contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 460 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 41-50 of 2461
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
Martin Burgoyne - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent service. Impressed with the contact made with us while we were in Japan, and obvious follow up with our accommadation that then occured.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Most helpful, really took our ideas into consideration when helping us plan the trip. She pitch the whole holiday, itinerary and standard of accommadation at a level that we really appreciated. Rapid response to all our emails. Our only concern was the late arrival of our final documentation due to Easter in the UK, us living in Australia and the additional public holidays here the courier post went via Sydney, we live in Perth that added an extra 2 or 3 days. But we did get them in just in time, and plans were in place if they hadn't arrived by the time we left!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
A perfect match to the standard we wanted - many exceed expectations. All were very well positioned close to sigts and stations.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
We were impressed to have private taxis from and to the airport, but guess this was due to us flying in from Austalia rather than the UK. Bullet rains were impressive, we idn't go for reserved seating as after the first one we decided there was no need.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our Tokyo guide was OK, the Koyoto guide was superior and imparted far more information. The guided cycle tour in Kyoto was also first class with a very informative guide - highly recommended.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Food and its presentation was amazing in the ryokans and minshuku's we stayed in - a memorable experience. But we ocasinally got to the point where all we wanted was some nice crusty bread and chesse - so might put where the nearest 'western' supermarket or gourmat food shop is in the hotels area! This give you a chance to eat in!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Excellent service. Great communication, friendly and helpful. Holiday tailored to our wants. Made the potenially difficult logistics so easy. Proabably gave us one of the best 4 holidays we've had in 40+s year of world wide travel.
Review submitted: 01st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Martin,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We're glad we could help arrange a great trip for you! We have taken your points on board and hope we can make an even smoother trip for you next time!

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Hushider Munshi - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
All arrangements were to our satisfaction & the info pack was adequate. However,at Amanohashidate we were told that the Jr pass was not valid & we had to pay 1420Yen per person each way.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Prompt, efficient, patient & always reassuring
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The timings of trains /buses were appropriately selected
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
She was very thoughtful
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Yes eating Japanese food was an experience to be cherished
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Supportive & understanding consultants from planning to execution of the trip making the trip hassle free( Amanohashidate was the odd exception)
Review submitted: 01st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for leaving your feedback, Hushider. I'm very glad to hear everything went well - you certainly managed to fit a lot of destinations into your trip!

The train line between Kyoto and Amanohashidate is partly non-JR, which is why you needed to pay an extra fee on the train. Sorry for not mentioning this before - we have now updated our resources to make sure this is clearer.

If we can help you again in the future, please don't hesitate to get in touch any time!

Best wishes,

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ran Galli - Classic Japan, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
First time experience in an organized group tour for us. Though all participants were wonderful people , a group of 8 would have been ideal!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Open minded. Sense of humor. Benevolent effectI've leadership knowledgeable of getting around and options. Smooth operation.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Professional. Sense of humor . Good knowledge of transportation and touring options. Very prompt, responsive and efficient
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 01st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Ran,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed your trip to Japan. I hope you enjoyed the cooking experience in Kyoto and were able to take away some great memories!

Thanks again for travelling with us. We would be delighted to welcome you to Japan again in the future, and please also do get in touch if you are interested in taking a trip to Vietnam, Laos Cambodia and/ or Burma, and the team at InsideVietnam will take care of you.

Ben

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  0 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Rebecca Halstead - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
i found the planning process a little arduous however the experience in Japan was fantastic and i would recommend.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Satisfied Customer Rating
i found at times Karen was a little slow at replying and didn't fully listen to what i wanted and at times things i asked for were missed off. However we got there and the end product was absolutely fantastic - it was just a little arduous getting there.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
We found the following accommodation to be excellent: Hotel Century Southern Tower Tokyo, Hotel Nikko Kanazawa, Tanabe ryokan and Minshuku Daikichi. Gassho Minshuku Ootaya was disappointing in the respect that the people we not very friendly and quite literally showed us our room and left us alone without showing us the toilets were, where we ate evening meal etc. We didn't feel very welcome there. The hotel Granvia was disappointing because the room was very average and we have a poor view looking over the back of Kyoto which for the amount of money we paid we were very disappointed. The breakfast was not of a very high quality and we were taken to dirty tables in the morning and put in a smoking room to eat breakfast
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
transport was excellent.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
we had 3 private guides and they were all excellent. The Gion guide from Waraido was simply fantastic and she was so much fun! cannot fault anything with the guides they were all friendly and knowledgeable.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was different we have never eaten anything like the food we had in Japan however we tried everything and liked some not all food!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
i felt that we got more out of our holiday to Japan booking through IJT than if we had just booked the holiday ourselves.
Review submitted: 01st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on the trip. We're pleased that you had a good experience in Japan and that you will travel again with us.

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Brett - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Service from IJT has been fantastic from start to finish, couldn't fault it, and the planning was meticulous which took out the stress of travelling to a country where little English is spoken and we had a super holiday, Japan and the Japanese people are wonderful. We chose IJT after searching to make bookings ourselves as we're quite independent, and realising that a number of hotel chains may have English pages, but booking engines were mostly in Japanese!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivienne was fab from the start. She listened to what we asked for with the tweaks we wanted to make with the package and then gave us what we asked for, even just a few weeks from the start of the trip when we changed our mind about the limo bus transfer to the airport and opted for N'EX instead. It was all sorted quickly. She's fantastic, an asset to IJT.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Did not meet my expectations
In our hotels: We really weren't prepared for how small the rooms were and they had little room for luggage so that was a little disappointing. Perhaps ensuring that hotels used offer rooms on a par with what you would get in the UK or Europe, which is a bit bigger but not as big as in the US for instance. (On our first night in Tokyo we changed rooms as we had a leak in the bathroom. The hotel were brilliant about it but the room they gave us instead was like a palace compared to what we originally had; it had 4 beds and was clearly a family room, but if it had only been half the size it was with twin beds, it would still have been double the size of the room we were originally allocated). The room in Gora was a little tatty with a large damp mark on one wall, however, everything else about the ryokan made up for it, the place was charming and in a beautiful location. Can't have everything!
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent, easy to use (we still have some yen on our mana a cards to use next time!), the JR pass was easy to use and made travel easy.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides were great, I would say the guide we had in Kyoto was much better though. She had more English and was therefore very easy to talk to. But both were good at what they do.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was excellent, although my partner found the Kaiseki cuisine at the ryokans challenging, but knew he would, and would return in spite of this. Otherwise, food was varied and we found lots of food he liked. Miyajima island is a fantastic destination, we only explored maybe a quarter of it in our time there, it's really a lovely place to chill out, with some good souvenir shopping and plenty to do or not do as you like, and the view from Mount Misen is stunning. Asakusa in Tokyo was great too, old and new with a great vibe. The Golden Pavilion in Kyoto is unbelievable, it's opulence and location, truly stunning with beautiful gardens, we had a great morning there with our guide Yayoi.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Booking is easy and so it takes the stress out of organising everything, it gives us an itinerary with flexibility as we can still do as we please, we know when we're moving on, have an idea of journey times, and so it suits us. Good value for money, although I think next time we're going to upgrade all hotels to get what we're used to, very personal service allowing us to tweak the ready made packages you have, excellent consultant.
Review submitted: 01st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home, John! Thank you for your feedback - great to hear you loved your time in Japan this May. We will certainly look at the directions for those two hotels and ensure they are a bit clearer for the future. Many thanks again for travelling with InsideJapan Tours and I look forward to helping you get back out there next spring! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gareth John - Classic Japan, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Exemplary throughout
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Outstanding. Well-informed, great leadership skills with some difficult clients. Endeavoured to meet needs of individuals and the group simultaneously. He is an asset to your company.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Prompt replies to questions. Organised room before and after and sumo tickets.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Well, public transport in Japan is brilliant, isn't it?
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Challenging at times, but entirely appropriate!
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 01st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Many thanks for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on our Classic Japan tour and the sumo! I have forwarded your comments with regards to the check-in time to our group tours manager who will take it into consideration. I completely agree on the public transport in Japan - it is just brilliant, comfortable and always on time! It is definitely the best way to get around! Thanks again for traveling with us! - Best wishes, Katharina 
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Allan Boolkin - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
excellent
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 01st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Dear Allan,
Welcome home and thank you for traveling with us.
Although I believe that there are always things that can be improved, I'am very pleased to hear that you had a great trip and that you were very satisfied with our service.
Kind regards, Pepijn
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Larisa Ivleva - 7 Night Price Cruncher, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great experience. The trip was wonderful.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
John is simply the best.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The Honkan was like a home away from home. Daiwa Roynet hotel in Kyoto is very high tech and perfectly close to everything. Toyoko hotel one of three in the area, so it might be a little confusing even for the locals. Highly recommend to get there by cab.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All the transportation was very convenient. Fast and easy to figure out.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guide Ms.Sumie was just charming. My husband and I both fell in love with her.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We were very grateful to the hotel staff for serving some pastry, cold cereal and yogurt for breakfast along with the traditional Japanese food. Although we ate the fresh salads, miso soup and fish too, the fermented beans were a little too much.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I liked my trip a lot!
Review submitted: 01st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you very much for your trip feedback!  I'm glad you enjoyed the Ichinoyu Honkan ryokan - a great reason to visit Hakone.  It can take a while to get used to the fermented beans, but it's great to see your shining experience with your private guide.  I hope you get to go to Japan again someday!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Litza Verity - Gastronomic Adventure, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Information provided was accurate , informative and exactly what we asked for and at all times helpful and attentive to our needs.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Nathaniel was wonderful. He listen to what we were after and gave us great service and helpful advice throughout the trip. We offered comments and he took them on board as well. His advice was outstanding. At all times helping us to experience the very best of Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Hakone accommodation was tired. The Cross hotel was a bit tight. The western breakfasts were average.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent. The tickets, passes and timetables made the travelling within Japan doable without stressing. The attention to detail was impressive right down to the post sticks on the tickets.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guide in Tokyo helped to explain the internal working of the rail system as well as show us around Tokyo. He was very good. Our second guide Tomo was great. She explained and walked us through wonderful sites also.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food throughout Japan is wonderful. It was also interesting to see the influence the French has had in Japan. Outstanding restaurant was Anniversary Beige in Kanasawa. The fresh seafood in Miyagima was wonderful. The fish markets and eateries were amazing. Your recommendations in your info pack is excellent. It might be an idea to include some other than Japanese food in the booklets such as Cafe Pont an Anniversary Beige.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The knowledge and expertise is outstanding. With people like Nathaniel on you team customers are getting insights into Japan that are amazing.
Review submitted: 31st May 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Litza,
Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your trip so much.
It was a delight helping you plan your trip and discussing food so much! We have already added 2 or 3 of your suggested restaurants to our destination guides. My next trip to Kanazawa I hope to visit Anniversary Beige as you spoke so highly of it.
We have also begun looking for a new dinner cruise option in Osaka.
I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Japan and introduce more delicasies. Each Japanese Prefecture (State) has their own specialities (and their own ice cream flavors!).
Cheers, Nathaniel
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Deborah Kelly - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We were very impressed with the information packs provided, and all the arrangements worked like clockwork. I had been recommended to Inside Japan Tours and will very happily recommend you to friends. Top marks!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was extremely friendly and helpful, making contact frequently, answering all my questions and dealing with queries by email very quickly.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We had elected to stay in ryokans, and actually found them a bit challenging, so we would have probably done better to stay in one for the experience and then stick with more western style hotels for the rest of the trip. That is a 'hindsight' comment! We did not enjoy the hotel at Lake Toya (the Kohantei) as it was so big and very full of tour busloads of people. (It has a capacity of 900 people, and was pretty full). It was also incredibly smoky, especially the bedding in our room. That was our worst hotel by far. The others were all good. The ryokan on Miyajima was delightful, as was the little cottage at the ryokan in Biei. The hotel in Tokyo (in Asakusa) was in an ideal location.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent. The Shinkansen was a wonderful experience, and we made a lot of use of our JR passes and the IC cards in all the cities. The car rental arrangements in Hokkaido worked well too.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both excellent and knowledgeable. Michyko in Tokyo had the better command of English, and willingly helped us to get our JR passes and book all our seat reservations, which was incredibly helpful.. We really enjoyed our days with both guides.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
See our blog at www.triquetra.co.uk/japan We found the food in ryokans challenging, especially at breakfast time. We loved the sushi and sashimi. We didn't like having something alive to cook at the table! (In the ryokan in Hakodate)
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We are still recovering from the experience, which we thoroughly enjoyed, but found challenging, infuriating, interesting, exciting, at different times. We probably won't return to Japan as there is a lot more of the world to see, but if we do, we would certainly use IJT again.
Review submitted: 31st May 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009