contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 558 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 31-40 of 2630
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
Joanna Maxwell - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Brilliant organisation, very responsive to changes and requests, very happy!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Loved the Kyoto hotel, and Koya-san, also Tsumago
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Long travel days
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Mr and Mrs Ota were AMAZING, just brilliant. Our guides in Kyoto and Koyasan also excellent. Kanazawa guide was fine, and Tokyo guide was not good at all.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We fell in love with Japan - in all its contrasts and cultural quirks! We eat a lot of Japanese food at home, so enjoyed it - though we both got a bit sick of the similarity if meals towards the end. We are both keen to explore Japan further one day. The luggage forwarding service was a BIG help.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Personalised itineraries, excellent advice, lovely Vivienne, all guides (bar one) were fabulous, the city guides were great. It was the perfect blend of going it alone and having a trusted local guide all the way.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Suzanne Taylor - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
HAving travelled before we knew what to expect. Good service with excellent execution
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
William Evertson - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We are not used to being on a group tour so not knowing what to expect this tour exceeded our expectations.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Fujishige - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was always helpful in providing the group with alternatives to the suggested activities, never flustered and always in a great mood. He loved showing us great dining experiences. He also did a great job of shepherding us through the public transit during the trip.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Bill! It's great to know that the group tour exceeded your expectations and that Mark did a great job of showing you around Japan and all his favorite Japanese dishes. I hope you got to eat all kinds of delicious food during your trip! ~ Amy

William traveled on our Japan Unmasked group tour, our most popular Essential tour, which really gives you a great overview of the country's main cities and smaller gems like Kurashiki.

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stuart Henson - Golden Route, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
excellent trip, superbly organised and good value for money
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
friendly and knowledgeable
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
didnt know what to expect, that is why i went there to learn !
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I would normally rent a car but Japanese trains are excellent. All transfers worked well and punctual also
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
all very good, except one that struggled with English a little. ( on the cooking course, not the chef but the market guide ) it was OK though.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I thought the food was amazing, my mother would rather eat McDonalds though... I could live in Kyoto tomorrow !
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No
Now I have been I would book direct next time, but I would recommend you for a first visit and would use you for another new country.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Matthew Mcaleney - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent...couldnt have asked for more!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David Lovejoy made this experience the best of my life and it would not have been the same without him. I highly recommend him for reward if possible. David is a credit to the company and i hope that can be recognised.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always helpful and answered any questions effectively and efficiently
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Loved each hotel for different reasons. But all were great!
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Tour leader organised all tickets and info on travel during the tour so everything went smoothly and was to the highest standard. Also i realised transport in general is so much more efficient in Japan overall.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
All great meals and i tried some amazing dishes and ingredients! Special mention to the venues suggested by David. Awesome choices which i joined him on!
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
It was the perfect tour - locations seen, people met, food, venues, entertainment, sights seen, activities partaken in, local people. I would commend David Lovejoy once again as it was on a big part due to him leading that this was such an amazing experience. I hope InsideJapan can reward him for the efforts and services he provides as it is second to none and fully deserved. Thank you very much.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You see as much as possible, more than what you would outside of the tour. Tour leader as mentioned, was truly the best there could be and i would go anywhere he was leading in future tours!
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
William Morton - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great tour saw everything we wanted to would recommend you to our friends etc
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Will was brilliant and adapted to all of our needs, very knowledgable and a great laugh.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was great she replied to emails very efficiently and promptly
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Richard Fisher - Best of Japan, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
excellent concept, great preparation from Amy and v. easy to use the programme. would do it again (not to the same place, obviously).
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
attentive knowledgeable flexible. and fast. no complaints.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
ryokans were great asakusa hotel too final hotel in Tokyo not that helpful - had to get IJ involved to switch floors and they were ve. inflexible re: late checkout.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Bullet trains great but no wifi (even when it said there was) local trains quaint but reliable.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
a bit uneneven (see above)
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Food at the Ryokand was spectacualr. In the hotels, not as good esp. breakfast. Asakusa was great, otherwise disappointing esp.Kyoto.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
comprehensive, self-guided travel with minimal hassle.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Richard! I really enjoyed working with you and Andy to put together your trip, and hope you had fun traveling together. I'm glad you really enjoyed your stay at the ryokan in Hakone, and we will look into your other hotels to make sure the quality hasn't slipped. I'm very sorry about the construction going on at your final Tokyo hotel, but am glad our Japan Office could switch you floors in the end! ~ Amy

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Knowles - Golden Route, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was prompt and informative, and very helpful.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Richard listened to our situation and offered suggestions to make the trip work. He also changed the hotel booking when I queried the area in Tokyo we had first been given a hotel booking in.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All the hotels were clean and welcoming, and the beds comfortable, apart from the Ryoken, where you sleep on the floor.The private hot tub was lovely in Gora, as we probably wouldnt have tried the public baths.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The shuttle from the airport worked well, and it was essential to have the Japan Rail Pass and the Manaca card. The Hakone travel pass also made our short time there very efficient.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both our Guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were friendly and knowledgeable, and we benefitted greatly from our time with them.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The two dinners in the Ryoken were the highlight for food for us. We ate well and more cheaply than we had anticipated on other days. We were prepared to try different dishes.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We feel your choice of accommodation is reliable, and you know the country well.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Daniel Castillo - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Well, we made it back from our trip to Japan. Simply put, it was AMAZING! The people, the culture, the food, the locations we visited, were just perfect. I canít thank you enough for helping us make this trip happen. Japan was definitely on our bucket list and it became a reality. We DEFINITELY want to go back. There is still so much to see. Everything pretty much went perfectly. The only issue we had was when the typhoon hit the last Sunday we were there, but you canít complain about Mother Nature. Since it was non-stop rain, we just checked out the Akihabara District some more that day. And we were glad we did, since we had missed so much of it! Out of all the days we were there, only one day got rained out and it was the final day, so it wasnít a big deal. Oh and a volcano erupted, but thankfully we were nowhere near it. Our first tour guide in Tokyo, Steve, was great! He was great at helping us figure out how to get around on the trains, as well as showing us common practices in Japan and their way of life. He also showed us a great deal of Tokyo. I liked that he gave us the option of what to do and gave us a list of several places to visit. We finished his tour at Diver City. Its a must to see...the LIFE-SIZE GUNDAM!!! Our second guide in Kyoto, Mr. Suzuki, was fantastic as well. He asked what we wanted to see. When we told him that we wanted to see old castles and more of old Japan, he knew exactly where to go. He suggested we stay on just one side of Kyoto to maximize the amount of places we could visit and minimize the cost to travel. We ended up on the West side of Kyoto all day. We didnít see everything and we still have all the East side to see! We loved the fact that he was so knowledgeable. He would go into detail of where we were and explain the significance of certain locations. Both guides were friendly and knowledgeable. They were on time and we never felt rushed or like the guides just wanted to go home. Iíd definitely recommend them to anyone and would love to have them again as our guides whenever we go back to visit. We got some great use out of the JR pass. That was really handy. The IC cards were very helpful too. I think we added another 2-3 thousand yen throughout our trip. We ended up with less than 50 yen on our cards. Another thing that helped on the trip was definitely having a wireless hotspot. I used Japan Wireless and it worked flawlessly. Combine that with Google Maps and that becomes an extremely helpful too. When going to stations, it even tells you what platform to get on. One of the things we noticed about our itinerary is that we had quite a lot of free time to do other stuff on a couple of days. This was great. Studio Ghibli didnít take all day, so we went back to the Sensoji Temple to do some shopping. The day we arrived to Osaka, we went ahead and went to the manga museum. That freed up the entire next day. So we took advantage and went to Osaka Castle. All in all though, it was the most memorable times of our lives. Something we will not forget. Iím still going through all my pics and videos. I took over 2,600 pics and about 6 hours of video. Iím currently editing the vid so I can show my parents. They are now sad they didnít go with us after all of our stories. Once they see the vid, theyíll really want to go. One thing is for sure, you guys are the go to place to book a trip to Japan. In the future, Iíll definitely be looking you guys up to setup another trip. So on behalf of my brother and me, THANK YOU!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
John was great. He always responded to e-mails quickly and worked with us in creating a perfect vacation.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
I really wish they have irons/ironing boards in the hotels, but John had made us aware of this. Had to take a small travel iron. The rooms are definitely small, compared to the size of US hotels. Again, it wasnt a surprise since John let us know. But they were all clean and very nice staff.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transportation worked out great. The only issue was Fuji-Q. As stated above: The only issue we had were the buses. More detailed instructions on how to locate the bus would have helped greatly. We had to ask quite a few people for help. Thankfully, we arrived with a lot of time as suggested. On the way back we also had issues. While waiting, a Keio bus shows up with the sign that it was going to Shinjuku station. Thought that was our bus, but the driver said it was the next one. No problem. The next set of buses arrives. There was one Keio bus (out of 3), but the driver said it was the bus up front. It was some other company, but the driver looked at the ticket, stamped it and let us on. We were a bit worried we had gotten on the wrong one, but we arrived at the correct station.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
As stated above: Our first tour guide in Tokyo, Steve, was great! He was great at helping us figure out how to get around on the trains, as well as showing us common practices in Japan and their way of life. He also showed us a great deal of Tokyo. I liked that he gave us the option of what to do and gave us a list of several places to visit. Our second guide in Kyoto, Mr. Suzuki, was fantastic as well. He asked what we wanted to see. When we told him that we wanted to see old castles and more of old Japan, he knew exactly where to go. He suggested we stay on just one side of Kyoto to maximize the amount of places we could visit and minimize the cost to travel. We ended up on the West side of Kyoto all day. We didnít see everything and we still have all the East side to see! We loved the fact that he was so knowledgeable. He would go into detail of where we were and explain the significance of certain locations. Both guides were friendly and knowledgeable. They were on time and we never felt rushed or like the guides just wanted to go home. Iíd definitely recommend them to anyone and would love to have them again as our guides whenever we go back to visit.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
It was a fantastic experience and hope that you guys keep up the great work.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The ease of building and customizing the trip. The great communication. The value of the trip. (cost for what you get).
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank  you so much for the wonderful feedback!  Your level of detail is really helpful for everyone traveling with us. I'm glad to see that you had an amazing trip despite the acts of nature to contend with. Sorry that there was some confusion with the buses to/from Fuji Q Highland; we'll work on the instructions.  Sounds like the journey was well worth it, though.

It's great that you felt you had good open space in your plan, and that you were able to enjoy Studio Ghibli. I also see you felt the Japan Rail Pass and IC Transport cards were really helpful to you - Japan has one of the best transportation systems on the planet and they make it a breeze. And it would seem that your local guides really made the experience for you as well, no doubt a contributing factor in your wanting to return for another trip!

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
David Buttery - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
First class service. Everything worked well. Customer service skills from you was always courteous and your people very knowledgeable about Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Lots of information. I was always kept informed. Just great service really.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009