contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 461 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 11-20 of 2461
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
Yvonne Rae - Hands On Japan, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very well organised and interesting tour. Not for those who want a casual meander around Japan though as the tour was very busy! Insidejapan dealt with all arrangements and I could just go with the flow. This took a lot of the stress out of the trip. Tips for fellow travellers: 1) get really good walking shoes even if they aren't pretty, it was a mistake I made! 2) learn a few key Japanese phrases. It's always nice to make an effort. 3) rent a mobile and make sure your tour leader has the number. I wish I had done it. It is fairly unlikely you will get lost but if you do it will stop your tour leader having a panic! 4) if you are squeamish about raw fish or seafood and have no intention of trying either, mark yourself out as 'no fish' or 'vegetarian' early on otherwise you may go hungry. Alternatively, be brave! All in all it was a fantastic trip and I am making plans to save up for the next one in a year or two!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I had already been warned from reviews that Mark was a fast walker and I would certainly support that view. You do have to move fairly swiftly though as time is precious and there is often not a lot of it available to travel between experiences. Generally we arrived on time for almost everything and although I did get lost once when I was at the back of the pack on a bike when the lights changed he came back for me. It was wonderful to have someone who could translate for us and every so often he also took small numbers of us off the beaten track a little so we could see something a little more. Very friendly, helpful, and patient. ありがとうございます。
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Answered every query I had in good time and with a pleasant manner. Thank you Karen!
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Japan public transport is amazing!
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Beautiful food but not to everyone's taste. Maybe be more explicit about what to expect as there was very little meat and lots of fish. It will mean people can be more upfront with their preferences at the beginning.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
There are too many stories! :D
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Lovely people, well organised, interesting tours.
Review submitted: 22nd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Yvonne,

Thanks for taking the time to feedback to us! Really glad you had a good time and that Mark was able to help improve your experience.

??????????!

Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Lutkenhouse - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Loved the booklet setting out my Itinerary. I called it my bible and it helped to make the entire trip flow effortlessly. It was also nice to have the personal touch with the rep, and the is everything OK phone call while there.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very personable, very helpful, the tour that she put together was spot on.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 22nd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Sue, and thank you also for taking the time to send your suggestions by email. I'm so pleased to hear the trip went well, and glad you found the Info-Pack ('bible') useful!

Wishing you happy future travels!

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Kylie Bannister - Independent Travel, Apr 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had an excellent experience using InsideJapan - everything was perfectly organised and this meant that we could relax and enjoy our holiday without worrying whether everything would go to plan. We had an amazing holiday and can't wait to go back again!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Karen was brilliant! She was incredibly helpful in working with our requirements and made lots of helpful suggestions for the best way to utilise our time in Japan! Karen always responded very quickly to any concerns or questions that we had, as well as changes that we asked to be made to the original proposal for our trip.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The ryokan we stayed in, in Hakone, was wonderful. Our stay here was possibly our favourite part of the holiday!
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Transport was excellent and the advice and tickets given were incredibly useful. It made the whole holiday quite stress-free!
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Our guides in both Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent - they were full of interesting information and ideas of places to visit. I would highly recommend engaging a professional guide in the big cities.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The food at the ryokan in Hakone was amazing! Our time in Hakone was suggested by Karen and this turned out to be our favourite part of the holiday - we are very grateful for the suggestion!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Everything was brilliantly organised and we felt that we could enjoy the holiday more with all of the arrangements taken care of.
Review submitted: 22nd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Kylie, thank you for your feedback! I'm really glad you enjoyed Hakone and your stay there at the Ichinoyu Honkan. I stayed there, too, last year and really liked it! I hope we can help you take another trip in the future.
- Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ruth Lane - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
I would like to say excellent but there was some misleading information about the date of the Geisha show in Kyoto which meant that we missed it. However, this did not detract from the holiday overall.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Pepijn was very helpful in the planning stages. He readily answered all our questions over the phone before we accepted the quote and the itinerary he planned for us gave us an excellent first experience of Japan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Loved the ryokans, especially Gora Hanaougi.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transport worked out really well. We were happy that we had reserved seats when they were included and were pleased that we chose a first class rail pass so that we could reserve seats on each of the other journeys. We liked this reassurance of a reserved seat and the service and comfort in the first class carriages.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
They were excellent. Mikako in Tokyo was a delight, Mr Takashi in Kanazawa was charming and took us to so many great places. Yoriko in Kyoto became a friend we will miss.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Loved the food.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Only that I have seen a cruise in Cambodia organised by APT which involves getting to Angkor Wat by boat. This seems a good option to me.
Review submitted: 22nd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Dear Ruth,
Welcome home and thank you for traveling with us.
Thank you for your detailed feedback. I'm sorry that you had to miss the Miyako Odori performance due to a wrong date in the Info-Pack. Although we cannot replace the missed experience for you, I will make sure that you will receive a refund for the tickets.
Great to hear that you like the luggage forwarding so much that you used it on other parts of the trip as well. I will make sure to put more recommendations for this service in future info packs.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the Gora Hanaougi ryokan in Hakone. It is one of my personal favorites. 
Kind regards, Pepijn
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Ouli Senanayake - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
The service was very good and information very accurate and up to date. Detailed pack was very useful.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Claire Brothers - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Claire was very prompt and pro-active in responding to queries and provide alternative solutions.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Yes but please see above comments.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transport by train and subway was very efficient. Some taxi transfers to hotel could have been organized in advance though.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We have 2 guides in Tokyo and Kyoto and they were both very good and highly professional.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Food is excellent and very healthy. We enjoyed Japanese food for 2 weeks.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
Review submitted: 22nd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Diana,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip and would consider traveling with us again. Thank you for alerting us to the problem with the transfer to your ryokan in Miyajima, I hope at least that you could enjoy the beautiful scenery during your wait.
And if possible, please let me know if the silk that you dyed in Kanazawa arrived safely at home!

Thank you

Claire
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Peter Deen - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
flawless
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
railway superb
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
the information we were given was very well thought out , even the sumo was oraganised very well
Review submitted: 22nd Jun 2014 at 17:36
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Peter,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us in Japan - good to hear that you enjoyed the Sumo!

Thanks again for travelling with us. We would be delighted to welcome you to Japan again in the future, and if you are interested in taking a trip to somewhere else in Asia, such as Vietnam, Laos Cambodia and/ or Burma, do get in touch and the team at InsideVietnam will create a fantastic trip for you.

Ben

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Peter Scott - Best of Japan, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great trip, well organised, great customer service.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ben Morrow - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Did a great job with very short notice. Accommodated lots of last minute changes.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 21st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Hi Peter,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us in Japan. We will certainly take on board your comments about the day in Kyoto.

Thanks again for travelling with us. We would be delighted to welcome you to Japan again in the future, and if you are interested in taking a trip to somewhere else in Asia, such as Vietnam, Laos Cambodia and/ or Burma, do get in touch and the team at InsideVietnam will create a fabulous trip for you.

Ben

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Laura Davidson - Japan Unmasked, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
From start to finish we were treated to excellent customer service and were kept informed every step of the way.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
We really enjoyed our time with Alain. He was very friendly and knowledgeable of the areas visited. He proved an invaluable guide when dealing with public transport. He was very indulgent when faced with questions and recommended some lovely places to eat.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Alison was always easily contactable via e-mail. She also put together an extra week of activities for after the tour as we decided to stay in Japan a little longer. She organised some great extra experiences and kept us well within our travel budget. When we asked for our final hotel to be changed so that we could stay at the airport rather than travel the following morning, Ali provided very prompt service and adjusted our plans accordingly. She was always friendly and approachable, even when faced with a million email queries! If we decide to book another trip through yourselves it would be wonderful to deal with Ali again.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
Most of the accommodation was top notch, with the Ryokans giving a lovely taste of the traditional experience. The Toyoko Inn chain hotels were a little cramped, but all others exceeded our expectations (especially the wonderful Tokyo Dormy Inn Ali booked during our extra week!).
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
I wasn't sure what the transportation situation would be before booking and was weary of long coach trips, so I was pleasantly surprised to discover that for most of the journeys we would be traveling by train. This was a much nicer atmosphere than I had expected. Public transportation in Japan is a great experience.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The food choices were always varied throughout the trip. The places Alain took us to were always well received and the food interesting. We managed to try a good selection of new foods! The only place we struggled to find somewhere to eat was Kurashiki and this was mostly because it wasn't as touristy as the other locations.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
My favourite meal of the holiday was at a restaurant that specialised in Hida Beef, being able to cook your own meat at the table was an enjoyable dining experience. It wasn't an included meal, but the group visited by tour guide recommendation.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
IJT kept us well informed during booking and throughout the trip we were well looked after. Even once the group tour had ended and we were on our own we had been given enough information through the provided packs to navigate everything we needed to.(Those packs were a lifesaver- We couldn't have done without them our last week.) Spending two weeks with a well managed tour group gave us an extra boost of confidence for our final solo week.
Review submitted: 21st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback, Laura! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed Japan Unmasked and also your action-packed add-on. You certainly managed to see and do a lot of things.

If you did decide to visit Japan it would be a pleasure to deal with you again, too!

Happy future travels!

Ali

 

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sarah Oneill - Independent Travel, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Vivienne was fantastic, she answered all of our questions and provided excellent customer service
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Of the 3 hotels we stayed in (exc. the Gora Hanougi) the Tokyo Park Hyatt was great, the Hotel Granvia Kyoto was a little tired (not really what we call 5*) and the Tokyo Peninsula had a fantastic room but breakfast was minimal and overpriced (did not appreciate the breakfast area being in the middle of the lobby, not exactly a relaxing experience
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
all transport excellent - JR vouchers, Manaca cards and instructions on how to use everything was 1st class
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Ms Hiroko Makino in Tokyo was a little disappointing. Lovely lady, but, her English was not that good, so we couldn't engage in conversation, she spoke very quietly so when she did offer up any information we couldn't understand her and she offered no real insight into Tokyo - we could've covered the sights just as easily without her. We should have had Hiroko's services until 4.30pm but we stopped the day early (around 2pm) as it just wasnt' working for us Ms Kazuko Iwamura in Kyoto on the other hand, was excellent. She had excellent English, a great sense of humour and was incredibly knowledgable. She took time out before we set off for the day planning exactly what we wanted to see and do. She was well worth the expense and we really felt that she showed us the true Kyoto. Highly recommend Kazuko
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Exceptional service. Just knew everything was going to work out as planned and it did
Review submitted: 21st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your feedback, Sarah! I'm delighted you loved your time in Japan and particularly enjoyed your time with Ms Kazuko Iwamura in Kyoto and your stay at the Park Hyatt. We will certainly take on board your comments on the guide in Tokyo and your Kyoto hotel. We look forward to arranging your trip to Burma soon! Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Katarzyna Radlowska-khan - Best of Japan, May 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I was very happy with the professional approach of the operator. With no problem throughout our stay. Both before and throughout our stay we seem to be well informed and guided well. The guide books received came very useful and were greatly appreciated.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Katharina Held - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
We were very happy with our consultant who listened to our specific ever changing needs and seem to consider all of them in our itinerary. There was always a prompt repl to our emails and lengthy reply to our questions and concerns. As a couple travelling with small todler we had quite a few concerns which were taken into consideration and greatly tailored into our busy itinerary.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
We stayed in ryokan in Tokayama which was lovely however didn't appreciate the fact that we were additionally charged for extra futton on the floor without warning us this was at additional cost. We felt this was something that could have been mentioned by reception or stuff who prepared our beds. Other than this all of our accommodation was good and had no problems.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
We were very happy with the transport. Had no problems at all.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
We had quides in Kyoto and Tokyo and were little dissapointed. The guides were ordered to show us something we weren't able to see ourselves but felt both instances we were just taken to the most famous attractions and because of that we felt it was unnecessary for us to actually have a guide at all.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We loved our trip and the whole experience bit there were two little issues that influenced our overall stay. Firstly our trip was too long. It is not operators fault as we were the one selecting dates but as we never travelled that long with small child and me being pregnant we couldn't appreciate what that involves. So therefore we felt some of the destinations were not really worth our visit (Okayama & Kanazawa) and could have been avoided and time added additionally to see Kyoto. Also as a final destination Tokyo proven to busy. We were very tired and felt like we have "seen it all". I would definatelly now suggest not leaving such busy destinations till last. As sure Tokyo has soo much to offer that we definatelly missed out on quite few simply because of exhaustion. Second issue as mentioned before was food. We were stunned on how difficult it proven to be to find something that would satisfy needs of a "Muslim man, pregnant lady and a toddler " I am certain it would have been a different story should we be without a child and me not being pregnant.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
We were very well informed this time around and if we ever travel back to Japan it would be to see things we weren't able to due to lack of time so there would be no need for a full assistance as we feel like we got to know Japan well.
Review submitted: 21st Jun 2014 at 17:35
InsideJapan Tours says:
Dear Kat,

many thanks for your feedback! I am glad to hear that you and your family had a good time in Japan! Japan can be a bit difficult when it comes to dietary requirements and we always do our best to find accommodation which can cater for them to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I would be more than happy to welcome you and the new addition to your family back to Japan in the future. Many thanks again for traveling with us. All the best! - Katharina
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009