contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 449 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 31-40 of 2305
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
Keri Stewart - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had a wonderful introduction to Japan. The tour was just right for us and we were looked after very well by our guide, Mark. It was very good value for money.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
The tour ran very smoothly and nothing was any trouble to our tour leader.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The rooms were small but that was expected for Japan.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was all public transport and in Japan that was of course very efficient.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Minimal meals included. The one dinner included was very nice and we enjoyed it very much.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
It was an excellent, value for money tour and I have already recommended Inside Japan to friends.
Review submitted: 07th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home, Keri! I'm really pleased to hear you had a great time in Japan on our Tokaido Trail small group tour with Mark last month and that you though it was excellent value for money. Apologies again for the problem with your accommodation on arrival but we are pleased this was easily resolved for you. Thank you for your feedback and thank you for recommending us to your friends! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Catherine Sutherland - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Both Mark and Amy were supremely helpful, generous with their time and knowledge, and patient.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark did a great job - showed a great deal of patience with everyone on the trip, was knowledgeable and approachable.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was always prompt in responding to my questions, cheerful and helpful
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 07th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back, Lynn! It was great meeting you in person and I hope you enjoyed Kyoto, even though the weather was a bit unpredictable. Rain is not the best sightseeing weather! I'm happy that you had a fantastic time on the tour, and am glad Mark and I could help you experience Japan so fully. We've had similar feedback to yours about giving access to other tour member's email, so I will be sure to mention that to our group tours manager for the future! ~ Amy

Lynn traveled on our March Tokaido Trail group tour which, despite some iffy early spring weather, got along great and saw sights famous and less-famous during their time in Japan.

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Barry Palma - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We enjoyed each of our guides who we thought were very accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly. Having a guide made the experience easier and more efficient using the transportation and finding restraunts.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very friendly, good listener and professional. Detailed orientated and thorough. We couldn't ask for better service.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 06th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back, Barry! I heard that you were able to meet up OK with your nephew, so I hope you enjoyed your time with Tyler. I'm glad that you overall enjoyed your trip to Japan, and had a great time with your guides, as I know you wanted to make sure you got the most out of your trip. I'm sorry you had some trouble finding the Hakone ryokan; we will take a look at the directions and see if we can't improve those for the future! ~ Amy
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Oakley - 7 Night Price Cruncher, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The whole experience was excellent from first discussions with Katharina who made some very good suggestions about where to go length of stay and to have the use of guides in Tokyo and Kyoto. This we would suggest to anybody going to Japan for the first time.The hotels where we stayed were excellent all very clean with helpful staff. The accommodation on Miyajim Island Yamaichi Bekkan was fantastic with food to die for. The owner was so helpful and attentive excellent. The people of Japan were so helpful and respect full, a superb holiday. An amazing amount of information supplied by Inside Japan to help on places of interest,itinerary and direction made our Lonely Planet redundant.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
As mentioned made good suggestions listened to our requirements as we wanted the price cruncher but for a lot longer. Very knowledgeable and easy to deal with. Well done Katherina.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
We like to travel at our pace and having Japan rail pass was excellent and Japan was so easy.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides were excellent they tailored the day to meet our requirements. It was also a good way of learning some of the Japanese ways such as buying a meal.Please send them our thanks.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The breakfast at the hotel in Osaka was not the best but the food on Miyajima was amazing. Our time on Miyajima was fabulous. The people of Japan are so helpful as we read if you are looking at a map they will stop to help even if the cannot speak English. In Kyoto we had a Japan rail ticket collector and a passenger trying to point us to the Onsen.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Very professional to deal with and felt very comfortable dealing with Katharina and IJT.
Review submitted: 05th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back John and thank you for taking the time to fill in our feedback form! I am really glad that you had a good time! Having a guide in Tokyo and Kyoto certainly is a good way to learn about the country's history and culture but also to get an introduction to the public transport system and in your case even how to order food! I will forward your thanks to our guides!

All the best,

Katharina
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Charles Dawson - Japan Unmasked, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Booklet sent to us could have been bound better but everything was well explained
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was very responsive to everyone's needs
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
He responded to questions and concerns quickly
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Did not meet my expectations
The Ryokan breakfast was different than expected
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Great
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Everything was as expected except for the Ryokan breakfast
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 05th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Charles, many thanks for the comments. I enjoyed chatting to you when you came back as well. It seems like you very pleased with our Japan Unmasked Tour, and especially enjoyed your side trip to see the sumo in Osaka. Thanks also for your suggestion regarding breakfast at the ryokan. Of all the meals I think most people agree with you that breakfast is the hardest to adjust to! Please do get in touch if you would like to take one of our tours in the future. (Mat)
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Grace Mollison - Kyushu Adventure, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
This was our 4th trip to Japan all trips arranged by inside Japan. Each trip has been different with exemplary arrangements made by Jocelyn. Think we're slightly addicted to Japan :-)
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Jocelyn takes great care to make sure that our interests are catered for when arranging our itenaries as well as making sure that we have seen different parts of Japan on each trip.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport arrangements great apart from the very short transfer time in Shiphol on way back. Basically off one plane straight onto another. A slightly less rushed transfer by perhaps catching the plane that left an hour later may have been better
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We have used Inside Japan for all 4 trips to Japan and each time they have exceeded our expectations and found gems we would never have found or manged to arrange by ourselves
Review submitted: 05th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back!! So glad you enjoyed your latest trip & thanks for the feedback - I hope Yakushima was as awesome as I found it last year - I'm going to need to go back more often to ensure we have new places to send you! A Japan addiction is fine with us - let us know when you are ready to go back :) Jocelyn
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Rosalyn Bird - Japan Unmasked, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
David was very keen to enable all tour members to have the best time and assisted us greatly
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David is a very nice man with great people skills
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Great support and quick responses from Nathaniel
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 05th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back Rosalyn. Glad you enjoyed the tour!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
William Beamand - Japan Unmasked, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great trip
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very Good
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Not to my liking,I don't enjoy Japanese food
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Good information, before and during tour
Review submitted: 05th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed the trip! I hope you got to see some beautiful areas of Japan and get a real feel for the country, being looked after by David. We'd love to hear from you in the future if you decide to return or perhaps travel elsewhere! Jocelyn
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ian Spatz - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
The service before and after was attentive but was marred by the unfulfilled written promise of a room to myself for all nights of the trip.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was the hardest working tour guide. He did whatever he could whenever he could do it. He was constantly positive even when it was tough to be positive and even when he was exhausted.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - A Little Disappointed Customer Rating
Being told something that was not true to sell me on the tour was quite disappointing
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Did not meet my expectations
The Tokyo, Kamakura, and Kyoto accommodations were excellent. The Hakone guest house was faded, the shared bathroom facilities poor, and the overall feel was downscale.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Public transport was excellent. The only issues were in Hakone where the bus service is not frequent and often overcrowded.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The included meal was fair.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 05th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back to the US! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time with Mark. My apologies on my mistake on the rooming situation in Hakone. I'm glad to hear you liked the Ibis Shinjuku. I was informed that the Group Tours Manager has been in contact with you about some of your more specific feedback. Thank you for your insights!


Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Doug Fraser - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The best service, the best information provided and the best location of accommodation.In a oountry with a huge population you guys make it so easy.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Nathaniel was excellent. When one of our suitcases was late arriving he went out of his way to track it down and keep us informed.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Accommodation was all well located.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides were excellent
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
This is the first self guided tour we have done overseas and Overall from the planning stage to the actual trip it exceeded our expectations. The info provided by you is easy to follow on a day to day basis, transport tickets are all there and accommodation is all extremely well located. Food in Japan is terrific and we liked nothing more than wandering up some side streets and having a meal. The people are friendly and only willing to help if you appear confused or lost.Most people speak a little English and the whole trip we always felt safe. Overall this is a Country that everyone should visit, it has a big population but no one gets upset, there is no road rage and it is one of the cleanest countries I have seen.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Would hate to attempt Japan without the information and assistance you provided.
Review submitted: 04th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home Doug! Thanks for your comments. Glad Nathaniel looked after you so well. Japan is certainly an amazing country; we are so glad you have fallen in love with it, like we have!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009