contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 545 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 41-50 of 2699
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
Philip White - Classic Japan, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Well organised, planned and operated with a good mix of city, history and country
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Fujishige - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark successfully kept us all in order, on time and in the right place. Always had time for individual questions and requirements.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Western hotels a bit mixed. Rooms in Osaka and Hakone smelt of cigarette smoke. Id prefer to trade the authenticity of the Ryoken style hotel in Kamikoche (forgive spelling) for private facilities
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent - I would say that as Im a railway enthusiast!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Personally I am not a fish fan so knew there would be a bit of an issue. Howeever, there was generally enough variety to keep me entertained and the work put in to its presentation and preparation was first calss
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
There were times when I skipped the traditional breakfast and did not have the full meal when provided at hotels, but this is to be expected and is a matter of personal taste. We had a good mix of meals when not eating at hotels.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Right group size. Right mix of activities and possibility to do your own thing - just what I was looking for
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Robbie Collin - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great ideas for places to visit off the beaten track, very quick turnaround of brilliantly planned itinerary. A dream service for anyone who really wants to get under the countrys skin.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Friendly, knowledgeable and always quick to respond via email.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
As I mentioned to Ali on email, a couple of the places I stayed (in Hiraizumi and Haguro-san) now have free wifi in rooms, which was very useful.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Perfect! Transfer times at a couple of stations were quite tight, but I always made it with a couple of minutes to spare, and I appreciate the destinations I was visiting dont have the most regular train services.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Cant imagine service anywhere else being better or more cost-effective.
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for returning to Japan with us, Robbie! I'm so pleased I was able to help you get further off the beaten path, and that you had the chance to visit beautiful Tohoku.

Naruko Onsen doesn't have the widest range of lunch options to be honest, but what it lacks in restaurants it makes up for in hot spring baths. We'll certainly aim to find more restaurants and cafes to recommend next time though!

Hope to help you with another trip in the future!

Best wishes,

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Elissa Lewis - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Both my son and I were a little nervous setting out. This subsided as we began to realise how thouroghly the trip had been set out for us.Japan surpassed our expectations. It is an amazing country to visit.The information supplied by Inside Japan helped us think about the amount of money we would need and how to pack for the trip. As inexperienced travellers this helped such a lot.I can speak for us both when I say that it was an absolutely fantastic trip which has left us with a real travel bug. We will definatly be back for more!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I really felt like Richard held my hand through the whole process. No question seemed to small or too silly. When we were in Japan my son was unwell (tonsilitis). To my surprise Richard contacted us after I had requested some help speaking to the Ryokan we were about to travel to. It was so kind and helped allay my sons worries about the food that might be available.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Some of the pillows in the hotels were not suitable. I liked the way the hotel in the middle of our trip had clothes washing facillities, I dont know if this was by accident or design - really useful
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was fine, Travelling ecconomy for such a long flight was a bit uncomfortable but I gues thats the way it is. Envious looks cast at the buisness class passengers!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Overal this was fine. The second gide in Kyoto was the best. My son disagrees tho and thought the lady we met in Tokyo was good too. Maybe I was a bit fatigued the first time. I did wish I had thought before hand what we wanted to see. Both very useful and nice people
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Too many wonderful moments to mention. I did feel that the travelling at the end of the trip became a little difficult I was exhausted from all the walking. maybe change the balance with the longer stays at the end of trip. This is only a small point and I think reflects my lack of fitness!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Trust worthy company. You delivered what you said you would.
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sam Van Den Bulck - Golden Route, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Like the first trip the service was excellent.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
None that I can think of except that everything was great.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The first hotel was amazing. Best western hotel room the whole trip. Kyoto location was amazing, so close to the shopping arcade !
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
I did not know that Japan was that in to Halloween, which was very fun since Im a big fan of it as well. I loved their take on Halloween sweets and drinks and all the decorations etc. I was hoping for some autumn colored leaves bit it still felt like summer ! So I didnt get the pretty colors but we did get sunny weather and great temperatures, except for the day of the typhoon. But we just got a bit wet and that was about it.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Pricing for the trips are in my opinion fair to excellent. Service is great and having the personalised booklets is extremly handy.
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Sam, Thanks for your comments. We're glad you had a splendid time! We're glad you liked Hotel Niwa in Tokyo and Hotel Vista Premio in Kyoto, they are some of our favourite hotels!

We are in the process of improving our Info Pack resources, so we will definitely update our Ghibili Museum maps. We're happy the typhoon didn't affect your trip too much.

Maybe you could do another trip next November to see the autumn leaves! And to enjoy another Halloween in Japan!

 
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Barry Frost - Best of Japan, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The organisation of the tour, documents and information was superb. We were never wondering where to go or what to do next.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We really enjoyed staying in ryokan, and appreciated their efforts to subsitute for the fish in meals, as my husband does not eat fish. All the accommodation was very well located with regard to sightseeing and transport.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Japan has a brilliant transport system and we were delighted with the passes you provided. We made good use of them ! All information was easy to follow and we had no problems.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had two guides, and both were excellent. However what Mr. Tanaka doesnt know about Kyoto and Japanese history in general probably didnt happen ! We made a great friend that day and would love to host any visit he makes to Sydney.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We go on holidays to see something different and so were very pleased to be able to try traditional Japanese food. For the vast majority, we enjoyed the experience and certainly never went hungry. We loved looking at the food especially, and took photos as it was always beautifully presented.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We find often that we leave it till the last minute to book, dont do enough research and probably miss out on seeing things that we would have liked to see if we were better prepared. Using InsideJapan answered all of our shortfalls as someone else handled all the bookings and checking the accommodation for location and standard etc, and did all the research on what to see. All we had to do was turn up at the airport...now thats a holiday.
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Anthony Connor - Japan Unmasked, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Fantastic experience, well organised and a good level of flexibility
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Masa Hattori - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Masa was endlessly patientand coped very well with some less than favourable weather conditions, including no less than 2 typhoons!!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Cate Füchter - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
incredibly efficient
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
i enjoyed all of the food, It felt like I experienced a good cross section of Japanese cuisine.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
IJT take the hassle out of organising everything, the logistics of traveling in Japan mean that you wouldnt see as much in such a short period if traveling alone.
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sarah Shanahan - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was perfect, would travel with InsideJapan again.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Al the guides were very good.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Great experience with Inside Japan so would use again.
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We're really pleased you enjoyed your time in Japan and hope we can send you back there again!

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Melvin Heyman - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
wonderful, timely, personal, nothing negative to say
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was/is terrific hope to use her services again someday
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
see comments regarding Kamakura Also one night at the Riokan in Miyashima was adequate
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
great
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
some better than others. Best was in Kyoto.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Ask my wife Jody (jodyheyman@gmail.com) to comment as well
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
love the people, the country, hosts were attentive and gracious, etc!
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback, Mel! It sounds like you and your wife had a great time in Japan both before and after your conference. I'm glad you loved meeting the Japanese people and exploring the country and am glad that we could help you get back your camera all right! I will certainly take note of the guide in Kyoto's name, and will be sure to make sure people are more aware of deadlines in the future. ~ Amy
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Vinya Noy - 7 Night Price Cruncher, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Booking my first solo trip with InsideJapan Tours was one of the best choice Ive ever made. The tour was very organized and I had everything I needed for a smooth trip. Japan is a beautiful country with so many things to do and see. I didnt think I would enjoy going on vacation alone, but you guys made it possible! I normally plan my own arrangements, but I didnt have the time for this trip. I was still able to experience a lot of things during the time that I had.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
John was extremely helpful from start to finish. It was my first time traveling solo and the first time using a travel agency. He was very knowledgeable and ensured that the trip is exactly as advertised. My trip was very last minute, but he still did his best to accommodate my requests.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 07th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you so much for your feedback, Vinya! I'm really glad that you had such a great solo trip on our Price Cruncher. Thank you for your flexibility in last-minute travel and for exploring Japan with us!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Pablo Bunge - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything went smoothly, we enjoyed our trip and came home feeling we had a wonderful trip, having seen and learned a lot
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
although we never met and the distance was enormous we felt very well taken care of, the trip tailored to our wishes
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 06th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Pablo, welcome back from your trip! It's good to hear that things went smoothly, it can make a big difference to a trip when it covers a lot of ground. We're currently going through our maps and updating them, thank you for the comment! Hope to see you again some day!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009