contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 552 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 21-30 of 2629
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
Sophie Watling - Best of Japan, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Service was excellent, Ben listened to what we wanted and was able to adapt our tour. He was clear and prompt in his responses.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
As above
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
David Mcclean - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Our trip to Japan met every expectation, and the organisation was superb. The itinerary provided a wonderful mix of urban and rural, traditional and modern, and the recommendations in relation to accommodation, etc, were excellent also. We would not hesitate in recommending Inside Japan to others.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Katharina was extremely helpful and responsive,and we felt her guidance to have been excellent throughout.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephanie King - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Really fantastic tour, excellent guide and varied, exciting selections for dinner and evening entertainment.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William-Kanye Mukai was witty, calm, relaxed and very patient. He was a lot of fun to spend time with, always forthcoming with interesting information, and keen to ensure every member of the party was happy. He went out of his way to ensure various members of our group were able to do the things they wanted, and even sang karaoke with us!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
My travel consultant, Karen Tomney, was helpful, professional and organised and very reassuring and swift in replying when I had queries while away, especially in relation to the typhoon.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Accommodation in the traditional inns with shared rooms was especially good and far exceeded expectations. The rooms in the Western hotels, though small, were generally much larger than I had expected too.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Loved using the trains, and Williams instructions also gave me the confidence to use them with no problems in the following week when I continued with a self-guided tour.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Breakfasts were good. The meal in Takayama was brilliant, and one of my favourite evenings of the tour. All other dinners, with restaurants selected by the guide, were generally excellent, good value for money and gave us the opportunity to try a wide range of Japanese food. One of my favourite elements of the tour.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The info I received for my self-guided week following Inside Japan has been especially good, and I would definitely consider using the company for my return to Japan.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Caroline Weston - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
InsideJapan Tours were perfect for us in that we could have a trip that suited us and our budget, whilst providing helpful advice before going and the pack we received with all of the advice about each of our locations was great - better than the guide book we bought in some instances!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivienne was incredibly helpful and gave us really good advice about where to go. She replied to any queries really quickly and was always quick to find a solution to any challenge.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The accommodation was always well-located and of a good standard.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All of the transport included was excellent - we experienced no difficulties in accessing it, other than finding the right kiosk for the transfer at Osaka airport (!) Everything ran really smoothly
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had David take us around Tokyo for a day and he was fantastic and knowledgeable - a perfect introduction to Tokyo and Japan!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We had a great time - the food was great, if quite different to what we normally have. Even as someone who doesnt eat much fish, I always found something delicious - we didnt have a bad meal the whole time we were there! The only negative thing was how difficult it was to navigate around the cities - I appreciate not much can be done about the Japanese address system, but more of a warning would have been helpful! We gave up finding a few bars because we couldnt work out where they were (directions in the info pack were sometimes really helpful, but other times we just got lost!), but we did enjoy getting lost and found some other great places instead!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We would love to visit Japan, but prefer not to go on group guided tours. InsideJapan Tours offers the flexibility to travel wherever we wanted, provided us with the support we needed, but still gave us the freedom to pick and choose what we did each day
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sarah Young - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Brilliant! thanks!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire was fantastic from start to finish. She tailored our trip to suit out needs and budgets. She was always there to answers our queries promptly. When we got there everything went so smoothly. Everything was perfect from the super lovely hotels staff to the useful guides provided by Inside Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The Western style hotels were lovely, perfect for our needs. But the out and out winners were the Ryokans. OMG the food, amazing, and the owners, so lovely. I have to say they made out trip we loved chatting to those guys.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I LOVE BULLET TRAINS.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Reiko was brilliant. She tailored the day so we got the most out of it and she really packed in the sights and info. Lovely lady, a truly wonderful day.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Can I mention the food again provided at the Ryokans...I think I can. Epic, I mean, we were shocked (in a good way) by all the delicious dishes...which just kept coming and coming. It was also fun trying to work out with owner what we were supposed to eat with what. :) A fantastic experience....oooh and Hida Beef, wow, yum.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You made everything so easy. You listened to our needs and made sure the trip was at the right price and included what we wanted. It was by far the best holiday we have ever had.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sofie Vilcins - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent service - I was really impressed by the care and attention, and information, I received from the company.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William was great fun, really helpful and really welcomed us to Japan. We had a great group, and he really brought us all together.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Richard answered all of my (many) questions and was very helpful.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
It was great to get a variety of accommodation, and I enjoyed staying in the traditional inns. It was wonderful to have a single room in the western-style hotels.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Great value. It was nice to have a bus too, to see some scenery. The trains are fantastic.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Brilliant! Will made some great suggestions. Highlights were okonomiyaki and all the bento boxes.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The meal included in Takayama was wonderful. I had a great time on my trip, it was a holiday of a lifetime, and I cant wait to go back.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I fell in love with the country even more than I expected. The people are so friendly and welcoming, the food is fantastic, the scenery is gorgeous and the whole country is so spectacular.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ian Anderton - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was generally excellent
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Excellent service. Very helpful
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ellen Mccallum - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Every thing is always done for you
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was fantastic everything we wanted was done.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Loved the trains so fast a on time.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
They were all very good,
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
All our needs were meet and more.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Leah Lao - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very useful guidebook with tips and directions, clear maps. Very cultural and traditional experience in Japan, and a lot of unique things to see and do.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Meet-and-greet was very punctual, our driver was very courteous and well-dressed!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our tour guides in Tokyo and Osaka were both very experienced, they showed us a lot about local customs and traditions and we learned so many things from them.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Food was great in Japan, its not difficult to order since they always have plastic models of their menu displayed outside, maybe a tad challenging for Vegetarians but they can always cater to special meals. The people were lovely, very organized in theme parks, and very polite in general. Theme parks get really packed, but we still had a great time. I got sick in Japan, and three weeks after the trip, I am still recovering from the complications, I think thats the only major thing tourists need to be on a lookout for. Its very hard going to the doctors since none of them spoke english, and they are in the habbit of minimizing your symptoms.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We would love to visit some other time again, and maybe try out other cities and experiences the next time. We will definitely book with InsideJapan again!
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Joanna Maxwell - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Brilliant organisation, very responsive to changes and requests, very happy!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Loved the Kyoto hotel, and Koya-san, also Tsumago
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Long travel days
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Mr and Mrs Ota were AMAZING, just brilliant. Our guides in Kyoto and Koyasan also excellent. Kanazawa guide was fine, and Tokyo guide was not good at all.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We fell in love with Japan - in all its contrasts and cultural quirks! We eat a lot of Japanese food at home, so enjoyed it - though we both got a bit sick of the similarity if meals towards the end. We are both keen to explore Japan further one day. The luggage forwarding service was a BIG help.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Personalised itineraries, excellent advice, lovely Vivienne, all guides (bar one) were fabulous, the city guides were great. It was the perfect blend of going it alone and having a trusted local guide all the way.
Review submitted: 16th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009