contact UK
Tel: 0117 370 9751
contact AUS
Tel: 028 011 3229
contact USA
Tel: 1 303 952 0379

Customer reviews

The most important thing we can do to improve our service is listen to what our customers have to say and now you can read their comments unedited on our web-site.

Upon returning from Japan all our clients are sent a review form and this is where you can see what they are saying about the InsideJapan Tours' service.

Search the reviews, check the image gallery and see for yourself how our clients rate the InsideJapan experience.

How are we doing?
12 month average rating
Overall Satisfaction
4.85/5
calculated from 518 reviews submitted in the last 12 months
Search Reviews
Overall Satisfaction
Holiday Type
Group Tour Name
Consultant Name
Tour Leader Name
 
Client Picture Gallery
Latest Reviews - Read what our travellers say
Showing reviews 11-20 of 2570
Results per page:
Order results by:
Group Tour Reviews Tailored Trip Reviews Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
Kyla Shields - Best of Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
Very good correspondence leading up to the trip, but maps and directions provided were far too vague.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Enthusiastic, knowledgeable, very helpful.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 05th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you very much for your feedback.  I'm really glad that overall you were very satisfied with your trip!  I'm sorry to hear that the maps and directions could have been less vague.  We revamp these resources periodically based on the feedback we receive, so thank you for letting us know your route needs a bit more!  We strive to always improve our travelers' ease of getting around.
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Brittany Potts - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
John was very cordial from the beginning of our planning to when we returned from our journey. With our hectic schedules he was very accommodating to communicate via email throughout our many months of planning. He made the planning very simple on our end and even gave us a welcome call when we arrived to our hotel.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
John made everything very easy for us!
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 04th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you very much for your feedback.  I'm really glad to hear that I was able to meet your planning needs based around your schedule!  Your plan came together very nicely and was a pleasure to arrange!  I do hope you'll get back again one day soon.
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Bronwyn Pratt - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
We had a wonderful time in Japan. Inside Japan arranged a trip that allowed us a fair degree of independence but with the reassurance of organised travel options and accommodation, the range of accommodations was a great blend of Western and Japanese which added to the fantastic experience.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Pepijn Cox - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
We really appreciated Pepijns knowledge of Japan and understanding of our requirements. This really showed when one of our trains was cancelled due to track damage, we contacted Pepijn who advised to proceed to our organised destination by bus and that the line should be repaired by the next day to allow us to continue on the planned itinerary and this was the case.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
As i stated earlier, the range and style of accommodations was fantastic.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The English speaking GPS and instructions in the use of, made the hire car a perfect and stress free way to tour Hokkaido. The Japanese rail system is amazing and extensive and navigating our way in, out and through stations added to the excitement of the trip.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
Both guides were very good, we really appreciated Chieko Horiuchi arranging the train seat reservations for the entire trip.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Good
General Comments
The food was great, not a bad meal in all of Japan.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
The trip you organised has given me the confidence to maybe organise my own trip, although our next trip would be to different areas e.g national parks, wilderness etc so i would probably end up using your expertise again.
Review submitted: 04th Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Sally Stallan - Tokaido Trail, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
It was great! Helpful beyond other agents we have dealt with!
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David was fab! Our teenagers loved him! We were all impressed with him! Helpful, friendly, enthusiastic, he went beyond what was required in all respects, including taking Andy out to buy camera battery charger! What more can we say....!
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Alison Muskett - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Ali was friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. She made everything easy and answered all our questions. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Patricia Dunn - Independent Travel, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
The service was great. All documentation was in order and easy to use. The information booklets were very useful.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Vivienne Boyack - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Both before and duirng the holiday we found the travel consultants were very helpful and knowledgeable.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
I'm pleased you had a great time in Japan this summer, Patricia, and that you found the destination guides and personalised day by day itinerary in the Info-Pack to be a big help. We hope that this really helps trips to run smoothly and makes it more stress-free for you! Many thanks for your feedback and for travelling with InsideJapan Tours, Vivienne
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Joel Isaacs - Tokaido Trail, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
It was a wonderful time with wonderful people in a wonderful place.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
David Lovejoy - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
David went above and beyond to ensure that all members of the tour group would receive their version of what the best Japan trip would be.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
John McMillen - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
I felt like I didnt need to worry about the planning because it was all done for me.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
No Answer Given
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm really glad to hear that our Tokaido Trail Small Group Tour was so wonderful for you! I hope that your memories of the places you visited and people you met will stay with you forever!
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Susan Eland - Hidden Japan, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Good
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Good Customer Rating
The trip organisation was excellent. The service from the tour leader and travel consultant were excellent. The average age of the group was approx 70 and whilst this was fine, a number of clients (3) found the trip physically challenging. This, at times, impacted on group dynamics, pace and took up the time of the group leader. The trip was called Hidden Japan but it did not meet my expectations of getting truly off the beaten track and being adventurous in terms of meeting real Japanese people and everyday life. I would have also liked to have had more time in Kyoto. Overall. I had a very good time- thank you very much.
2. 
Tour Leader name and satisfaction rating:
Alain Sabourin - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Alain was an outstanding tour leader and an asset to Inside Japan. He demonstrated outstanding inter and intra personnel skills throughout the trip. His knowledge of Japan was very good. The group were challenging in terms of diversity of age -approx age 70 and there were some strong personalities. Three of the group were physically challenged by the trip and Alain went out of his way to support and accommodate these clients. Alain showed no favoritism and remained enthusiastic, friendly, good humoured and supportive throughout the trip.
3. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Matthew Wilkinson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
Matthew was highly professional and I received quick and well informed service.
4. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
5. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
There was one hotel which did not meet usual standards. The bedrooms smelt strongly of smoke and a number of the group asked for room changes. The Ryokans exceeded expectations and were fantastic. It would have been great to have stayed with a Japanese family for a couple of nights! One hotel - see smoking comment should not be used.
6. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
All transport was outstanding.
7. 
Please tell us your thoughts on the meals included during your tour.
The meals were fantastic, healthy and we had the opportunity to find our own places to eat which was great.
8. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Loved making our own meal on the optional Udon making course- more of this please!
9. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
10. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Possibly but would probably do it on my own as it is a fairly easy country to travel within.
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Samantha Sorocco - InsideJapan's Manga & Anime, Aug 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Inside Japan Tours went above and beyond to help us get the most out of our vacation. We had a travel delay in the beginning of our trip, and had so much help with arranging last minute changes to the tour and transport arrangements.
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Halley Trujillo - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Our travel consultant Halley was always in contact, checking up on any last requests and making our trip feel very personalized.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Met my expectations
The hotel staff were very helpful, especially with forwarding our luggage between hotels.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
With the combination of the rail pass and the ic cards we had more than enough ways to get around Japan easily.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The two guides we had in Tokyo and Kyoto were amazing. They amazingly were able to get into one day all the destinations we had on our list.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
We had not had much experience with Japanese meals. We found the breakfast to be a bit odd in variety and one of our hotels only seemed to serve rice balls which were not very filling.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Yes
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Yes
Having Inside Japan Tours handling all the hotel and transport booking, allows you to focus on just having the best time possible in Japan without any of the stress.
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Samantha! So great to hear that you came back confirming your love of Japan. Along with the quirky anime sights and unique food, the friendliness of strangers really makes Japan special. I'm glad that we could help make your trip so smooth and we'll be here if you get back to Japan again! ~Halley
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Clare White - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
excellent service. A wonderful trip to Japan
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Karen Tomney - Very Satisfied Customer Rating
Very helpful when things did not go according to Plan.
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
Good
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
Exceeded my expectations
The accommodation was excellent and very varied. Our own house in Kyoto and the Ryokan in Hakone were especially wonderful.
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
The transport was great and we were on trains more or less every other day. But the distances are very large and the weather did effect the transport.
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
The guides in both Tokyo and Kyoto were excellent and really worth having.
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
Excellent
General Comments
Japan was a wonderful place to visit. We thought it was beautiful and exciting. The food was brilliant and even some of the quite strange things were worth trying. Hakone and the Ryokan and Tokyo its self were the real hi-lights for us. The whole visual culture is so exciting.
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
Maybe
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
Maybe
I would recommend Inside Japan for first time travellers, especially if you travel with children or in a small group.
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Hi Clare,

Many thanks for your feedback! I'm really pleased you enjoyed Japan.

Thank you for your comments- we will make sure to act on everything you have mentioned.

-Karen
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Rachel Rooker - Independent Travel, Jul 2014  
Overall Satisfaction
Star Rating
Excellent
1. 
How would you describe your overall level of satisfaction with us as your tour operator?
Excellent Customer Rating
Great service. Mark fitted in all of our choices
2. 
Consultant name and satisfaction rating:
Mark Johnson - Superb Service, Extremely Satisfied Customer Rating
3. 
How would you rate your package in terms of value for money?
No Answer Given
4. 
How would you rate the accommodation against your expectations?
No Answer Given
5. 
Please give us your comments on the transport included in your package.
No Answer Given
6. 
Please comment on any professional guiding included in your package?
No Answer Given
7. 
How do you rate the usefulness and standard of information in the Info-Pack?
No Answer Given
General Comments
8. 
Would you consider travelling to Japan again?
No Answer Given
9. 
Would you travel again with InsideJapan Tours?
No Answer Given
Review submitted: 03rd Sep 2014 at 17:37
InsideJapan Tours says:
Did you find this review useful?  Thumbs Up  spacer  Thumbs Down
Share this review  Share on facebook Share on twitter Link to us
Go Back to Previous PagePrev 10 | Next 10Go Forward to Next Page Or go to page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
 
These reviews are the subjective opinion of InsideJapan Tours' customers and not of the Company. Reviews are not pre-moderated by InsideJapan Tours prior to publication but any reviews that are found to contain any offensive language, any potentially libellous content or any abusive comments with be removed. All reviews are published in an unedited form which means there may be spelling mistakes and other inaccuracies. If you have any questions regarding the content of any review please contact us.
Inside Japan Tours - Independent British Travel Awards 2011 - Best Tour Operator To East and Central Asia
The Guardian, The Observer - Travel Awards 2010 Winner - Best tour operator (small)
Inside Japan Tours - Silver at the British Travel Awards 2009