contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 538 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 21-30 of 2634
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
Todd Chandler - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great advice and took care of many important details.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John Kane IV - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Perfect
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both were knowledgable, friendly and helpful. Well worth the money.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The staff expertise and detailed planning were extremely helpful.
Review submitted: 18th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Dear Mr. Chandler,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and I am glad to year that you and your son had a great time in Japan. It was a pleasure to help you with your trip, and I look forward to working with you again if you decide to return to Japan!

Best regards,

John Kane

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Robin Brown - Secrets of Shikoku, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service and advice from Inside Japan Tours could not have been better. Having lived in Kobe for three years in the early 70s I really wanted to show my wife what a fabulous country Japan is,on what was her first visit. All the travel arrangements worked perfectly and the accommodation in Kyoto and in Shikoku was particularly special. The food and service in the ryokans was so good that you only dream of this in many other countries. The people are delightful and go out of their way to please and offer assistance. There is no such thing as hassle in Japan. This was a particularly special holiday and we will definitely return. Thank you Inside Japan Tours.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ali could not have been more helpful in planning our trip. Fabulous service.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The accommodation in Kyoto and Shikoku was particularly memorable. The Iya Onsen was idyllic.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It all worked without a hitch.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We spent so much time walking. By far the best way to explore cities like Kyoto and Kobe. We even climbed Tsurugisan in Shikoku. The food at the ryokans in Shikoku could not have been better. At the Iya Onsen they were happy to lay on shabu shabu when asked!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Being able to discuss all details with someone who really knows the country makes all the difference.
Review submitted: 18th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Robin. I'm so pleased I was able to help you with a return to Japan, and that you finally had a chance to show your wife what a wonderful country Japan is.

I very much enjoyed planning your trip around rural Shikoku, and it sounds like you had a wonderful time at the Hotel Iya Onsen.

If you plan to return to Japan again I will be more than happy to help you with another trip.

Best wishes,

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Richard Collins - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great service all round
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire was fantastic, managed to reduce the initial quote by using budget hotels, however these hotels were still really good and in great locations. She also responded promptly to my numerous questions via email.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
In Kyoto and Tokyo I chose budget hotels to keep the cost down. They were better than expected and the breakfasts wonderful. They were also in great locations, very central. The Ryokan in Hakone was very luxurious, the dinner and breakfast were the best that I had in Japan.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The Japan rail pass was great, as was the metro card.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides were very useful and as well as taking me to the regular tourist destinations they also gave advice about other places to visit. They were very knowledgeable and gave me a lot of the history of the particular places we visited.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
All my breakfasts were included, and dinner was included at the Ryokan in Hakone. All the breakfasts were great and very filling, meaning that I just had a light lunch. The dinner at the Ryokan was the best meal that I had in Japan. I have even started eating rice and fish for breakfast at home sometimes.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
It seems that trying to book accommodation, travel and activities can be tricky so to have this done for me takes away a lot of work.
Review submitted: 18th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Richard,

Thanks so much for your feedback; I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip and everything ran smoothly. I'm especially glad that you enjoyed your stay in a ryokan and have taken on healthy Japanese eating habits not that you are home!
Kyoto buses are always a bit tricky but luckily from next year the Manaca transport cards which we are able to supply will be valid on Kyoto buses too so hopefully on your next trip you'll be able to zip around even more easily!
Thanks again for choosing InsideJapan Tours.

Claire
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Alice Ruddle - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Everything handled, I didnt need to worry about a single thing.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David was brilliant. He made sure that we had all the information to do everything we wanted as well as suggesting interesting activities. Plus he isa swell guy to hang out with.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always on hand to answer queries with excellent explanations.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Hakone guesthouse has THE BEST futon ever. Never slept so well. Also I was expecting a traditional capsule hotel in Osaka but it was brilliant to have more space. Plus the bath was an unexpected bonus!
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The amount on the pasmo card was enough to provide transport on the subway for the whole trip.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Robot restaurant and maid cafe had food as expected, but the okonomiyaki and other places were great.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
We got a bit bored of having the different types of regional okonomiyaki but otherwise even some of the themed cafe food was good.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would be interested in the island hopping tour, but HyperJapan has provided me with enough experience that I think I can handle the mainland on my own now.
Review submitted: 18th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks for your wonderful review. We're happy you had such an awesome time on HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop and Go! Thanks for travelling with us!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Belinda Burchell - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very helpful and informative
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Had some good suggestions and understood my needs
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The sleeping arrangements in the Rotan in Hakone was hard really sleeping on the floor. Didnt sleep very well. The other one was a little more comfortable in Mirajima.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Excellent
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Being quite fussy I would have like a choice of meals where this was included. I barely eat anything in Hakone but the owners were more accommodating in Mirajim.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Belinda,

Welcome back from your trip! I'm glad that you had such a fantastic time in Japan with us. Thanks for the feedback about the futon in Hakone, we'll definitely take that on board for when we're planning future trips. The food at Yamaichi Bekkan is delicious, and the owner is very accommodating, so I'm glad you could find something good to eat.

All the best,

Katrina
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sophie Watling - Best of Japan, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Service was excellent, Ben listened to what we wanted and was able to adapt our tour. He was clear and prompt in his responses.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
As above
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hello Sophie, thanks very much for your feedback. I'm very happy that you enjoyed our Best of Japan trip and I'm very pleased that you were happy with Ben's service.

We're sorry to hear that you felt a little overwhelmed by our contact during your holiday. Customer service is very important to us which is why we check in with our customers before, during and after their trip to ensure that everything is running smoothly but we can understand why this might be a little much for some. We will bear it in mind in the future! (Hattie -- on behalf of Ben)
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
David Mcclean - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Our trip to Japan met every expectation, and the organisation was superb. The itinerary provided a wonderful mix of urban and rural, traditional and modern, and the recommendations in relation to accommodation, etc, were excellent also. We would not hesitate in recommending Inside Japan to others.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Katharina was extremely helpful and responsive,and we felt her guidance to have been excellent throughout.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Stephanie King - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Really fantastic tour, excellent guide and varied, exciting selections for dinner and evening entertainment.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
William-Kanye Mukai was witty, calm, relaxed and very patient. He was a lot of fun to spend time with, always forthcoming with interesting information, and keen to ensure every member of the party was happy. He went out of his way to ensure various members of our group were able to do the things they wanted, and even sang karaoke with us!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
My travel consultant, Karen Tomney, was helpful, professional and organised and very reassuring and swift in replying when I had queries while away, especially in relation to the typhoon.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Accommodation in the traditional inns with shared rooms was especially good and far exceeded expectations. The rooms in the Western hotels, though small, were generally much larger than I had expected too.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Loved using the trains, and Williams instructions also gave me the confidence to use them with no problems in the following week when I continued with a self-guided tour.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Breakfasts were good. The meal in Takayama was brilliant, and one of my favourite evenings of the tour. All other dinners, with restaurants selected by the guide, were generally excellent, good value for money and gave us the opportunity to try a wide range of Japanese food. One of my favourite elements of the tour.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The info I received for my self-guided week following Inside Japan has been especially good, and I would definitely consider using the company for my return to Japan.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome back from your holiday, thank you again for travelling with us.  I agree that more time in Kyoto is always worth it, there is so much to do all over the city that you could spend the whole length of the tour just in Kyoto and still not see everything. We look forward to your next trip!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Caroline Weston - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
InsideJapan Tours were perfect for us in that we could have a trip that suited us and our budget, whilst providing helpful advice before going and the pack we received with all of the advice about each of our locations was great - better than the guide book we bought in some instances!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Vivienne was incredibly helpful and gave us really good advice about where to go. She replied to any queries really quickly and was always quick to find a solution to any challenge.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The accommodation was always well-located and of a good standard.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All of the transport included was excellent - we experienced no difficulties in accessing it, other than finding the right kiosk for the transfer at Osaka airport (!) Everything ran really smoothly
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had David take us around Tokyo for a day and he was fantastic and knowledgeable - a perfect introduction to Tokyo and Japan!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We had a great time - the food was great, if quite different to what we normally have. Even as someone who doesnt eat much fish, I always found something delicious - we didnt have a bad meal the whole time we were there! The only negative thing was how difficult it was to navigate around the cities - I appreciate not much can be done about the Japanese address system, but more of a warning would have been helpful! We gave up finding a few bars because we couldnt work out where they were (directions in the info pack were sometimes really helpful, but other times we just got lost!), but we did enjoy getting lost and found some other great places instead!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We would love to visit Japan, but prefer not to go on group guided tours. InsideJapan Tours offers the flexibility to travel wherever we wanted, provided us with the support we needed, but still gave us the freedom to pick and choose what we did each day
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback, Cari! I hope you had a wonderful trip despite the bad start with your flight delay. Our English speaking Japan office team are here for just those situations and I'm glad they could help. Having someone to show you around Tokyo for a day is a great way to get to know the city, particularly when you are with a local like David. All the best, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sarah Young - Independent Travel, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Brilliant! thanks!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire was fantastic from start to finish. She tailored our trip to suit out needs and budgets. She was always there to answers our queries promptly. When we got there everything went so smoothly. Everything was perfect from the super lovely hotels staff to the useful guides provided by Inside Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The Western style hotels were lovely, perfect for our needs. But the out and out winners were the Ryokans. OMG the food, amazing, and the owners, so lovely. I have to say they made out trip we loved chatting to those guys.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I LOVE BULLET TRAINS.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Reiko was brilliant. She tailored the day so we got the most out of it and she really packed in the sights and info. Lovely lady, a truly wonderful day.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Can I mention the food again provided at the Ryokans...I think I can. Epic, I mean, we were shocked (in a good way) by all the delicious dishes...which just kept coming and coming. It was also fun trying to work out with owner what we were supposed to eat with what. :) A fantastic experience....oooh and Hida Beef, wow, yum.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You made everything so easy. You listened to our needs and made sure the trip was at the right price and included what we wanted. It was by far the best holiday we have ever had.
Review submitted: 17th Oct 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Sarah,

Thank you so much for your feedback; it is so fantastic to hear that the trip exceeded your (very excited!) expectations. I'm especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food so much as it is also one of my favourite things about Japan.
And thank you again for the flowers. Your card is on my desk inspiring me to create equally "epic" holidays for everyone I'm lucky enough to send to Japan!
Take care,

Claire
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009