps go to Hokkaido.
Review submitted: 11st Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback!  I'm sorry that the Tawaraya didn't measure up to expectations and memory; I'll pass your impressions along.  I'm really glad, though, that the Jinpyokaku in Yudanaka was a highlight of your trip.  They truly are a treat in the Japanese Alps.  Mt. Koya is also a magical place.  Perhaps in another lifetime you were a Buddhist Monk and you finally had a chance to return.

I'm also glad that you had the good fortune of timing your trip to see the Naked Man Festival in Okayama.  This once-a-year festival is a chance for men clad in loincloths scramble in a giant crowd for lucky sticks, thrown by a Shinto Priest.  I hope you also enjoyed the street food and lively atmosphere!

We also love getting requests for our Japanese pub experience with our Tour Leaders.  It's such a great opportunity to go beneath the surface and get a taste of local food culture and feel the beat of the city nightlife.  We're definitely open to requests for the evening.

I look forward to helping with your next trip for more onsen and Hokkaido!

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Patricia Anderson - Winter Highlights, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Superb, particularly your and Richard's efforts to get us to the snow monkeys! Sadly defeated by the unprecedented snow.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Pearce - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always available but never intrusive. I particularly want to thank Richard for his efforts in obtaining vegetarian food for me.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Maddy Rodell - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Good, I like using public transport. This is one of the reasons I chose this type of tour.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Excellent, as I've already mentioned Richard's efforts in securing vegetarian meals
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
A far better service than my trip to Japan 3 years ago with another company.
Review submitted: 08th Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback, Patricia! I'm pleased you enjoyed your time on our Winter Highlights tour this February and hear you are now considering visiting Kyushu with us next year. I'm glad Richard helped you find some great vegetarian food options - eating as a veggie in Japan isn't as daunting as many think! Many thanks, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gemma Elliott - Independent Travel, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Absolutely brilliant. We really can't thank Vivienne enough for organising a trip of a lifetime. Everything ran like clockwork and we had a fantastic time. We loved everything about Japan - a truly fascinating country. We wouldn't hesitate to use Inside Japan again or recommend you to others.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Fantastic. Excellent local knowledge, friendly and very quick to respond to queries.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Awesome hotels and locations in Tokyo and Kyoto. Ski accommodation lower standard (as expected). Will regards to ski Hotel worth noting that they apparently tried to pick us up for bus station - we weren't aware of this service so had already got taxis.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent. Hassle free.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We loved both guides! An excellent way to Introduce ourselves to Tokyo and Kyoto.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Couldn't fault inside japan - everything was brilliant!
Review submitted: 08th Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home, Gemma! I'm really pleased to hear you had such a great trip skiing and exploring in Japan. I hope you enjoyed the tea ceremony with a maiko experience which we added just before you flew out! I'm glad everything ran smoothly and that you loved your hotels and days with guides - the best way to get to know these fantastic cities! Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gillian Black - Winter Highlights, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very friendly and approachable
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Pearce - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Funny, full of energy
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Friendly and helpful
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 07th Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for taking the time to fill in our feedback form. Really pleased to hear you had a great trip. If we can help get you back to see the snow monkeys next year, we would love to help make it happen. Many thanks again for travelling with us, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  0 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Daniela Becerra-romo - Independent Travel, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Halley was really helpful.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very helpful.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 07th Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back Daniela! I am so glad I could be a part of your Japan adventure. Please keep us in mind if you ever travel to Indo-China!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Michael Stevens - Japan Unmasked, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very good excellent guide
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Harry Sargant - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always answered any question quickly
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
the temple lodgings could be improved
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
good and interesting
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Chopsticks took some getting used to and it took a little while for my digestion to get used to the food
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 07th Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks for your comments Michael, and welcome home. Glad you enjoyed our Japan Unmasked group tour - it is one of our most popular! The temple accommodation is certainly one of the more unusual experiences on the tour, and the comfort level is a bit below the rest of the tour. But hopefully the unique experience makes up for it. Happy travels in the future. Harry
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gillian Black - Winter Highlights, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent advice and help I n organising my trip andhad a wonderful time apart from not seeing snow monkeys as mountain was closed due to volume of snow.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Pearce - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Lovely chap who tried his best to get us up mountain to see snow monkeys.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Freindly and very helpful
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very busy undergrounds but all other aspects went well.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
All fantastic
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
All included meals were lovely , but I feel some more should have been provided.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
To see snow monkeys as I missed out.
Review submitted: 02nd Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for taking the time to fill in our feedback form. Really pleased to hear you had a great trip. If we can help get you back to see the snow monkeys next year, we would love to help make it happen. Many thanks again for travelling with us, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Davies - Winter Highlights, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Good prompt responses
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Pearce - Satisfied Customer Rating
Richard was a nice chap with good local knowledge but a tendency to rush off and leave people behind. He rushed off on our first day in Tokyo and left myself and to fend for ourselves which initially was a bit scary. It turned out well but that would be my only criticism.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Good responses and good information packs
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 02nd Mar 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back, John! I'm glad you enjoyed this year's Winter Highlights tour, taking in the Sapporo Snow Festival, Tsurui's red-crowned cranes as well as the cultural capital of Kyoto and the bright lights of Tokyo. The weather shut down the Nagano bullet train line for the first time since it was built and it was a real shame you didn't get to visit the snow monkeys but it sounds like you all had a great time at the end in Tokyo. Many thanks for your feedback, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Emma Davis - Golden Route, Jan 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Inside Japan were brilliant, happy to listen to our needs and to rejiggle the itinary (many many times) until it was just perfect for us. Karen was always willing to help answer questions and make suggestions that were suitable for our interests and budget. The trip itself was fantastic, Japan is an amazing and unique country and Inside Japan really helped us make the most of the time we had there.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
As above
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
It was all very good. The Tokyo one was pretty 'no frills', but it was functional, and the staff were very helpful. The royakon in Hakone was amazing, with the upgrade to the room with a private bath one of the highlights of the holiday! The hotel in Kyoto was very nice too, and the capsule hotel was an experience!
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All worked really well (apart from the original transfer, where we got dropped of at the wrong hotel, but we recieved a fax from the transfer company apologising and the pick-up side of it had all gone so well!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both our guides were fantastic - it was really good to get the opportunity to discuss life in Japan as well as being shown some fantastic places.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Just to say...The meals at the royakon we stayed at in Hakone seemed never ending. Everything was delicious and it was a real treat! But having fish and rice for breakfast took a bit of getting used to!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
One of the biggest reasons we chose to use InsideJapan was because we were unsure how easy it was going to be to travel round Japan and book accomodation, and tickets for events such as sumo, along. Inside Japan also seemed like great value for money for the service you got. However, now we would feel more comfortable booking our own accomodation etc, which would maybe consider booking independently. However, if we were to use a travel company again to book everything, InsideJapan would be my first choice!
Review submitted: 28th Feb 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Emma,

Thanks for your feedback! We're really glad you had a good time and hope we can tempt you to take another trip with us.

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009