contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 517 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 21-30 of 2572
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
Clare White - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
excellent service. A wonderful trip to Japan
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Very helpful when things did not go according to Plan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The accommodation was excellent and very varied. Our own house in Kyoto and the Ryokan in Hakone were especially wonderful.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transport was great and we were on trains more or less every other day. But the distances are very large and the weather did effect the transport.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides in both Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent and really worth having.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Japan was a wonderful place to visit. We thought it was beautiful and exciting. The food was brilliant and even some of the quite strange things were worth trying. Hakone and the Ryokan and Tokyo its self were the real hi-lights for us. The whole visual culture is so exciting.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would recommend Inside Japan for first time travellers, especially if you travel with children or in a small group.
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Clare,

Many thanks for your feedback! I'm really pleased you enjoyed Japan.

Thank you for your comments- we will make sure to act on everything you have mentioned.

-Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Rachel Rooker - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great service. Mark fitted in all of our choices
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Neil Feder - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The level of service was very professional
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
She was very patient and flexible with my plans
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
JR railway pass is great value and convenient.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
They were excellent!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Very professional. Everything went according to plan.
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Shaheda Moosa - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I had not heard of InsideJapan Tours before and was very impressed with the level of support that was provided throughout the trip.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was knowledgeable and helpful. she was happy to suggest how best we could tailor the trip to suit our requirements whilst still offering advice. She went the extra mile to ensure our dietary requirements were met and called just before we left to ensure we had everything we needed. She was very helpful even when i contacted her whilst we were in japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
the hotel in hiroshima was a bit of a let down after tokyo and kyoto, esp when this was advertised as a luxury family experience
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
brilliant - seemed a little daunting reading about it all before we left, but one we got there it was straight forward. the guide in tokyo explained it all to us so that was very helpful. unfortunately we only had her on the 2nd afternoon so we didnt use our manaca cards before that !
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
all three guides were very good. went out of their way to please us esp in kyoto and hiroshima. the hiroshima guide even found us a halaal place for lunch!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
kaiseki at the ryokan was a brilliant experience - esp for the children! breakfast in hiroshima was a bit problematic as the restaurant is actually really small. they were hosting an australian hockey team as well who seemed to think they could get preference over all other guests. theres a lot of detail in the paperwork, particularly in relation to things to see / places to visit. i think it would be helpful to have a general top 5 or top 10 list in addition to the detail to make it easier.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
excellent service at a decent price.
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Shaheda,

Many thanks for your feedback. I'm so happy you and your family liked Japan! Fantastic that you enjoyed the Kaiseki experience. We will take all your comments on board. Thanks for travelling with us!

-Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Pamela Crawford - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
all went very smoothly
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
replied promptly and was knowledgable and sent us necessary information
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
one ryokan was a walk out of town and more like a hostel but owner very helpful and took us to station in the rain (Takayama)
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
all worked very smoothly was sent differing information about bus transfer from tsumago to train from japan office however I checked times locally and went with simplest option we travelled with cabin sized luggage and there was always rppm on trains and on all but Magome and Tsumago buses the luggage was put in the hold
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
very goof
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
the detailed information about travel, accommodation and how to get there is invaluable. I have used the company previously
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home, Pamela! Thank you for your feedback - great to hear you enjoyed your return to Japan this summer with the family. We will definitely check our resources about the luggage transfer service between Magome and Tsumago to ensure the best information is provided in futurre. Many thanks again, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Whitney Sisson - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had a wonderful time in Japan. The information provided to us was very helpful. The guides took us to good places to eat.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
very nice and helpful. Answered all questions and made all changes as requested. Contributed good ideas
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
our hotels were delightful.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
transportation was as expected
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
guides were fine
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I would not have been able to navigate Japan without the information provided
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Great to hear from you Whitney! I am so glad everyone enjoyed your Japan adventure. You had a nice mix of interests in your group so it was fun to create your itinerary. If Japan or perhaps even Indo-China are in your future travel plans we'd love to be a part of your trip again! ~Halley
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Brigid Shaughnessy - Hidden Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Helpful and willing to discuss and communicate.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was first class in terms of organisation, well briefed and good at people management also very grounded.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Spoke to karen several times and she was always willing to clarify and provide information
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Well managed mix of transport. Good deployment of bus.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The meals included in the trip were generous and well thought out.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The trip went smoothly, there was a good structure and rhythm to it. Well organised and no real glitches. About 10 more free time would have been welcome. It was a fairly intense, busy schedule with not much space to reflect on the experience at the time.
Review submitted: 02nd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Brigid,

Many thanks for your feedback. We'll take the accommodation comments on board but overall, sounds like a great trip!

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephen Overs - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
well organised
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ali was friendly professional and efficient
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Select Inn Aomori was a bit of a dive but we managed to have a laugh anyway. Glad this was booked for only one night
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Good
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guides good especially Doi-San, driver on tour of Arashiyama 16th July was GREAT and was more knowledgeable than the guide !
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Robot restaurant show in Tokyo was a hoot, our only concerns were the dubious customers ! Kids loved Ninja Akasaka.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Professional and knowledgeable staff
Review submitted: 02nd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Steve! I'm so pleased we were able to organise a return to Japan for you and your family, and that you managed to get to the spectacular Nebuta Festival in Aomori.

I hope we are able to help you with a return trip in the future!

Best wishes,

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jennifer Clarke - Best of Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent communication, very well organised, easy to follow and understand instructions and guide, knowledgeable staff, excellent information sent to us before our trip with everything we needed to know
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very knowledgeable, easy to talk to, good understanding of our needs, excellent all round and an asset to your staff
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 02nd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Jen,

Many thanks for your positive feedback! I'm really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your trip and found that we provided all the information you needed.

Hope we can send you back to Japan again!

- Karen

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Valerie Hamilton - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We loved every minute we spent in Japan! The people, the food, the countryside, the cities, the trains & all the experiences & adventures we had made us sad to come home but vowing to return.Despite our apprehension about travelling in a country where we really could NOT speak the language we had an astoundingly easy time. This was largely due to the terrific information packs from Inside Japan & all the fantastic travel arrangements that were in place when we arrived. We simply followed the book & Japan unfolded before us with ease and tremendous charm.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I spoke to Ali a couple of times on the phone outlining the kind of experience we wanted to have in Japan. We had looked through the brochure & wanted a trip that was a combination of 2 of the suggested tours. Ali clearly listened very carefully to what we wanted as she managed to put together an itinerary that not only met our expectations but exceeded them!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
the range of different hotels was great. The experiences we had in the 3 different Ryokans we stayed in were amazing( in particular the food in Miyajima)
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All our transport arrangements were perfect.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had guides on 3 separate occasions. 2 of which were very good and one ( Gion district in Kyoto) who was exceptional. The kimono experience & tea ceremony in Kyoto was another fun & informative morning.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We found the food to be quite an experience sometimes wonderful and on occasion quite challenging! despite being presented with some quite difficult options in the traditional Japanese hotels it was always an enjoyable experience. We found it difficult to always know what we were being served & it would have been useful to have had an itemised list every time ( as we received in Hakone)also it would have been nice to have had an option for European breakfast in all the ryokans.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We couldnt fault the experience in any way . We felt we had an exceptional holiday.
Review submitted: 01st Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your detailed feedback, Val. I'm so pleased we were able to organise this tailored trip for you, and that you had a fantastic time in Japan!

Do get in touch any time if we can help you with a return to Japan!

All best wishes,

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009