contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 552 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 41-50 of 2627
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
Alessandro Maniscalco - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The itinerary was well planned and the tour guides were very friendly and helpful. Although I am still questioning the purpose of having dinner with the tour leader even though he was nice enough to take a photo of us with his own camera.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was awesome. She was patient with me, responsive, and did her best to accommodate my requests. She also went out of her way for us while we were in Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The Hotel Richmond was on the small side which made it difficult to move around and open our luggage. The Hotel Granvia in Kyoto was fantastic and what I expected for my honeymoon. The Ryokan was beautiful and quite an experience. The hotel in Shinjuku was average with a poor breakfast.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
There was some confusion as to where to meet our driver on the last day to take us to the airport. He was waiting for us on the street, but we were led to believe we were to wait in the lobby which is what I was told when I called the company when the driver hadnt arrived yet. The driver itself was comfortable enough. At first I was disappointed with all the public transportation preferring to go around by bus or car, but after experiencing Japan I realize that public transportation is likely the best option except for Kyoto where a vehicle would have probably been better.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All our guides were great, but Yoshi in particular was fantastic.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Our first guide, Hiroko, gave us some flavored Kit-Kat knowing I liked them which was just so nice of her. Ayako, our guide in Kyoto, was kind enough to purchase a bottle of water from the Kiyomizu-dera Temple because the line to drink from the fountain was so long. Our experiences with the Maikos were among the most notable highlights of our trip. The Shabu Shabu at the Ryokan was the most delicious thing I tasted in Japan.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
As much as we enjoyed InsideJapan Tours, the price was tremendous. Given our familiarity with Japan now, we likely wouldnt need private guides and shouldnt have too much difficulty booking the hotels ourselves. In all we would end up paying close to a third of what we paid for this trip. Im still trying to wrap my head around the math of how high the price was.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your warm compliments on your honeymoon , Alex! It sounds like your days with the guides were special and fantastic and really showcased the hospitality of the Japanese. I'm glad that you also enjoyed the ryokan, often the highlight of any Japan trip, so you could have an authentic Japanese stay, especially the food.

It's perhaps true that you could have booked hotels on your own and for less; however, I'm happy that we could make your honeymoon so smooth and arrange for experiences, such as the Maiko evening in Kyoto, that would have been difficult otherwise, and hope that the day-by-day information we gave you allowed you to enjoy Japan with as little stress as possible!

~ Amy

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lauren Miller - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Overall we received excellent service. The guides were on time and we had no trouble checking in anywhere. The day by day guide book was very useful.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was professional and took care of every detail. My only complaint was the booking into the traditional japanese house. The location was not good for a traveler new to the city.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Average
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Did not meet my expectations
This is the only area where we experienced any difficulty. The location of the japanese house was terrible. Loud street noise all night long. No restaurants anywhere, no front desk. We felt very isolated and after a long day of touring we had not desire to get back on the underground and go searching for a place to eat. The house itself was fun and quaint although my 61 husband kept hitting his head. Might be something you want to check out before booking this for other tall clients.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport worked perfectly.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guides were on time, knowledgeable and very nice.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
breakfast at Sheba Park Hotel was good. I would have liked to know exactly what i was getting into with the japanese house as far as location. I most likely would not have chosen to stay there as location and being able to walk to amenities are always important to me when I travel.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
We will probably attend the 2020 Olympics in tokyo. Will you have any Olympic packages?
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback, Lauren! I'm happy to hear that the public transport worked perfectly and that you found the experiences we arranged quite fun, though we will work on making the taiko directions better. I'm very sorry that the traditional machiya townhouse was not up to your expectations especially its location---describing these stays is something we will work on and explain much clearer in the future. I hope the alternate accommodation we were able to arrange in Kyoto worked out much better! ~ AT
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sheila Eder - 7 Night Price Cruncher, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We were looking for an inexpensive way of experiencing Japan, and this itinerary (extended by 2 days) was perfect!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The ryoken in Hakone was a wonderful experience, exept that the hot water was two flights down from our room. Had I known this, we wouldve opted for en suite. The hotels in Tokyo and Kyoto were OK, about what I expected for a budget trip.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The passes were GREAT. Having them saved a huge amount of hassle.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Ms. Sato was wonderful. We enjoyed her company. Also she recommended a kimono store where English was spoken and which had wonderful kimonos for sale.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Nt suster and I loved the food. I have high praise for the food in Hakone, both at our hotel and a restaurant down the road where we had kaiseki lunch. Fabulous!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Its obvious to me that IJ knows Japan extremely well and offers superior support to travellers.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your kind feedback, Sheila! I'm glad that you and your sister had a great time in Japan, and found our Price Cruncher to be exactly what you needed. It's great that your guide in Kyoto gave you a good recommendation to buy some kimonos as well. I will mention to our managers about making the portal link/access easier. ~ AT
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephen Gregson - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Couldnt have wished for a more personal service, superb all round
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen couldnt have done more, she worked impressively hard to create the perfect trip
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Every single hotel was fantastic, dont know how you did it for the money
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Airport transfers were reliable and very comfortable. Trains, subways etc cannot be faulted at all
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
I was very lucky with my guide, especially as she was able to accommodate what interested me as well as make her own suggestions
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food was one of the highlights, especially the breakfasts. I have been really missing them since my return. Although it is hard to single any hotel out, particular food highlights were in Myajima and Hakone. Lovely, delicious food, beautifully prepared and great service. I am also grateful that Karen suggested that one night in a capsule hotel was enough (I am glad I did it, but thats now ticked off the list!).
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I felt that Karen completely understood what I wanted from my Japan trip. The personal touches of the service were impressive and the quality was excellent while the price was competitive.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Debra Fischer - 7 Night Price Cruncher, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
guide books provided by company
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
set up self guided tour listened to my requests
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 15th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Coral Mula - Traditional Japan, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
It was very well-organised and easy to follow the instructions for getting around. Everything went very smoothly the hotel locations were perfect for sight-seeing and easy travel connections.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very friendly and helpful, excellent service throughout the booking process and on the holiday.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The hotels were very good with helpful staff, as well as being in the right places for easy access to sights and stations.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very good value and easy to use, less complicated than I had expected.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both of them were informative with good suggestions for places to visit. They were just right for us, in fact, very pleasant ladies!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The included meals were wonderful, we loved the food and even developed a taste for real green tea.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Excellent value for money and well-organised. We felt that support would be given if ever needed.
Review submitted: 14th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Katy Tait - Golden Route, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Absolutely fantastic! From the first phone call with Richard Farmer to request a quote back in January 2014, right through to the courtesy call I received from Rachel Rykala on my return, the standard of service has been phenomenol. Selected hotels were of an excellent standard and perfectly positioned for exploring the areas of interest to us for onward travel. Written guidance was very specific in respect of many aspects of our trip (how to use the subways, shinkansen, check-in and out times of hotels, directions to places, ideas for places to visit, etc). Also, the standard of the tour guides in Japan (Michiyo in Tokyo, Shihoko & Mari in Kyoto) were fantastic and enhanced the overll experience for us.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Richard Farmer was excellent. He listened to my requirements and quickly produced a tailored agenda at a great price. He always responded very quickly to email queries and was able to advise knowledgeably. He also adapted the travel plan really well to build in a visit to Kofu, so that I could meet up with firiends there for a few days.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Great. Green Tomato transfer was waiting for us at Narita and brought us quickly to our first hotel. Pre-loaded Manaca card is really helpful and with the clear written guidance given, obtaining the Japan Rail Pass and reserving train seats was easy.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides were exceptional. Very knowledgable in all cases, tailored their tours to meet our needs, went at our pace and kept us entertained throughout. All three were fantastic.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Should be clear from the feedback given above! Good price, extremely well-organised trip (hotels of good standards, in great locations), very friendly & knowledgable staff.
Review submitted: 12nd Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Suzanne - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
all questions were answered, great tips and suggestions, we called the booklet given to us our bible and carried it everywhere.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
very personalized, very patient, great tips and suggestions
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
hotels were great, clean, quiet, well equipped, wifi every hotel, loved the toilets and showers! the locations of the hotels were great, we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go, including shops and restaurants
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
excellent instructions in the bible loved the passes for the trains and other transit. we absolutely LOVED the luggage transportation, it made our trips to Hakone and Mt. Koya much more enjoyable. the hotels were very efficient and the bags we forwarded were waiting in our rooms.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
we had a day guide in Tokyo and a half day in Kyoto, both very knowledgable, helpful and interesting.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
the meals at the ryokan and the temple were great, loved to experiment within some limitations. the breakfasts included were a good mix of eastern and western foods
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We really loved Japan but we saw everything we wanted to see and would likely go to another country. but we loved the arrangements and help planning our trip
Review submitted: 07th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back Suzanne! I am so glad that you enjoyed your big trip. You really had a lot of different interests and goals so it was quite fun to put together your itinerary. I am happy you could see as much as you did while enjoying your Aikido convention. Please keep us in mind for your potential Indo-China adventure!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Angelicka Dom Paul - Tokaido Trail, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
The pre tour service was the best I have encountered. While I was in Japan I felt it could have been be better. Japan however is the most wonderful place and completely exceeded my expectations.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - A Little Disappointed Customer Rating
I felt that our tour leader was a great travelling companion but didnt tell us much about the history or culture of the places that we visited. We often arrived at places and had twenty minutes or so to wander around but werent really told the significance of what we were seeing. I also felt that we were left on our own quite a lot, at Hakone the hotel staff very helpfully gave us details of transport options and things to see but for the best part of a day and a half we had no tour leader as he was with the Fuji climbing group. Our Tour leader would spend the afternoon sorting out our passes or tickets . I also felt that our tour leader seemed not too familiar with the routes to and from the hotel that we stayed in in Koyto and seemed to suggest taking taxis as a default. When we were in Kyoto he did organise an impromptu bike ride to the Tori gates and an evening trip to the Bamboo groves so that was really appreciated.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivenne was really good, all her emails were personal and professional.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Average
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
In Hakone the guest house was very restful and the staff really warm and helpful. I also really like the small hotel in Kamakura. In Tokyo we were in a chain hotel and its pity we used the same chain in Kyoto - I didnt think either were that well located and in Tokyo at the start of the tour we seemed to be spending our time at the other end of the city.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I liked using public transport in Japan, frankly its good value and very punctual so theres no reason not to use it.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The group meal was lovely and exceeded my expectations.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
I think I would look carefully at what is covered in the tour and the use of local guides where appropriate.
Review submitted: 07th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Alan Barham - Best of Japan, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
IJ were always helpful and ready to explain things to us and answer what we thought may be silly questions.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was always helpful and promptly answered all our questions.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Our hotels were always located in perfect areas for sightseeing and the restaurants. The service and helpfulness in the hotels was wonderful. The Ryokans were really special (Miyajima was fantastic - like staying with your favourite giggley auntie - she was an absolute sweetie!)
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Every train was spotless and punctual to the second. Great way to discover Japan.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The hotels were all located in interesting areas of the cities especially in Tokyo & Kyoto. We loved the Asakusa area and Kyoto was very central to the buses and subways. The food in the ryokans was exceptional. Kings banquets was a term that came to mind! The food in tiny backstreet cafes was wonderful! Fresh and cheap. Trying to figure out the menus and pointing at other diners or pictures was always met with friendly laughter by the staff and we were always warmly welcomed. The language barrier was always overlooked with friendly gestures and politeness by the Japanese people.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Professional, helpful, well organised, knowledgable, trustworthy, reliable, friendly.
Review submitted: 07th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009