contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 528 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 31-40 of 2635
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
Sarah Young - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Brilliant! thanks!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire was fantastic from start to finish. She tailored our trip to suit out needs and budgets. She was always there to answers our queries promptly. When we got there everything went so smoothly. Everything was perfect from the super lovely hotels staff to the useful guides provided by Inside Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The Western style hotels were lovely, perfect for our needs. But the out and out winners were the Ryokans. OMG the food, amazing, and the owners, so lovely. I have to say they made out trip we loved chatting to those guys.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I LOVE BULLET TRAINS.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Reiko was brilliant. She tailored the day so we got the most out of it and she really packed in the sights and info. Lovely lady, a truly wonderful day.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Can I mention the food again provided at the Ryokans...I think I can. Epic, I mean, we were shocked (in a good way) by all the delicious dishes...which just kept coming and coming. It was also fun trying to work out with owner what we were supposed to eat with what. :) A fantastic experience....oooh and Hida Beef, wow, yum.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You made everything so easy. You listened to our needs and made sure the trip was at the right price and included what we wanted. It was by far the best holiday we have ever had.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Sarah,

Thank you so much for your feedback; it is so fantastic to hear that the trip exceeded your (very excited!) expectations. I'm especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food so much as it is also one of my favourite things about Japan.
And thank you again for the flowers. Your card is on my desk inspiring me to create equally "epic" holidays for everyone I'm lucky enough to send to Japan!
Take care,

Claire
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sofie Vilcins - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent service - I was really impressed by the care and attention, and information, I received from the company.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William was great fun, really helpful and really welcomed us to Japan. We had a great group, and he really brought us all together.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Richard answered all of my (many) questions and was very helpful.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
It was great to get a variety of accommodation, and I enjoyed staying in the traditional inns. It was wonderful to have a single room in the western-style hotels.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Great value. It was nice to have a bus too, to see some scenery. The trains are fantastic.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Brilliant! Will made some great suggestions. Highlights were okonomiyaki and all the bento boxes.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The meal included in Takayama was wonderful. I had a great time on my trip, it was a holiday of a lifetime, and I cant wait to go back.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I fell in love with the country even more than I expected. The people are so friendly and welcoming, the food is fantastic, the scenery is gorgeous and the whole country is so spectacular.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Sofie,

Welcome home - sounds like you had an amazing trip! Okonomiyaki is my favourite Japanese food so it's great to hear that you were able to try it with Will's help. That's a great point about recycling information - we'll bear that in mind for the future.

I hope all the fantastic memories you made will tide you over until you can make it back!

All the best,

Katrina
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ian Anderton - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was generally excellent
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Excellent service. Very helpful
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for leaving your feedback Ian. I'm so pleased I was able to help you with a return to Japan, and look forward to planning your next trip!

Best wishes,

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ellen Mccallum - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Every thing is always done for you
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was fantastic everything we wanted was done.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Loved the trains so fast a on time.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
They were all very good,
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
All our needs were meet and more.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Ellen,
Thanks for your feedback. I'm very glad to hear that you and Ashlee have had a great trip in Japan. It is amazing indeed how fast punctual the trains are in Japan indeed, they make it so easy to get around.
Good to hear too that you loved our info-pack.
Kind regards, Pepijn

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Leah Lao - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very useful guidebook with tips and directions, clear maps. Very cultural and traditional experience in Japan, and a lot of unique things to see and do.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Meet-and-greet was very punctual, our driver was very courteous and well-dressed!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our tour guides in Tokyo and Osaka were both very experienced, they showed us a lot about local customs and traditions and we learned so many things from them.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Food was great in Japan, its not difficult to order since they always have plastic models of their menu displayed outside, maybe a tad challenging for Vegetarians but they can always cater to special meals. The people were lovely, very organized in theme parks, and very polite in general. Theme parks get really packed, but we still had a great time. I got sick in Japan, and three weeks after the trip, I am still recovering from the complications, I think thats the only major thing tourists need to be on a lookout for. Its very hard going to the doctors since none of them spoke english, and they are in the habbit of minimizing your symptoms.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We would love to visit some other time again, and maybe try out other cities and experiences the next time. We will definitely book with InsideJapan again!
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Leah, thanks for your feedback about your trip! I'm so pleased to hear that you had a great time in Japan. I'm also pleased that the information provided by the Info-Pack and the guides was excellent. It's always useful to have some inside knowledge to get you around. Vegetarian food in Japan can be a challenge, but we make a point to notify accommodation of dietary requirements well in advance so that we can minimise this problem.

I'm sorry to hear that you were unwell, too-- myself and everyone at InsideJapan Tours wishes you a speedy recovery and we look forward to seeing you again. (Hattie -- on behalf of Ben)
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Joanna Maxwell - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Brilliant organisation, very responsive to changes and requests, very happy!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Loved the Kyoto hotel, and Koya-san, also Tsumago
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Long travel days
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Mr and Mrs Ota were AMAZING, just brilliant. Our guides in Kyoto and Koyasan also excellent. Kanazawa guide was fine, and Tokyo guide was not good at all.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We fell in love with Japan - in all its contrasts and cultural quirks! We eat a lot of Japanese food at home, so enjoyed it - though we both got a bit sick of the similarity if meals towards the end. We are both keen to explore Japan further one day. The luggage forwarding service was a BIG help.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Personalised itineraries, excellent advice, lovely Vivienne, all guides (bar one) were fabulous, the city guides were great. It was the perfect blend of going it alone and having a trusted local guide all the way.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback, Joanna! I'm glad you had a good time with Mr and Mrs Ota in Nikko - they really love the area and showing visitors around. We appreciate you feedback on the accommodation in Takayama and Tokyo guide which we will investigate further. All the best, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Suzanne Taylor - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
HAving travelled before we knew what to expect. Good service with excellent execution
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks for your feedback and very glad we could help you with another trip. Do get in touch if you return at anytime! Jocelyn
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
William Evertson - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We are not used to being on a group tour so not knowing what to expect this tour exceeded our expectations.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Fujishige - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was always helpful in providing the group with alternatives to the suggested activities, never flustered and always in a great mood. He loved showing us great dining experiences. He also did a great job of shepherding us through the public transit during the trip.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Bill! It's great to know that the group tour exceeded your expectations and that Mark did a great job of showing you around Japan and all his favorite Japanese dishes. I hope you got to eat all kinds of delicious food during your trip! ~ Amy

William traveled on our Japan Unmasked group tour, our most popular Essential tour, which really gives you a great overview of the country's main cities and smaller gems like Kurashiki.

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stuart Henson - Golden Route, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
excellent trip, superbly organised and good value for money
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
friendly and knowledgeable
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
didnt know what to expect, that is why i went there to learn !
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I would normally rent a car but Japanese trains are excellent. All transfers worked well and punctual also
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
all very good, except one that struggled with English a little. ( on the cooking course, not the chef but the market guide ) it was OK though.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I thought the food was amazing, my mother would rather eat McDonalds though... I could live in Kyoto tomorrow !
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No
Now I have been I would book direct next time, but I would recommend you for a first visit and would use you for another new country.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi there Stuart, thank you again for travelling with us and welcome back from your trip.  Japanese trains really are amazing, that's what I miss the most about being back in England! Having a paper brochure as well as online information can definitely help too. I'm sorry to hear that the market guide had a few language difficulties, we'll check in on this and make sure we maintain high levels as with the other guides. 
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Matthew Mcaleney - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent...couldnt have asked for more!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David Lovejoy made this experience the best of my life and it would not have been the same without him. I highly recommend him for reward if possible. David is a credit to the company and i hope that can be recognised.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always helpful and answered any questions effectively and efficiently
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Loved each hotel for different reasons. But all were great!
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Tour leader organised all tickets and info on travel during the tour so everything went smoothly and was to the highest standard. Also i realised transport in general is so much more efficient in Japan overall.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
All great meals and i tried some amazing dishes and ingredients! Special mention to the venues suggested by David. Awesome choices which i joined him on!
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
It was the perfect tour - locations seen, people met, food, venues, entertainment, sights seen, activities partaken in, local people. I would commend David Lovejoy once again as it was on a big part due to him leading that this was such an amazing experience. I hope InsideJapan can reward him for the efforts and services he provides as it is second to none and fully deserved. Thank you very much.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You see as much as possible, more than what you would outside of the tour. Tour leader as mentioned, was truly the best there could be and i would go anywhere he was leading in future tours!
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your glowing review, singing David's praises! He truly is a fantastic tour guide and has given you and so many customers so much 'joy'! :-) Japan is such an interesting country with so much to discover. I'm glad we arranged a life-changing trip for you!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009