contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 449 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 21-30 of 2312
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
Andrew Hildreth - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
No worries, no problems, and someone was always willing to help. Great food, culture, and skiing!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He was brilliant and 'on the money' with all suggestions. It made the trip so much better.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 17th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Many thanks for your feedback Andrew. Glad Mark looked after you well!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  0 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Hobkinson - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Had a great time and appreciated all the information and support provided
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Friendly, clear communicator, quick to follow up
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 16th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home Susan! I'm really glad you had a great time in Japan, and I'm glad the problem with your passport was resolved easily. I'm sorry you had trouble catching the train between Shin-Osaka and Kyoto. As mentioned in the daily itinerary section of your Info-Pack, JR update their timetables at the end of March each year meaning that some train times change slightly. It looks like this is the reason why you were not able to catch the train you were expecting. I'm sorry for the confusion, but I'm glad you were able to get there in the end! Many thanks for travelling with us and for your valued feedback. Richard
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Tracey Kinsella - Tokaido Trail, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service we received from InsideJapan Tours was excellent throughout. The tour was a great introduction to Japan and allowed us some flexibility to add a self guided extension.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Rawlins - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark was very helpful, knowledgable, good fun and always went the extra distance to ensure everyone was happy.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Jocelyn was very helpful throughout and put together a tailor-made self guided extension for us following the tour.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The hotels and inns were a good standard throughout.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Good range of transport. We particularly appreciated the luggage forwarding included for part of the tour.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The breakfasts were good and we enjoyed the included dinner.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We thought InsideJapan Tours were very knowledgable and good value for money.
Review submitted: 15th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thanks for your feedback Tracey. Sorry to hear about the missed guide, but glad we swiftly reimbursed you. Sounds like Mark the tour leader helped you see and experience the best of Japan. Happy future travels!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Robert Thain - Independent Travel, Feb 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very happy with the experience of using IJT
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Found Matthew to be attentive and knowledgeable when tailoring the trip, plenty of good suggestions to maximise my time in country, and responded to queries quickly.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 15th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Robbie! Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out our feedback form. I'm really glad to hear you had such a good time! Thanks as well for your message and photos on our facebook page, you got some really nice shots. All the best, Matthew
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Diana Caulfeild - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Could not fault our holiday at all amazing time and would thoroghly recommend inside Japan to our friends.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
No bad comments she listened to what we thought we would like, our final two nights at a Ryoken was the icing on the cake for a true Japanese experience.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 15th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback! I'm delighted that you and James had such a good time in Japan combining a visit to see your daughter and some sightseeing. The Hanaougi Bettei Iiyama is a beautiful, traditional ryokan inn and I'm glad these nights in Takayama were memorable for you. Many thanks again for travelling with InsideJapan Tours! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ann Shearer - Best of Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We liked the overall balance of the tour and the quality of the hotels. The guidebooks were extremely useful in providing suggestions. We liked the Perfect Days!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was very helpful, but not intrusive
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All the hotels were excellent
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The train passes were all fantastic and easy to use
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
See above
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Loved all the food especially in Hakone
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
You obviously know Japan and we benefited from your insight
Review submitted: 14th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Ann,

Welcome home! I'm really pleased you had a good time and hope you'll travel with us again.

- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
John Macdonald - Golden Route, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I was delighted with the service that I received from Inside Japan
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Ruth was always available to answer any queries that I had. When my plane was delayed by 24hrs she managed to rearrange my pick-up from the airport and my guide in Tokyo to the following day.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The hotels were better than I expected. My only negative was in Kyoto where the hotel could not cope with the demand for early breakfasts. The dining room was too small, there were not sufficient staff on duty to replenish the food and drinks when they ran out. There appeared to be tour companies block booking the dining room at breakfast time preventing other travellers getting in for breakfast.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The Japan rail pass was a real boon and if I returned I certainly would purchase again. The pick-up from the airport worked well. The transport system is so integrated and I never had to worry about not meeting train connections.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed my day with them.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food provided in Miyajima was wonderful and everything that was put in front of me was a delight. I was interviewed at the Peace Museum in Hirojima by the local Japanese TV station asking me about my trip and my reasons for visiting.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 14th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for the feedback and we're delighted that you enjoyed our service and had a great time in Japan. We have made a note of your comments regarding the Kyoto hotel and we will investigate further. Of course Kyoto is the most popular place to visit during Japan's cherry blossom season and all hotels are booked to capacity at this time.
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gwen Heliker - Hidden Japan, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
After surfing the web for weeks and looking at packages offered by local, national and international tour operators, InsideJapan Tours "Hidden Japan" was the only package I could find which offered bothe Kyoto and Hiroshima. My request for a brochure was answered promptly. In addition, the website provided detailed information on tour offerings.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Andrew Petty - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Having been in travel for 40+ years and specifically working with Tour Directors/Leaders, Andrew has all the traits required of a good Tour Director. He is knowledgable, organized, patient and courteous. It was a joy to see him interact with the hotel staff, restaurant workers, shop vendors, etc. and watch their positive reaction to him. None of my questions went unanswered, and he was always on hand to help me with my problems and interpreting what people were saying to me. I somehow have a habit of equally attracting problems (lost my luggage key)and strangers (locals would just start chatting with me including one man who said he learned English by watching John Wayne movies!)
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Halley is so pleasant to work with! She answered my questions promptly, and is definitely a dedicated and service-oriented travel consultant.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
All the hotel accommodations were excellent. At only one hotel were we mistakenly put into a smoking room, but they did their best to "sanitize" the room that night, and moved us to another room the next day. I loved our one night stay at the monastery.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was a new and exciting experience to travel via so many venues: electric trolley; old trains; bullet train; ferries. There were times I wish I could have caught a taxi instead of walking with my suitcase to the hotel (because of my arthritic knees), but I managed and Andrew helped me going uphill to one particular hotel.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Here in Hawaii, we eat Japanese food all the time, but it was great to experience the two formal (kaiseke?) dinners and wear yukatas. All breakfast buffets were simply fabulous offering both American and Japanese dishes.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
I love food, and the food in Japan was no exception from the ramen in a little hole-in-the-wall restaurant, to our group meals. Our group members were so friendly, and we couldn't have asked for better travel companions. There was not one bad apple in the bunch!
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
The only reason I would NOT use InsideJapan Tours would be because there are probably cheaper group packages through Hawaii-based tour operators going to other places in Japan. Since I am retired, cost would be a major factor in determining where I go and with which tour operator.
Review submitted: 13th Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Gwen! I'm so glad that your Japan trip was all you were hoping for, though a bit more hilly than expected. I really enjoyed seeing your pictures along the way and am very happy I could be a part of your HiddenJapan adventure! Mahalo~
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Angela Jensen - Spring Elegance, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very well organised and led.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Best tour leader I have ever encountered: knowledgeable, not over directive, efficient.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Always responded quickly and answered any queries. Very impressed by organising our evening meals onb our self guided visit to Nikko.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Was impressed by the locations of the accommodation - consistently good for sights, eating etc.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Really enjoyed using public transport - especially the highly efficient trains. Steve made understanding the trains and buses straightforward so we could also do it independently!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Liked the variety of eating places we experienced.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
This is the best tour company I have ever travelled with.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 12nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:
Welcome home Angela. Thanks for your kind words. Glad Steve the tour leader looked after you so well - he will be thrilled to read your comments. Happy future travels!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Benjamin Leane - Golden Route, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Overall we had a great experience from planning to returning home, and would recommend this type of self guided tour to others. The customised guide book helped us immensely and made sure we had times, addresses and other info at hand, without being locked into any schedules.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Satisfied Customer Rating
Ben was responsive and enthusiastic, and after a few hiccups booking hotels and confirming details we were very happy with the itinerary he put together.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
We were on a customised itinerary, visiting 4 hotels - Sunroute Plaza in Shinjuku, Ryokan View Hotel in Yudanaka, Daiwa Roynet Shijo in Kyoto, and the Sheraton Grande in Tokyo Bay. Out of those, we were extremely happy with all but the Daiwa Roynet. They had comfy beds and rooms, great service and good food. The Daiwa Roynet really stood out unfortunately - the room was shoebox sized with a bad bed and pillows making sleep hard, and breakfast was nothing special (although dinner at the restaurant was great!). Location was good, but we'd gladly have walked further or paid more for a better room there.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport logistics worked great, and we never felt lost or confused, and really appreciated the Manaca cards. The only time we got caught was returning to Narita via Airport Bus - we didn't realise the buses booked up fast, and when trying to book the morning of departure we found all buses were full! Luckily hotel staff helped us locate another hotel on a different bus route with availability, so we made our flight on time. May be good to put a 'book early' reminder in for the airport bus coupons :)
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides were wonderful company for a day, and went out of their way to take care of us - including translating for us with a doctor when my wife fell ill! Level of english impressed me, as did overall knowledge about the city.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
A few favourites from us for the trip: Favourite tourist attraction: Fushimi Inari Shrine in Kyoto Favourite hotel: Sunroute Plaza Hotel Shinjuku Favourite meal: Included traditional meals with Ryokan View Hotel in Yudanaka Favourite 'local' experience: Picnicing under the cherries in Ueno park with our bento boxes and watching thousands of people around us Favourite unexpected moment: The view of Tokyo Bay from Odaiba Park at night time - we sat in Starbucks looking at the rainbow bridge, Tokyo Tower and an amazing cityscape after our first full day of touring
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
After a first visit we feel much more comfortable with Japan now, but even if we don't take a self-guided tour again ourselves we'd be recommending to others.
Review submitted: 12nd Apr 2014 at 17:34
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Ben,

 

Welcome home! Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time in Japan. I'm glad that you enjoyed Fushimi Inari, too - one of my favourite places! Thank you for the feedback on the Kyoto hotel, too. We will certainly take that onboard.

 

Ben

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009