contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 459 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 21-30 of 2461
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
Sofia Fatalevich - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Loved The country, want to go back next year.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - A Little Disappointed Customer Rating
Suggested basic tour and did not adjust it for us in any way
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Poor
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Did not meet my expectations
Rooms were very small, rayokan in Hakone was cold and stinky
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
We had to switch 5 trains to get to Hakone! The guide should have suggested transfer by car service.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The tour guide in Tokyo was horrible - no English or knowledge of Tokyo. The tour guide of Kyoto was absolutely superb, we loved her!
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Average
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No
Review submitted: 21st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Dear Sofia,

Many thanks for your comments. It was great to read that you loved Japan.

We have taken aboard your comments regarding your experience with your travel consultant and the Hakone ryokan and I have since reached out to you directly.

Many thanks again,

Mat (US Branch Manager)
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Victoria Williams - Spirit of Honshu, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Every day was well planned, loads of fun, and low stress.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Yasuhiko Ota - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Yasuhiko Ota was loads of fun and he made sure we were on track and comfortable at all times.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was great! She was especially helpful when we were planning the pre- and post- tour days.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The location of the Asakusa View Hotel is wonderful, and the breakfast buffet is amazing.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Loved the vans and the bullet trains.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Very interesting and fun. The IJT-provided meals were really special.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
We did enjoy the food and tried a wide variety of Japanese cuisine. We tried almost everything at the Asakusa View breakfast buffet, and since there was pretty much no English signage, we had to guess at what we were eating. They said there was a "Western" breakfast, but we didn't find it. But it was an adventure and we loved it. The meal at the ryokan was extraordinary. The tour of the MOA Museum was a surprise and a delight. It is true that by the time the tour ended we were all ready for some non-Japanese food, so we ate Italian at the Kyoto Hyatt. Great meal - thanks.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 14th Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Welcome back, Vikki, and thank you for your great feedback! It's great that you had such a lovely time with Ota-san on this tour, even more because there was only four of you so it was a pretty exclusive experience. I loved that you tried different kinds of Japanese food as there is so much to eat that's tasty besides sushi, tempura, and so on. I've added those hotels to my wifi list so will let clients know in the future that they have free wifi. Thanks again! ~ Amy

Vikki traveled on our spring Spirit of Honshu, which features smaller number of people and a more luxurious type of travel, including a deluxe ryokan stay in Shimoda.

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Marilyn Williscroft - Independent Travel, Mar 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We were stunned at the depth of information provided and the documentation received at the start of the trip. So detailed and useful. Someone had done a lot of work on our behalf.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
We felt we were well advised and although we changed our mind and altered the trip before booking on the travel advice of Japanese friends, there was no impatience, only friendly customer service.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Accommodation was excellent and varied. We stayed in hotels, minshuku and ryokans, all a very good standard. All were easy to find and in within walking distance (with luggage).
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was great - trains and buses and all of it worked. We did have one rush to catch a bus with 8 minutes to find where it left but that was due to train delay. Train is a great way to travel in Japan and it is rare that they are late.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
N/A
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Malcolm loved all the food offered and much of the time there was no choice. He did, however, have real difficulty in sitting on the floor to eat as he is not very flexible and his back hurt. For myself, no trouble with sitting on the floor but I did not cope very well with raw and slippery unknown food. The raw horsemeat speciality was not for me! Despite that(I was delighted to find I lost weight!) we had such a fantastic trip around Japan, both on our own with friends and with InsideJapan. We were delighted to co-incide with the start of the cherry blossom season and our photos of the girls in traditional dress are a superb reminder of how special that time is. We learned of Japanese traditions, saw geisha and maiko and visited wonderful castles and temples. The journey into the mountains from Kanazawa was special. It was very cold with some snow still on the ground in early April but that meant that there were very few tourists and more enjoyable. The villages chosen to visit were perfect (Magome/Tsumago etc) but we also liked the cities visited, ie Kanazawa for the geisha district and gardens, Matsumoto for the great castle, in fact there wasn't anywhere we didn't like. We thought that it was a great idea to stay north of Mt Fuji on the lake at Kawaguchiko as it was apparently less touristy than Hakone where our friends viewed the mountain. We were so lucky to have 3 days of perfect views and sunshine there. I bought a conical straw hat to use for gardening and all the locals laughed at me. I believe the writing on it says "Fuji-San" but perhaps not! The Japanese people are lovely, so polite and helpful. Our personal best in politeness was having 5 hotel staff bowing us out the door when we went for a walk! We would love to go back. I wanted to see the snow monkeys but it was not the right time of year so we may return again for a ski holiday and do more touring. We did learn some basic Japanese before we went so we could order food and drink and say thank you and goodbye. We could also enquire about local sights etc but the information centres are fantastic and speak some English. We are happy to talk at length about our experiences if anyone wants to ask us any questions or expand on the above. We are very satisfied clients.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We are now great InsideJapan fans! We have recommend their services to all our friends. Good knowledge of the country, even down to sending a photo of the luggage lockers in Shirakawago! The booklets were invaluable and the having maps made it so much easier than having to find a map in English locally.
Review submitted: 13th Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Marilyn, thank you for submitting your feedback. I'm really pleased you had such a great time in Japan as part of what was quite a long and complicated trip! I'm glad all of the information we sent to you before you left was so useful. Thank you for recommending us to all of your friends too! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
James Gottesman - Japan Enchantment, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
fabulous tour. Great people.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 12nd Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your comments, James! I'm so glad to hear that you and your wife had such a wonderful time on our group tour and met lots of lovely people. We will review our list of what to bring, though a lot of our suggestion depend on the time of year---it's good that the weather was so great while you were in Japan. I hope you'll recommend us to your friends who are interested in Japan. ~ Amy

James traveled on our May Japan Enchantment, which takes in the classic sights such as Tokyo and also some notable mountain areas such as Karuizawa and Nagano, famous for being the site of the 1998 Winter Olympics!

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Alyson Yee - Spring Elegance, Apr 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was exceptional. The entire trip from planning to the very end was well organized, affordable, and fun!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Steve is a fantastic guide. He is friendly, funny, helpful, organized, patient...He really made the trip a memorable one. He gave us the freedom to explore on our own without feeling alone. We always knew we could fall back on him if necessary. His coordination of the entire group was flawless.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
He was very helpful. We arrived a day early and he arranged for an additional night in the hotel.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 12nd Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Alyson,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed your time on our Spring Elegance tour. I hope you were able to enjoy the beautiful Japanese scenery at that time of year!

Thanks again for travelling with us. We would be delighted to welcome you to Japan again in the future, and if you are interested in taking a trip to somewhere else in Asia, such as Vietnam, Laos Cambodia and/ or Burma, do get in touch and the team at InsideVietnam will take you on another trip of a lifetime!

Ben

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Vanessa Boz - Independent Travel, Apr 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
very detailed, very helpful on the ground with all the material we had, the tickets pre-purchased. Very attentive to our needs...
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
He listened very well to our needs, worked hard to put together a good itinerary given the short notice. excellent all along
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
would have liked to stay in more charming / special places
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
excellent
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guide in Kyoto was quite disappointing actually. Did not have a perfect english, so children had hard time understanding her, and was not very engaging, although she was very nice and pleasant.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Review submitted: 11st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Vanessa

Reading your fantastic travel blog when you first got in touch, I was excited about planning your trip. It sounds like you had an amazing family holiday and have lots of special memories from Japan. I would love to arrange a follow up trip to include the Kitty train and some of the other unusual things in Japan that you didn't have time to get to. With regards to the accommodation, unfortunately we were limited by last minute availability. Thank you for taking the time to review your trip - I loved reading the blog posts that followed! Mark   

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Dana Johnson - HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! , May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Mat was very helpful when it came to questions or concerns that I had. I liked that he was quick to respond to those questions and concerns and that his answers were helpful. The first night in Japan was kind of traumatizing due to the fact that I had to fly to Haneda instead of Narita and could not be picked up by the tour leader. However, everything afterwards was great. I had a very nice time in Japan and loved the whole experience.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Tyler Palma - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Tyler was very nice and super helpful. He really knew his facts about the places he took us too, and he willingly listened to any ideas that I or my group had.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The accommodation was fine. I wasn't expecting it to be five star or anything like that. The rooms were clean and the staff at all of the hotels were very friendly and helpful. The only problem I had was at the toyoko inn in Ikekuburo. The beds were really hard and it made it hard for me to sleep well when I was in that area.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was fine. Crowded when it came to the trains but I loved the experience. I had never ridden a train prior to my visit to Japan so it was very interesting.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I have no complaints about the food in Japan. I was pleased with everything we ate.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
One of my favorites things that happened in Japan was the first night in Kyoto. After we had dined at the revolving sushi bar, our tour leader had left us, telling us we could shop, walk around, etc. Most of my group decided to get together and participate in Karaoke. They nominated me to do the translating, due to the fact that aside from the tour leader, I was the second person there who knew the most Japanese and was willing to talk to people. It was difficult at first, but once we figured out how to use the key pad to sing, we had a blast.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I like how organized the whole tour group was. My travel Consultant Mat was very helpful the whole way, I was also very fond of my tour leader Tyler who was very helpful as well. I like the fact that even though it was a tour, it didn't feel like it was. It felt like just a bunch of old friends getting together and having a great vacation together. I liked that we took local transportation, and that we were able to see things that not every tour group gets to see due to riding on a tour bus the whole time.
Review submitted: 11st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Dana, thanks for your comments! It sounds like you had a real BLAST!! Sometimes the smallest and most unexpected things are what make these trips so special. 

I'm glad that the arrival in Japan did not make a lasting impact. To have miss your flight due to Obama leaving from LAX is quite the story! The fact that you were put on a flight to Haneda at the last minute just made it impossible for us to make alternative arrangements and let you know what these were before you were out of phone/email contact. 

If you want to travel again on another of our wonderful Small Group Tours do let me know!


Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Glynis Larke - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The information pack we were given for the trip was invaluable, saving us lots of time in sorting out our travel methods and timings etc. Excellent accommodation, the arranged Japanese guide and the pre-booked tour/mazda visit were well worth doing. Suggestions for places to visit and to eat were taken up on. We cannot praise Claire and InsideJapan Tours enough. The sake waiting in our room in Kyoto were a lovely surprise too! We used the luggage forwarding service several times and were interested to discover in our conversations with other travellers that they were unaware of the service. I have wanted to visit Japan for many years, my husband wasn't quite so keen but we both agree that this was a wonderful trip and we are now looking to visit again in a year or two and will have no hesitation in asking IJT to do the hard work again.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire listened to the types of things we said we enjoyed and incorporated these into our trip. She kept us informed of changes, I think there was only 1 and called as promised prior to us leaving for our trip. A very helpful lady.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All hotel accommodation, both western and Japanese style were excellent. The Century Southern in Tokyo and Yamakyu were particularly good. Room in Tokyo had a fantastic view and breakfast choice. Manger in the Kamikochi ryokan came to meet us from the bus station as we were late, outside private onsen in Hakone quite something when it was pouring with rain whilst we were in the hot bath. Most disappointing was the hotel in Osaka. Another excellent room, probably the best but no double glazed windows and so not a good nights sleep.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Japan rail card is excellent value. The IC card was not accepted on the Kanazawa buses.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guide helped us with navigating the transport system as well as suggesting the best places to visit in Kyoto, (the only day we had a guide with us). He poke good English and we found him to be very helpful particularly on our first day in a country we hadn't visited before.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We had fun finding some of the recommended restaurants especially where the name did not appear in English! We were surprised that we could eat very well and very cheaply. We enjoyed the food and were disappointed only with the breakfast experience in Kanazawa which was very limited and a the breakfast area a bit untidy compared to the other hotels.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The knowledge IJT have is so very good. The way the information is put together makes it possible for us to make the best of out time in the country
Review submitted: 10th Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Dear Glynis,

I'm so pleased to hear that you and Chris enjoyed your trip so much and that the small hiccup you experienced in Kamikochi was overcome with the usual Japanese kindness. Having a private outdoor hot springs bath in Hakone is always a treat but must have been extra special in the pouring rain!

I look forward to organising another trip for you.
Claire
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Jennifer Perry - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
very helpful info in general
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Matsumoto Richmond Hotel dreadful - breakfast was in a public cafe on ground floor. Apart from this the hotels were v good
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
info regarding intercity travel was excellent
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
both the guides in Tokyo and Kyoto were v good, informative, helpful and amiable
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
Breakfasts in all the hotels were good except for Matsumoto. Southern Century Tower in Tokyo was great fun being so high and Shibuya a great vibe
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
The overall pre-trip support and help was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip - memorable in every way. Definitely a trip of a life time.
Review submitted: 09th Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback and glad we could help you with the trip of a lifetime! We appreciated the feedback about the hotel in Matsumoto and will certainly be checking this out.  If you travel again we would love to help! Jocelyn
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Abubakr At-tayeb - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service I received from Inside Japan was amazing,from the speed of response to the detail regarding the travel plan. Everything was done perfectly.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
It was a great and prompt service that I received.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 06th Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you very much for your feedback!  I'm really glad that you had a fantastic trip and that all your arrangements worked out well.  We hope you'll get a chance to travel with us again some day!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009