contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 507 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 41-50 of 2542
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
Nathan Russell - Japan Unmasked, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great service from start to finish.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William-Kayne Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William always went out of his way to make sure that everyone was happy, He was driven and very active which helped us see so much!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
My travel consultant was straight to the point and very helpful which put me at ease
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I enjoyed using public transport but perhaps a few more taxis would have helped instead of so much walking, I know some of us wouldn't have minded paying!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The included meals were amazing, even if there were some items that did not appeal to me I still enjoyed the overall experience.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would be interested on going on one of your other tours but some of them seem to duplicate what was already covered in Japan unmasked. Also going on this tour has given me the confidence to perhaps do it alone! But a tour group is always more fun!!
Review submitted: 08th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
William Carr - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything went well: my itinerary was (relatively!) demanding, but all of the arrangements you'd put in place for me worked well. The trip was a great experience.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire went out of her way to help me develop a workable itinerary to get the most from a short visit, including a Fuji climb and some fairly-complex travel arrangements. The hotels and guest house she suggested were a good balance of comfort, location and value.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All of the hotels (and the guest house) were welcoming, good value, and in locations that allowed me to easily explore the local area.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Everything worked well. The Hakone travel pass in particular was useful as it included local ferries, and the JR Rail Pass included the ferry to Miyajima. The bullet trains were impressive!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
n/a
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Claire put together a package that made a fairly-demanding itinerary work well.
Review submitted: 08th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Bill,

I'm glad to hear everything went smoothly with your trip and you were able to make the most of your time in Japan. I'm especially pleased to hear the bullet trains lived up to your expectations! Thank you for your comments on the Hakone maps, I'll be sure to include them for future Mt Fuji climbers.
Take care,

Claire
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephen Brown - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
As first timers to Japan, we found the information and the prebooking of the hotels, trains, taxis etc well worth the extra money we paid. The accommodation we were booked into was of a high standard. The 2 guides we had were very knowledgeable and did their very best to cater for our slightly odd requests. Ayako now knows were to find a Cat Cafe in Kyoto! It was a fantastic holiday and my son has the chance to go back next year with the World Scout Jamboree. We will be calling on your services again.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
We did not deal directly with Jocelyn as we were working through a travel agent. However it was clear that Jocelyn was able to put together an excellent itinerary covering most of our wish lists. Highlights for me were the Sumo and the Gion Matsuri but there were so many other fabulous things. There was a glitch at the last second with our accommodation at Harkone but Inside Japan not only got us an upgrade but provided a taxi to the new ryokan which meant we had time to visit the museum of modern art. Left to get there on our own I think we would have not had the time for this. The "manuals" proved far more useful than our guide books and I had a real panic one evening when I thought I had lost one. Its this personal touch to the tour which makes we want to return as a customer.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
For longer stays, accommodation which had coin operated laundry proved essential.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Perfect! The IC cards, the pre booked trains, the rail pass, the taxis. All fitted together perfectly. So although this was the most expensive holiday we have been on, the time you saved us in trying to navigate the country was worth every penny.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides were brilliant. Excellent local knowledge. We loved the garden that Masa took us to at the start of our day in Tokyo and it was so quiet. Ayako worked hard at finding us the Cat Cafe and still fitted in lots of sights in Kyoto. Their English level was excellent. If/when we come back to Japan I would definitely be interested in hiring guides of this quality again.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I have already covered vegetarians. Ninja Akasaka restaurant was easily the most expensive meal of my life but as my daughter said "We had a blast". And the roast beef - oh my God I was in heaven! Another unexpected gem was the Ghibli Museum. We really enjoyed our visit here.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Mentioned above, the key thing is the time you save. By having all the travelling bits sorted, you can just go out and do the sight seeing things. It takes all the stress out of the holiday.
Review submitted: 07th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Harrison - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was arranged for the trip as I requested and generally there were no issues in Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was very competent and everything was dealt with in a timely, friendly and efficient manner.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Mitsui Garden Hotel in Hiroshima and Nagoya Tokyu Hotel exceeded my expectations.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
BA flights good, JAL flight to Nagasaki good. Other than a couple of local trains to Kamakura & Yokohama which didn't run, all train journeys ran well.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All self guided, not applicable.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I have eaten alot of japanese food over the years and now I find eating Japanese takes on western dishes quite enjoyable at times.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I've now travelled to Japan 5 times, so I know my way around quite well. Even so, I find using Inside Japan with their knowledge extremely useful and if things did go wrong I could always have help/contact with their Nagoya office. Inside Japan make the trips easier than if I did all the arranging myself.
Review submitted: 07th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi John,

Thank you for travelling with us again! We're really glad you had a good time.

Thank you for all your constructive feedback, it's very useful indeed; we are working to improve our resources all the time.

All the best,

Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Katherine Campbell - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was very easy.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Halley was very helpful in getting us in to see some of the more off-the-beaten-path things, and laid out the trip in a logical manner.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
In some cases, we felt like our accommodations were too fancy or too Westernized, and we would have preferred something a little simpler. However, it may very well be that the hotels chosen were the best for the locations we wanted to see.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The train system was fairly easy to use, and it was nice to know what specific lines we were looking for. It was easy to compare kanji from the booklet to signs in the stations.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
we liked both our guides. They were very accommodating and happy to explain cultural aspects to us.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
InsideJapan was essential for getting into some places, and it made the trip much easier for us, not having to worry about reservations to things such as Kabuki or Saiho-ji. It was nice to have someone familiar with everything handle the more difficult aspects for us.
Review submitted: 06th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Katherine, thank you very much for your feedback. It's lovely to hear that everything went so well and that you appreciated the value we provide. The Info-Packs are indeed extremely useful in helping you navigate the country on your own! Mat (for Halley).
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Claire Wilkinson - Japan Unmasked, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very good.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William-Kayne Mukai - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Ok. Didn't like the Japanese breakfasts.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 06th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Claire,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear that you had a good time on our Japan Unmasked small group tour. It's true that Japanese breakfasts can be an acquired taste!

Thanks again for travelling with us. Please also do get in touch if you are interested in taking a trip to Vietnam, Laos Cambodia and/ or Burma, and the team at InsideVietnam will take care of you.

Ben

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  0 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Anja Meier - Independent Travel, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time in Japan and InsideJapan Tours played a huge role in making it a more organized and enjoyable trip for us.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
John helped to make our trip more enjoyable by helping us get good quality hotels in prime locations with excellent transportation options.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Our transportation was very well thought out the only thing we would change is our hotel in kyoto was quite a distance away from the train station and we had to use the subway to get there which for us, who were travelling on a budget was just more money we had to spend.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had a guide to watch Sumo Wrestling who was very friendly and spoke very good english and was quite knowledgable about the sumo world.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
We used InsideJapan Tours mainly to help us with our hotels and transport but now that we have been there and have found our way around a bit we may be able to plan our next trip on our own.
Review submitted: 05th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm really glad to hear that we were able to provide good value for your trip. I've noted your preference for a closer hotel to Kyoto Station. We often find our travelers prefer to stay in the Karasuma area for access to it's many food options and livelier atmosphere.

That's great that your guide to see the sumo morning training added value to the experience for you. Hopefully you gained an appreciation for the sport with their explanations!  I'm happy to hear that you're looking at returning one day as well!

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Eugenie Albrecht - Japan Unmasked, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had an excellent trip to Japan, because: 1. We were thrilled that we chose this particular tour as it took us to the places we actually always wanted to see. 2. This small group size (11) is perfect and everyone got on so well. 3. On 'Free Days' we could do what interested us and/or could split up from the group and do our own thing. Other times others joined us or we joined them. 4. A big parcel of booklets, maps, train card, etc was sent to us which was useful. 5. It was very well organised, punctual and no long waits at points of departure right down to the very last detail. 6. It actually gave us a new perspective of ourselves: we could actually start travelling lighter (!) and we could get around Tokyo with the greatest of ease because we were sent explicit directions and photos of what to do and what the airport station looked like. 7. It also proved that one can travel in Japan with the greatest of ease as well as being able to travel SOLO with Inside Japan.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Alan was a generous, patient, caring guide who was always at the forefront to see that all participants got what they wanted be it in interests, activities, food adding loads of recommendations. He went out of his way to show us additional sites, particularly from an insider’s point of view together with his valuable knowledge of Japan, which assisted us to understand a different culture and really enjoy Japan, wanting to return to this amazing country. We are most appreciative.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
We were personally called by Mark Johnson, and this made it easier to ask questions and get answers initially creating a relationship with Inside Japan Tours. However, later we were dealing via email with two other consultants, as he was away leading a tour, which made it slightly less personal. But we always got answers.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent buses, trams, different trains. Seating was always together which was great.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
It was great to eat where the locals eat see food being prepared in front of one. However, vegetarian food was a little difficult to get, which made it a tad disappointing as everyone always raves about the food in Japan. Was also difficult to distinguish from the restaurant pictures and artistic 3D models of food, whether it was vegetarian or not. (Not the problem of IJT, I know!!!). However what I got was fine. Nice to try foods that are particular to each area, especially the pancakes in Hiroshima!! My husband enjoyed the meaty foods very much.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Was wonderful to get always get toiletries in every bathroom.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Would also like to do it on our own, but with help from Inside Japan e.g. organising a JR Pass, etc.
Review submitted: 05th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Cornelis Lok - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great accommodation and everything was correct unto the smallest details
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All accommodations were fine. We very much enjoyed the Auberge Sora , the Suikazura hotel and the hospitality of the Nature Inn Furen. The Minshuku in Rausu had improved the toilet facilities compared to our visit of three and eight years ago but the standard of the food had clearly declined (The hostess had forgotten about our booking? She seem to be surprised when we showed the voucher).
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 05th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Cornelis,

I'm really glad you enjoyed your return to Japan. I really love the Auberge Sora and am glad you had a good stay there.

Thank you for your feedback, it's much appreciated and we'll take on the points you have raised.

All the best,

Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Bo Bissum - Japan Unmasked, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
x
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William-Kayne Mukai - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
x
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
x
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 05th Aug 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home Bo! I'm pleased you enjoyed our Japan Unmasked tour in July and hope you had fun on your 5 night add-on to the northern highlights of Nikko and Sendai. Many thanks, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009