contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 455 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 31-40 of 2313
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
Benjamin Leane - Golden Route, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Overall we had a great experience from planning to returning home, and would recommend this type of self guided tour to others. The customised guide book helped us immensely and made sure we had times, addresses and other info at hand, without being locked into any schedules.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Satisfied Customer Rating
Ben was responsive and enthusiastic, and after a few hiccups booking hotels and confirming details we were very happy with the itinerary he put together.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
We were on a customised itinerary, visiting 4 hotels - Sunroute Plaza in Shinjuku, Ryokan View Hotel in Yudanaka, Daiwa Roynet Shijo in Kyoto, and the Sheraton Grande in Tokyo Bay. Out of those, we were extremely happy with all but the Daiwa Roynet. They had comfy beds and rooms, great service and good food. The Daiwa Roynet really stood out unfortunately - the room was shoebox sized with a bad bed and pillows making sleep hard, and breakfast was nothing special (although dinner at the restaurant was great!). Location was good, but we'd gladly have walked further or paid more for a better room there.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport logistics worked great, and we never felt lost or confused, and really appreciated the Manaca cards. The only time we got caught was returning to Narita via Airport Bus - we didn't realise the buses booked up fast, and when trying to book the morning of departure we found all buses were full! Luckily hotel staff helped us locate another hotel on a different bus route with availability, so we made our flight on time. May be good to put a 'book early' reminder in for the airport bus coupons :)
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides were wonderful company for a day, and went out of their way to take care of us - including translating for us with a doctor when my wife fell ill! Level of english impressed me, as did overall knowledge about the city.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
A few favourites from us for the trip: Favourite tourist attraction: Fushimi Inari Shrine in Kyoto Favourite hotel: Sunroute Plaza Hotel Shinjuku Favourite meal: Included traditional meals with Ryokan View Hotel in Yudanaka Favourite 'local' experience: Picnicing under the cherries in Ueno park with our bento boxes and watching thousands of people around us Favourite unexpected moment: The view of Tokyo Bay from Odaiba Park at night time - we sat in Starbucks looking at the rainbow bridge, Tokyo Tower and an amazing cityscape after our first full day of touring
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
After a first visit we feel much more comfortable with Japan now, but even if we don't take a self-guided tour again ourselves we'd be recommending to others.
Review submitted: 12nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Ben,

 

Welcome home! Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time in Japan. I'm glad that you enjoyed Fushimi Inari, too - one of my favourite places! Thank you for the feedback on the Kyoto hotel, too. We will certainly take that onboard.

 

Ben

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Wilfred Uecker - Spring Elegance, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
We wanted an overview of Japan since it is the first and probably the last time we will visit. The tour provided that.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 11st Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi there Wilfred, many thanks for taking the time to submit your comments. I am happy that the tour provided the overview of Japan you were looking for. It was good to speak to you on your return as well and get your valued feedback. (Mat)
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Patrick Clarke-williams - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
All accomodation and travel arrangements worked perfectly. The tour guide in tokyo didn't turn up but later in our travels we had a different guide in tokyo which was good.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The location of the accommodation was great and the quality was great for the price.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport worked well and was comfortable
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guides were knowledgeable and the days they planned for us were well thought out and great.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Extremely useful for planning accomodation and travel in different locations.
Review submitted: 11st Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Patrick,

Welcome back to the UK and many thanks for taking the time to fill in our feedback form.I apologise for the mix up with the guide but am glad to hear that you enjoyed the alternative day with a guide that I have arranged for you. I am happy that you had a good time in Japan overall and liked all the accommdoation we have provided you with. 

~ Katharina

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephenjjillings - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything was planned out brilliantly. We received a booklet for every town and city we planned to visit, it included all the info we needed on how to get there and what to do while we were there. We never had a moment where we felt lost or didn't know what to do.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
We had our trip customised to what we wanted to do while we were there. Also we had quite a few questions and everything was explained well. We felt well prepared before going.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Brilliant, we had everything we needed; IC cards, JR pass, hakone free pass and tickets for specific trains and times.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had two guides while in kyoto and tokyo. Both were brilliant and I feel they went above and beyond. They both made sure we got the most out of our day.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I loved the food, we stayed in two ryokan while there and their food was brilliant and a new experience. We also had a free sushi breakfast included which was delicious and we could watch them put it all together while waiting.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Everything was planned out and presented to us, we never once felt lost and always knew what we were doing and where we needed to go, we used the "perfect day" section in every booklet to help plan our days and I feel I did everything I wanted to do while there.
Review submitted: 11st Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Stephen.. welcome back! Thanks very much for taking the time to send in your feedback. I'm glad to hear you had a great time in Japan and I hope your DS arrives back in the UK safely! We have recently introduced the "Perfect Day" sections to our destination guides so I'm really glad to hear it was useful for your trip. Mark   
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jeffrey Nichols - Hidden Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
the service stateside was excellent. The trip in Japan was also well thought out and arranged in a relaxing way
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Andrew Petty - A Little Disappointed Customer Rating
that's a long story. He certainly got the job done. I think it is just a case of us having very different personalities
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was pleasant, wonderful and easy to work with
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
last nite hotel was disappointing
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
fine. I liked the use of the local transport
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
we are into food and had many independent excellent meals. The meals in Kotohira, although pleasing in a traditional way were not very good:( We were disappointed as well with the first nite dinner picked by our tour leader. Mediocre food in a VERY touristy place that set a bad tone,
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 11st Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back, Jeff! I'm happy to hear that overall the service for your Hidden Japan group tour was very good, though there are some areas for improvement. I'm sorry about the confusion with your departure transfer, and that the final tour hotel didn't meet your expectations as the others did. This is something our group tours manager will take a look over to be sure and will be very helpful to us in planning future group tours! It's great that you ate so many excellent meals despite the stumble on the first night as well. ~ Amy

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Peter Neville - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Extremely well informed and helpful.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
See comment above about Matsumoto
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Very good
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
They were all very helpful, well informed and friendly.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 10th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Peter. Welcome back from your trip. It was a pleasure putting together your trip and I'm pleased to hear you had a great time. The guides are really an essential part of making the most of your time in Japan. It's always useful to hear feedback about our resources so I have noted your comments. Regards, Mark
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Colin Moore - Japan Unmasked, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
No problems with the organization of this holiday from start to finish.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
As this was David's first time leading the Japan Unmasked tour, I think he coped exceptionally. Any problems he encountered were dealt with in a calm and professional manner. He really is an asset to your company.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Any questions asked were swiftly dealt with. Again,no problems.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
see 4b above
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Trains were fast and spotless - something the UK could learn from!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I didn't like the Japanese food (but I feel that way most countries I go to - delicate stomach I guess). I go on holiday to see the country and experience its culture, Japan Unmasked more than accomplished this (yes, I know the food is part of the culture, but its not high on my list on priorities)!
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I would have liked another day in Kyoto (far too much to see in the available time) and it was a shame I had an early flight as I didn't see much of Yokohama. Overall this was an excellent holiday and Inside Japan is probably the best tour company I have used (and I've used a lot over the last 10 years - 30+ holidays).
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I found Japan a fascinating place, but theres a whole world of potential fascinating places to see and I won't live long enough to see them all!
Review submitted: 08th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Okearinasai Colin sama! Welcome back. Thank you for taking the time to send feedback. I'm glad you had a fantastic time on tour with David. The ryokan experience (sleeping on futons) and vast array of Japanese food is indeed very unique but these are the real highlights of the Japan experience. If only our trains were as efficient and clean as Japan. We would love to welcome you back to Japan in the future or if you are looking for something a bit different then we also offer Vietnam, Indochina and Burma. Regards, Mark
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Ingham - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Thoroughly well researched for a self guided tour. Pretty easy to get around with their booklet to help. A mix of both cities and traditional.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
very helpful
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 08th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks for your comments Susan, glad you had a great trip.
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Keri Stewart - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had a wonderful introduction to Japan. The tour was just right for us and we were looked after very well by our guide, Mark. It was very good value for money.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
The tour ran very smoothly and nothing was any trouble to our tour leader.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The rooms were small but that was expected for Japan.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was all public transport and in Japan that was of course very efficient.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Minimal meals included. The one dinner included was very nice and we enjoyed it very much.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
It was an excellent, value for money tour and I have already recommended Inside Japan to friends.
Review submitted: 07th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home, Keri! I'm really pleased to hear you had a great time in Japan on our Tokaido Trail small group tour with Mark last month and that you though it was excellent value for money. Apologies again for the problem with your accommodation on arrival but we are pleased this was easily resolved for you. Thank you for your feedback and thank you for recommending us to your friends! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Catherine Sutherland - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Both Mark and Amy were supremely helpful, generous with their time and knowledge, and patient.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark did a great job - showed a great deal of patience with everyone on the trip, was knowledgeable and approachable.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was always prompt in responding to my questions, cheerful and helpful
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 07th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back, Lynn! It was great meeting you in person and I hope you enjoyed Kyoto, even though the weather was a bit unpredictable. Rain is not the best sightseeing weather! I'm happy that you had a fantastic time on the tour, and am glad Mark and I could help you experience Japan so fully. We've had similar feedback to yours about giving access to other tour member's email, so I will be sure to mention that to our group tours manager for the future! ~ Amy

Lynn traveled on our March Tokaido Trail group tour which, despite some iffy early spring weather, got along great and saw sights famous and less-famous during their time in Japan.

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009