contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 508 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 11-20 of 2545
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
Candice Thomas - Classic Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
This was my first visit to Japan and this was a perfect way to experience this country. I always felt safe (even when we were caught in a typhoon) and I had a few amazing experiences. I also liked that many times on the tour, I could venture off by myself. I definitely plan on going back to Japan and feel confident enough that I could do it on my own now. The advantage of a tour like this was being able to experience many different cities and getting more clarity around what I really liked without having to stress about where to stay or how to get there.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
William-Kayne Mukai - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Its challenging to lead a group of people but I thought William did a good job and was patient and helpful. Plus he grew up and lives in Japan so he was very knowledgable about a lot of things. Like night walks
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
I loved the Ryokan Tanabe, that was a big highlight of my experience
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
It was very practical and I got the hang of it pretty quick
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
I dont usually eat fish and I had never had sushi before but on this trip I tried and ate everything--I actually liked most of it, I did fine using chopsticks. The savory pancakes were my favorite.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
The tour was great because there was such a diverse mix of activities and locations. I enjoyed the meals at dinner very much--you couldnt tell how something tasted by looking at it, which was part of the fun. It blows my mind that on one vacation I met a Maiko and played (and lost) to her in a drinking game, I got to hike in the mountains, I visited beautiful temples and shrines, and I got to shoot zombies at Universal Studios Japan. Awesome! We also got stuck on a train for 8 hours in the middle of a typhoon--the train had working toilets and power which was good--at the time that part of the trip wasnt fun but I felt safe the whole time. I also really enjoyed the public hot spring baths--it was very peaceful and relaxing.
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I liked the tour and feel confident enough to tour Japan on my own, I wouldnt want to go to the same places again on a group tour unless it was going someplace very different in Japan that I havent been to.
Review submitted: 22nd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Candice! Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback. It sounds like you enjoyed a wonderful set of experiences and have memories to cherish forever! Classic Japan is indeed a wonderfully varied tour, as I think you have captured in the summary of your highlights. We do design these Small Groups so that they have a degree of flexibility so you can indeed do as you did and explore a little on your own.

Thanks also for your comments about the documents. We are working on ways to make them more accessible on tablets. (Mat for Halley).
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  2 out of 2 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Joanna Mckendrick - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent. Very thorough. Independent travel made easy. We have a great time.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Great suggestions and knowledgeable.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 22nd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Joanna Mckendrick - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Excellent. Very thorough. Independent travel made easy. We have a great time.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Great suggestions and knowledgeable.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 22nd Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Joanna,

Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it! I'm really pleased you and your sons liked Japan. Also, great to hear that the Info-Pack was so useful. Please contact us again in the future, we'd love to help you take another trip.

-Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  0 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gary Ames - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Nathaniel Saitos help in booking and arranging the tours and the entire trip is the reason for the 5 star rating we gave Inside Japan.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Nathaniel Saito - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Nathaniel Saito went above and beyond to provide 5 star service to us and we are extremely satisfied.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Hotel rooms in Japan are very small and we expected that. We were pleased to have such a large room in Kyoto compared to our experience in Tokyo which was to small.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The driver upon arrivel was very professional and met us at the airport on time. The bullet train from Tokyo to Kyoto was a nice experience and the driver was on time for our return trip back to the airport.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
All of our guides were very knowledgeable, personable and accomodating.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Japan is a beautiful country and there is so much we didnt see on a 5 day stay.
Review submitted: 21st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
James Herron - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Good itinerary put together with some real highlights.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Arranged the booking promptly and without hassle. All tickets and reservations were arranged efficiently. Tailored the trip to suit us.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The ryokan accomodation was excellent and if possible I would choose that over standard hotels every time.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Airport shuttle was good. Was pleased to travel mostly by train otherwise.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Guides were knowledgeable and adapted/responded to our requests well.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I think that having visited I could probably now arrange an itinerary myself now.
Review submitted: 21st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Michelle Brierley - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Jocelyn arranged my trip again - this is my 2nd with Inside Japan. As before I found her to be extremely helpful and knowledgeable and brilliant at suggesting things wed like.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Jocelyn Knightly Brown - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I cant thank Jocelyn enough and also I think Simon and someone in the Japan office too who arranged a quick move from Naoshima to Kyoto for an extra night at short notice.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
Fantastic - on the few occasions it wasnt included we were given clear details on the options available.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
N/a
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We stated at Yamaichi Bekkan on Miyajima which was fantastic and the food was amazing. Very hospitable and we were quite sad when we left. Also the Yudanaka Ryokan was great - fantastic service and amazing food. The monkeys were pretty cool too. Really enjoyed Hiroshima and the ABomb museum as have wanted to visit for many years and found it very moving. Fuji Rock was great as Paul is a minor celebrity in Japan it seems!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I love Japan and have Japanese friends - theyve been very impressed at the expertise of Inside Japan. My daughter is just beginning a degree in Japanese so Ill need to go and see her whilst shes there so Ill definitely be back and would definitely use you again.
Review submitted: 21st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down  1 out of 1 have found this review helpful
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Zoe Brownrigg - Independent Travel, Jun 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We knew we could trust InsideJapan to make sure that our holiday went smoothly they took away the stress of booking such an activity packed trip, leaving us more time to enjoy the whole experience! It was the best holiday we have ever had!
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
We enjoyed creating our perfect holiday with Richard he gave us invaluable advice and made sure every aspect was tailored to our needs.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
I would have preferred not to have stayed in any smoking rooms, as the smell of other peoples smoke lingered.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We very much enjoyed the breakfasts at the first Toyoko Inn that we stayed at in Tokyo and were a little disappointed to find that the breakfasts varied quite a lot at the other Inns - sometimes there was very little choice. However, some of our holiday highlights were the meals provided at the guest houses on Koya San and in Iya Valley!
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
We trust their judgement on the best value accommodation and travel.
Review submitted: 21st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Monica Stewart - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
first class service
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
couldnt have been more gelpful
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
Gora Tensui staff could have been more forthcoming with information regarding ryokan services and surrounding area
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
excellent
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Kyoto, all day, very good, excellent english, very knowledgable
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No
Long weekend in Kyoto, easy to arrange now we have a feel for the place.
Review submitted: 21st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:

Thank you for your feedback, Monica! I'm really pleased you enjoyed your trip to Japan this summer.

All the best for your future travels!

Ali

Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Max Meighen - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Very well planned trip considering the varied areas of interest that I had expressed at the initial consultation
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Richard Farmer - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Mr. Farmer had an excellent understanding of my personal areas of interest and was able to direct me to some very interesting experiences that I certainly would not have come across on my own
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Excellent
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both my guide around Kyoto and the market tour were very nice and informative.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
I was able to make the most of the time that I had in the country. There was a nice balance between scheduled activities and flexible times to do your own thing
Review submitted: 21st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Gordon Dawes - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
I was very happy with the service we received. This was my second trip to Japan with Inside Japan. The arrangements were complex but worked seamlessly on the ground. I was very pleased with the service we received.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 21st Aug 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009