contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 545 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 11-20 of 2699
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
Sarah Jarvis - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Made organising the holiday so easy, and arranged a trip that suited us really well. It was very reassuring to know IJ could be contacted while we were away.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Richard came up with suggestions for us that suited us very well. He was very helpful and answered all my questions quickly and well.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
All the accommodation suited us very well. Really enjoyed the Japanese style stays.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Train travel was so enjoyable. Some of the train times suggested were a little early in the day for us but we were able to find later times OK. Having a taxi arranged from and to the airport was a real treat.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides were excellent and very knowledgeable. Having a whole day from 9 to 5 did feel perhaps a little long, particularly in Tokyo at the beginning of our trip.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The trip was a really good mix of city and more rural Japan, and the accommodation all suited us very well. Highlights included- being picked up at the airport by a lovely lady taxi driver Asakusa was a really good introduction to Tokyo and Japan, and the hotel was excellent the day with our guide was very good, although I was flagging rather by about 3pm loved the Kiso valley, and although the rain was a shame it did mean it was lovely and quiet there great hotel in a great location in Kyoto (it was two days before I realised I could open the sliding window screens and see out!) our cycle tour and being invited to our guides house for tea was really special loved the shinkansen the fantasic welcome and food at the Yamaichi Bekkan and walking up Mount Misen by the tricky Omoto course! Okayama was a bit trickier as so little English spoken and it was a busy bank holiday weekend, but really enjoyed the Kiso valley cycle route (we did need the assistance of google maps to find the station at Soja) and shopping in Kurashiki rather wet when we arrived at the Ichonyu Honkan and our room was a little gloomy, but the outdoor bath was a treat, the staff were delightful, and the following day was a beautiful sunny day we we could really enjoy the sculpture museum and the ropeway the hotel Sunroute was excellent and we were upgraded to one if their newly refitted beautiful Japanese rooms, which was a lovely and relaxing retreat from the business of Shinjuka.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Very impressed with knowledge, service offered and value for money.
Review submitted: 12nd Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you for your shining review! We are delighted that you had an unforgettable trip!

We have taken on board your comments about early train times and a full day of guiding. We will give future customers more time in the morning to catch trains and will give customers the option of a half day or full day guiding.

The upgrade at the Sunroute Hotel in Tokyo sounds like a great way to end your trip.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you took many photos to remember your trip!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Catherine Black - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Ruth was great- very flexible with what we wanted to do and the planning was very stress free from our side! Thank you! You do a great job!!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Very helpful, flexible and welcoming, thank you! There was a slight change to one of our train times (nothing to do with inside japan tours) and it was sorted, with replacement ticket and information ready waiting for us at our hotel, so everything was re-arranged without it affecting our trip. Great customer service.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 12nd Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Deirdre Goussard - Japan Enchantment, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Well structured tour Good mix of social and cultural insights of Japan Travelling by public transport is an effective way of seeing the country from a more japanese perspective The hotels were were very good
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Steve Parker - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Very proffessional Very patient Always in control of the group Knowledgable Always open to taking the groups requests into account.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Ruth Hubbard - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Communication excellent Eager to please
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
We were very pleased to have been in the Gate Hotel which was small but very good and also had a very good restaurant
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Public transport good idea Also nice idea to see 1st class on the Bullet train as well Nice option to have a taxi avilable if one is to tired to walk - Steve always gave us that option- but one sees so much more when one walks
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
Breakfasts varied and excellent. Dinners whether kaiseiki or French were excellent We were taken to varied Japanese eating establishments which were good Most important-my complicated food requirements were always taken into account.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
As above...loved the food
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Well planned tourvalue for money flexible sufficient free time well rounded
Review submitted: 11st Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  0 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Leanne Hay - Japan Unmasked, Sep 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Matthew was very helpful in the planning stages and responded very quickly to any requests. The trip was very much as advertised. Had a great time.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William Mukai - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
William was exceedingly patient which was necessary with the varied age groups.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mathew Eccles - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
See above comments.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 11st Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Leanne, welcome back from Japan Unmasked! It's good to know that absolutely nothing could be done to improve the overall experience...we can't do much better than that! (Mat)
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Reza Gosal - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very specific guidance for daily itineraries
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 11st Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Roger Emanuel - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Service in helping us plan our trip, bookings, transportation tickets,and train/ferry details were most helpful. Our trip was seamlessly rebooked due to an injury that required us to postpone the trip for 5 months. Accommodations good although there were several problems. Restaurant listing provide good descriptions but it was difficult using them to select restaurants as some lists arent organized by area or train station and price guidance is not included for most cities. Mark Rawlins was great as our dinner host one evening. Our Tokyo guide, Suzuki, did a good job for the 4 hours we were with him.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was most helpful with trip suggestions and had the difficulty of rebooking our hotels/inns as we had to reschedule due to an injury.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 11st Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you very much for your feedback, Roger. I'm happy that we could re-arranged your previous May plans successfully for an October departure instead, and it sounds like you had a wonderful trip in spite of the sudden typhoon outbreak! I'm sorry that you experienced a few difficulties with some of the accommodations, and will keep this in mind for clients traveling in the future. I'll pass your compliments to Mark and Suzuki-san as well! ~ Amy
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Douglas Shade - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The web site is well organized and informative. Having a local office in Boulder was definitely a plus. Overall, the whole experience was outstanding.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Amy Tadehara - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Amy was great. The itinerary she came up with was excellent.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The location of each hotel was excellent. Lots to see within walking distance. The hotel quality and service wonderful. The ryokans especially.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transportation that was included was,again,complete and well thought out. Still,navigating Tokyo train stations can be a challenge. The Pasmo card is a great way to go.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both our guides were outstanding. Although I must say that our guide in Kyoto (Mr.Suzuki) was absolutely remarkable.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The provided meals were all good. Some food items were familiar,others not so much. Our favorite provided meals were at the Hanaya Ryokan. Otherwise, we ate primarily at mom & pop restaurants and found some really great food. On our first night in Asakusa we stopped in a street side cafe for drinks and ended up trading stories with the family owners. In Kyoto, we were standing on a street corner studying a map to locate the National Museum when an older gentleman (spoke no English) came out of a nearby convenience store to help. Somehow we managed to communicate and he pointed us in the right direction. We have a lot of great memories from this trip.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Value for the cost, professional staff, well organized trip schedule, inside tips from people who have been there. I could go on.
Review submitted: 10th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback, Doug! It was such a pleasure getting to know you (and your family) over the past months, meeting you and your wife in person, and planning the perfect trip for you all. I agree that Tokyo's stations can be a bit unnerving at first but it sounds like you did very well in navigating with a little help along the way. I'm really happy you got to meet so many friendly Japanese people and taste all kinds of new and familiar food, and I hope you are inspired to return again someday to see/do/eat more! ~ Amy
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Lorraine Murray - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Very good information in advance, helpful and friendly service, just the right level of contact
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Cate Füchter - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The hotels in Tokyo (Asakusa Richmond and Southern Century Southern Tower), Kyoto (Vista Premio) and the Kansuiro Ryokan in Hakone were all excellent and better than we expected. The Hotel in Takayama (Hida Hanasato-no-yu) was a bit disappointing compared with the others - there was a smoking area on our floor which affected the room a little, and decor was a bit tired.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Excellent. Very well organised and explained.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
They were both very good. The guide in Kyoto, Naoko Yamamoto, was exceptionally good.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Very good local knowledge and recommendations, good choice of accommodation, very sensibly arranged travel, excellent information pack. A very thoughtfully put together package all round.
Review submitted: 10th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Euan Cartwright - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Brilliant, both were brilliant and hard to say which was better!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
She was great, nothing was too much trouble and the material and programme she put together for us was spot on. You should go out of your way to hold on to her.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The ryokan at Takayama was a bit disappointing though the food there was great. It was our decision to use this particular accommodation and in no way the fault of Inside Japan
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Everything work perfectly
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
The people of Japan are a particular memory. The were delightful, nothing was too much trouble, they are a highlight of our visit. (As was seeing a black bear when we were walking in a forest though we didnt hang around to find out about him)
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
having all the accommodation and transport arrangements sorted in advance was great and although we didnt need it it was comforting for a couple of pensioners to know that support was available from your office in Japan.
Review submitted: 10th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Many thanks for your feedback, Euan. Really pleased you had such a great trip and managed to escape the bear in Nikko! All the best, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gillian Harris - Independent Travel, Oct 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
I was very pleased with the level of organisation and the way the tickets for trains etc. and the itinerary was organised. I felt that our trip worked well - I wasnt mad about a couple of the places we stayed but overall that didnt affect us too much. Yamanochoya in Hakone was disappointing and didnt live up to expectations for the cost. It was a shame that a better room wasnt booked for us for a few pounds more - our hot spring bath was barely large enough for the two of us and the view was pretty non existent due to trees etc. - certainly no moon viewing! Also the food was not brilliant - we had experienced an 8 course banquet style meal on arrival in Tokyo (recommended on Trip Advisor near The Gate Hotel) and we felt that Yamanchoya was nowhere near as good. Also disappointing that there was significant road noise there too. Im imagined gazing at beautiful scenery in the peace and quiet whilst sitting in the hot bath - and thats not really the reality. My suggestion would be to book guests into better rooms with more space if you continue to use it.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Mark listened to what Id asked for and offered us good choices and suggestions on the whole, although slightly missed the sort of hotel we like with our last night (and anniversary) at the Park Hyatt in Tokyo - yes the views were amazing but apart from that it felt like we could have been anywhere in the world and was similar to many hotels that weve stayed in around the world whilst working - didnt care for it at all and thought it was incredibly overpriced and very westernised. We loved the Kanra in Kyoto, it was just the ticket - as was the Gate Hotel in Tokyo. Those were both great choices. And we particularly loved the Maiko Tea Ceremony in Kyoto - that was really special and so interesting!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 09th Nov 2014 at 17:38
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009